We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #34 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Short break in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very comfortable hotel in pleasant surroundings directly opposite the sandy beach at East Cliff.
A short walk takes you to the town centre and this area is quieter than bustling west cliff.
The hotel has a heated outdoor pool set in pretty gardens and there is an indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Food was good in the evening and portions not huge but good value for money - set menu of £16.95 for two courses. Enjoyable break. Free car parking but make sure yo key in the correct number of nights when booking on the system in reception as failure to add enough time could result in a parking fine - especially important if you are leaving your car in the car park after you have checked out.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and despite having the window open it was still very warm. Would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie33_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    355
    215
    108
    89
See reviews for
277
491
29
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Menzies offered a free room on a Sunday if we spent £75 in the bar or dinning room. Great offer and soon disappeared.
We stayed over Mayday Bank Holiday weekend and invited some friends, who live near Bournemouth, to join us for dinner.
Food , not bad.
Opted for sea view room with £40 surcharge, but worth every penny. This hotel is placed at the top of East Cliff and has a view from The Isle of Wight to Weymouth. This was the view we had from our room, 210?. It had two massive windows up to (high) ceiling height and we spent lots of time looking out! The bathroom is a funny shape as the room is on the end of the building. but it meant a very large bathroom resulted.
Would totally recommend.

Room Tip: Room 210? sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSLFUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great location, just on the seaside, great view over the beach. Large, comfortable rooms. Super-helpful and professional staff, they helped me a lot (I forgot the passport in the room, and they shipped it back to me).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCallieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked this as a "Travelzoo" deal in March for my birthday treat - and what a treat it was!! From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, we were made to feel special. Check in was quick and efficient by their friendly, helpful staff, and upon entering our room we were both amazed!! It was huge, with a king-size bed, sofa-bed, 2 arm chairs, big wardrobe and dressing table, and classy furnishings. The bathroom was not as amazing but quite adequate, and all immaculately clean. Part of the deal was an afternoon cream tea for 2, which was served in the lounge area of the bar, and was absolutely wonderful, lovely fresh scones with jam and cream, and large cup of coffee each. The 2-course evening meal, also part of the deal, was in the restaurant. The staff were all very well trained and we were not kept waiting to be served at all. We slept very well in the sumptuous bed and ate a cooked breakfast the following morning which we felt could have been better - I had to ask for fresh fried eggs as those already done were inedible, would have been far better to have them done fresh on request. However, on the whole it was a lovely breakfast, and plentiful.
The hotel is in a great location, right opposite the beach lift and away from the hustle and bustle of the town itself.
This was one of the best deals we have taken with "Travelzoo" and would not hesitate to do it again if it should come up in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This was probably a very grand hotel in its day (and it's in a fab location) but today it's in need of an overhaul and some tlc.

My large room overlooked the back car park. The double bed was two singles. The decor was dated and the room had seen better days (cracks in the ceiling, scuff marks on walls, bathroom needed grouting).

The floorboards upstairs were also very creaky and generally, away from the reception and ground floor it all felt a bit grubby.

Ordered room service in the evening which was tasteless but did arrive quickly.

Couldn't get wifi working in room.

For one night it was fine but I won't return and think at £109 for a mid week stay, there are far better places in Bournemouth to spend your cash.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyLou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am excluding the hotel restaurant, Fredericks, from this review - otherwise I would have rated the hotel "terrible". I remember this hotel in its glory days - the 50s to the 70s. It was one of the very best on the South Coast. Now it is but a poor shadow of its former self. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived. A somewhat unfriendly receptionist (female) told us to wait in the bar. We decided to have lunch. The table where we decided to sit was surrounded by cigarette butts on the floor and empty cigarette boxes on the table. Obviously, though it was now 1pm, nobody had bothered to clear up from the night before. The sandwiches, wine and shandy were fine though a little slow in coming in that there was only one waitress working. Our room was fine but the balcony was a joke. It could be entered in the Guiness Book of Records for the smallest balcony in any hotel. This annoyed me because I had paid extra for the balcony. Also, the room was transfigured wrongly in that you would have had to have been Twiggy at her thinnest to get to the side of the bed near the window. This was odd because the room was quite large. One of the lifts (the old one!) broke down but the male receptionist was good at sorting things out. I also give special credit to the Polish girl who worked behind the bar on her own, pouring beer, mixing cocktails, doing everything. I will mention breakfast even though it comes under the restaurant. Enough for me to say that the chef didn't even know how to poach an egg! My eggs, my wife's and those of the ladies at a table nearby were shrivelled, semi-hard and tasted of vinegar. (Please read my review of the restaurant to find out more of what I thought about the food). I felt sad on leaving, sad because I remembered the Carlton as how it used to be and sad in knowing that with some money spent it could be almost as good again

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor - room 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is the best hotel I have found yet in Bournemouth. The staff are excellent and breakfast is great. The rate seems to vary wildly as with many Bournemouth hotels though. Also make sure you register your car when you check in as they have number plate recognition cameras. I have stayed here and at the sister hotel next door. This is better, and oddly sometimes cheaper.

Room Tip: single rooms are pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing