We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great rooms, friendly well trained staff, good food, reasonable prices, all this within walking distance of the beach and the town centre facilities. Simply put its a good hotel, good facilities, well worth a stay if your looking for something that's honest and comforting.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newforestfoodie2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have stayed at this hotel and we dine there frequently - it is full of charm and all that is best about traditional quality English hotels - some may find it a little dated but that is part of its charm - good quality hospitality and great food at relatively reasonable prices, supported by a very friendly welcome and excellent service in comfortable surroundings

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best but slightly more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very `deco' with an old world charm. A little tired in places but at least it's not sterile like some more modern hotels. The chandliers, the grand piano and the luxury drapes all add to the atmosphere. The food was nice but a little unadventurous. Some of the staff were excellent, others seem to still be training. Restaurant and bar prices weren't bad. The room we had was large and the bed was comfortable but the old metal window frames were so ill fitting we couldn't close the window and it was a very cold night. Overall the weekend was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Algarvaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I stayed here last month while I was on a business trip. The hotel is located on the seafront and just couple of minutes walk from the town. The location is quite handy if you wan to go out for drinks or food. The seaview room given to me was very nice and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and highly recommended. The staff were very good. The complemetry tea bags (Pure Tea Selection) in the room were nice and of good quality. Now I am trying to buy them online (cant find them in any super markets). The only disappointment was the fitness centre (Few heavily used old equipments kept in a small room). I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are very Good and got really good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We went to the hotel for a couple of days as it was our silver anniversary. We were upgraded to a lovely sea view suite which was really appreciated and was a really lovely big room plus lounge area. Everything clean. Breakfast was excellent and varied. Didn't use any leisure facilities. All in all an excellent break in a very nice hotel. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank t4nse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed here for a few days to visit our son, we arrived on the Saturday and the hotel was very busy. Our rooms were both lovely and spacious, very clean and full of character. We went for a swim the pool was very nice and warm. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on the saturday which was extremely busy, the food and the service wasn't great. On the Sunday morning we went for breakfast it was so busy and you had to ask for tea and coffee 4 times and wait half an hour before you got it. The hotel is really well situated and just a short walk from nice restaurants and the town. On the Monday morning we went down for breakfast and it was lovely, it was a lot quieter we were seated straight away and offered tea, coffee etc. I would stay in this hotel again because of its position, nice rooms and nice staff, I would probably avoid the weekends and opt for a weekday break as they don't seem able to cope when it's busy. Also I wouldn't eat in the hotel as the food isn't great and it is only a five minute walk to a variety of restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

I recently worked as a Toastmaster at this hotel and must say the staff were all very good, they were attentive and looked after the guests throughout the banquet. Igor the banqueting manager that night, and the waiting staff kept everything flowing from the kitchen and the evening was enjoyed by all the guests.I have read various reprts about this hotel, and I must say every time I work there I enjoy my time there. The function manager works hard to ensure the booking details are correct and I have no problem recommending this hotel as one of the best in Bournemouth for functions, and being on the sea front and having an indoor pool must be a benifit during the english winter, good luck to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £61 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to epic locations and dramatic seafront views, nothing gets much better than the Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton. We’re right in the heart of town, so when you can tear your eyes away from the beautiful view or tear yourself away from the stretch of golden beach, then we’re also walking distance to the town centre, to popular attractions such as Bournemouth Oceanarium, BH2 Leisure Complex and Bournemouth International Centre – a hotspot for major conferences and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing