We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 Star Birthday Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“5 Star Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night with dinner and breakfast included and it was the perfect venue. Our room on the second floor had a great sea view plus it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The quality and presentation of the dinner was definitely five star plus and compliments must go to the chef and the attentiveness of the waiters. Breakfast was buffet service as usual but the food was of superior quality to many of our previous 3 or 4 Star hotel stays. All-in-all every aspect of our stay was excellent. One small point, we stayed on the second floor but we did notice that walking along the first floor was very creaky and may disturb some people if you have a room here.

Room Tip: Second floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitchersEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    318
    193
    101
    83
See reviews for
241
432
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here last weekend and found the hotel facilities very good. The location is perfect as a base with access to the town and beach although a little steep in places. We were given a large room at the front with a lovely sea view. Although the rooms are a little dated I think this added to the feel of this grand old hotel. The service was faultless, those boys and girls do work hard. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely, the bar expensive and the reception staff more than helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craftyclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay booked through laterooms.com. We had booked a standard double with breakfast fro £89. The room was amazing - large and comfortable with armchairs in a lounge area, with a side view to the sea. Staff all welcoming and helpful, communal areas lovely and clean, leisure area small but perfectly adequate and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. The only problem we encountered (which may have just been our room location) was the noise through the night. There was a constant banging of doors and heavy feet stamping around. We then had a couple arguing on the pavement outside our room at 3am (not the hotel's fault) and then the fire alarm went off at 6am. We got very little sleep, which was a shame as it was our first night away since our daughter was born 4 years ago and we were looking forward for a night of uninterrupted sleep!! However, the hotel was fabulous and we thoroughly enjoyed our room and all of the hotel's communal areas. Hopefully other rooms might be quieter!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Dank rooms, in need of a makeover, TV set has incomplete channels , eg no film 4 or itv4' which are basic freeview services. Resteraunt is like a morgue and something out of 1972, soft drinks come in the worlds smallest glasses.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of November. Previously we have stayed at the East Cliff and been quite satisfied. We thought we'd give the Carlton a try as the grounds look good and photos of the interior look impressive. The first night there was a storm with strong winds and rain, unfortunately sitting with my wife having a pre-dinner drink water started to flow into the cocktail bar from the ceiling. The bar staff had 6 or so ice buckets positioned around the bar and large trays with tablecloths in the bottom to absorb and deaden the sound. The bar had to be evacuated and from what I heard this situation had occurred before recently. The next day the carpet did smell quite badly and so we didn't use the bar area that night either. Apart from that the bedroom was fine, although there was a noisy fan outside and the air con was also a little noisy. Breakfast was very good, but dinner we thought disappointing. Pretty much rosette style, all show and little substance. The menu choices compared to the East Cliff were much smaller. This could be a really good hotel but for us was let down by some maintenance issues, which I overheard staff saying weren't being addressed by management. There was also very little management presence during our stay. We would return to the East Cliff but not I think to the Carlton

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 36staffboy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just used the restaurant for a Dinner with another couple. We thoroughly enjoyed everything on the menu & received excellent service. The menu offered a very good selection, except the desserts which were a little more limited. All in all a very enjoyable evevening

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anythingelsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

3 friends and I stayed at this hotel for two of their Birthdays. The deal we booked was Dinner Bed and Breakfast and a bottle of wine per room and a 25 minute spa treatment each package. The cost was £180.00 per room (£90.00 per person).

We arrived two hours before check-in and were greeted really well. Our bags were able to be left in a secure area and we were given our room details. We then went off to the seafront. The hotel is situated in a fantastic part of Bournemouth with close access to the beach, including the cable car access to the sea front.

We returned to the hotel around 4.00pm and were given our keys and bags. We had booked two twin rooms. We arrived at the first room, opened the door and went in - only to be shocked to see a family already in the room. I think there was mutual shock at our presence! We went straight back to reception to complain. My friend was told that 'these things can happen' and they would move us to another room. This move meant that we were no longer on the same corridor but now on different floors.

When my friend and I went to our room it was lovely, very spacious and with nice seating and views from the window. However the bathroom is very shabby and tired, holes in wall, mold around bath, shower dripping and tiles cracked. It certainly let the room standard down.

When it got darker and we went to turn on the lights we noticed that there is no main lighting. All lighting is via lamps. This makes it very hard to get ready for the evening. Spent most of the time in the bathroom which did have good lighting.

The room is well equipped with tea and coffee facilities as well as mini sticks of rocks to eat.

Dinner was amazing. From the service to the quality and timing of the food. Our wine was served at the table and poured by a waiter who was good at seeing that our glasses were never empty. The position of our table was just our only minor niggle. We were positioned by the main door and therefore it was chilly and also we were unable to enjoy the full ambiance of the room and it's features as we were 'out of the way' and on a lower level.

We then went into the cocktail bar, after our meal to finish the night with a cocktail. Three of us ordered espresso martinis. They were pricey however it was a Birthday treat for us. However when they arrived two were served in the proper Martini glasses but the other one came in a small cocktail glass. While we were reassured that it was of the same size (just a different shape) to the other two it did look rather odd and also that a cocktail bar only has two proper size cocktail glasses.

We all slept well that night both because of the comfy beds but also may have been the wine and cocktails!

Breakfast the next day was great - amazing choices esp with juices and hot cooked breakfast.

We then went down to the leisure facilities and spa. We were really excited and as friends we have been to several spas to enjoy relaxing and chilling out. Sadly this area is the main let down of this hotel. The hotel is very large but the leisure facilities are appalling.

A refurb would be an under statement of what needs to happen down here! The pool is tiny and there is this odd Jacuzzi placed in the middle of the area and 4 plastic sun beds with sticky foam bed rolls on them. We thought we would need to wear shoes around the pool side as it looked dirty. There is a sauna but it looked very dated and then this area which is raised has obviously had something in there at one point but has now been removed but has just been left looking tatty.The whole area is a shambles and urgently needs to be taken out of action and improved. The room where treatments take place is okay. The treatments themselves were lovely and would defiantly recommend.

Overall we had a lovely time but there are areas of the hotel that with improvement would defiantly make it a better experience.

This was our first stay at a Menzies hotel and we hope to try out another one soon to see if they are all of a similar standard.

Room Tip: I think you would be happy with either of the twin rooms we stayed in - just be prepared that the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktb123Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing