We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare Apartments at the Carlton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We have owned timeshare here for some years and it works very well with a Director and committee (of owners) having masses of relevant experience. We paid a levy along with the Menzies group to upgrade the apartments over the last five years and they are almost complete. There is still ongoing refurbishment needed, but this will be done on a replace when needed basis. The RCI Gold Crown is now back and the apartments are large and comfortable. We have use of the hotel facilities and the most wonderful view imaginable from the higher floors (the sixth being the penthouses). Whatever the weather we always love our stay and there is so much to do round and about with one of the best beaches in the UK and some great places to eat. We first stayed in the hotel a couple of times before buying the timeshare and the staff were very pleasant and we find the restaurant food much better in the last few years. Worth a visit to see for yourselves.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valanddavid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Best holiday ever, spent in the uk.
The staff couldn't do enough for us all.
Services given and on offer,along with the choices of food, are all above first class.
Rooms were fantastic, spacious and exceptionally clean.

The Menzies Carlton hotel, would be our first choice, for a holiday in the uk.

Cannot wait to go back

Thanks to all the staff for making it our special loving family experience

Regards

Nigel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I came to this hotel with 2 children so we had a family room with a super view. We had full English breakfast every day, very good, hot and plentiful although the Danish pastries ran out every day, much to my husbands annoyance!! The hotel staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. The outdoor pool was very warm and even when it rained it was a pleasure to swim in the pool outside. The pool inside was warm to but rather small. Good location for the pier and into town and also the beach. Overall a really nice stay and would go back there again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from the Bank holiday weekend staying for the Saturday and Sunday night breakfast and evening meals.The room was lovely, overlooking the sea with a terraced area to sit out and sunbath. The food was excellent and the service was spot on. Parking was easy and the location of the Hotel ensured we could easily walk into Bournemouth and enjoy the shops, theaters and cinemas.
We have stayed at many hotels and this one ticks all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just returned from our regular august stay at the Carlton hotel and we have to say that without a doubt it was the best holiday we have had there,Despite the hotel being fully booked the whole time with families,older couples and loads of kids the smooth running of the hotel was not affected,everyone was catered for by caring efficient staff.Philip Barton the manager was dedicated to making sure that we all enjoyed our stay and was always around for any of our needs ,his management has definitely improved the hotel and it now feels buzzing with holiday magic.We did not want to leave.Thank you Carlton we will be back in February 2014 just to add a big thank you to Sheila at reception for being so caring to us and everyone

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony1944708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just had a two night stay in the Carlton. Excellent location. Room was large , very restful and very clean everything in perfect working order. Very good dinners in the evening with good quality food including an excellent good priced children's' menu. Very efficiently run hotel with pleasant, friendly staff . Thank you to Paula and staff for making it such a nice stay .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grannylu57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Carlton. Room was massive and bed was huge. All extremely clean and comfortable. My pet hate is shower curtains but this one was clean and didn't smell! Wifi is essential for me. There it worked perfectly without dropping and is free. Car park is free too.
The restaurant is very well managed. The food is excellent with a varied menu although some dishes are repeated if you stay more than a few days. Not a problem as it is all so nice. Huge choice of food at breakfast and it was kept fresh by the staff on the buffet. We didn't use the pool but many guests did and obviously had a great time. A very good hotel for families.
Reception worked so well that we never saw a queue there.
The hotel staff were all unfailingly friendly, professional, and very efficient. Tan in the restaurant was worthy of special mention but they all seemed to be nice people.
A very enjoyable, relaxing stay and I will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank silvermc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing