We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I thought I was in a sketch from Faulty Towers.

Arrived on 25th November 2008 for a 4 day training coarse. The 1st room was freezing and asked for an additional heater. That arrived via Svewho works behind the bar to find out it didnt work. We had planned a meal outside the Hotel and was assured that the heater will be put in the room. Returned at 10.30 pm to find no heater and absolutley freezing. Phoned and got a move to a room with a sea view.

The hotel is far from what I would class as 4 star. The decor is tired and the room was not clean. There was an annoying noise which must be either air conditioning or suction fans from the kitchen which contuinued into the night making sleep an issue.

Breakfast was disgusting and didnt get my order right. Ordered poached eggs which were very under done and also got scrambled eggs which were also very underdone. Not good when my other half is pregnant and the beans had a skin on them as if they had been under a heat lamp keeping warm.

Afternoon buffet luch was part of the coarse but was very limited and bearly edible.

My girlfriend order room service on Wednesday afternoon which she ate and placed outside the room for collection and was still there on the friday at 11.00am when we checked out. Not pleasant looking at a salad that had been left in the corridor for 2 days.

Almost everyone I spoke to on my coarse had a simailar experience with this hotel. I wish I has stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Haydn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2008

Called the hotel and got a 2 night B & B rate of £99 and was upgraded to a seaview room.......so far so good.

The room itself was large and reasonably well equipped BUT there were old bloodstains around the toilet surrounds. The Central Heating was either off or full blast on, there was no way of controlling the temperature and both nights were bitterly cold.

At breakfast the first morning I asked the waiter for Sweeteners, he shrugged and said they had none.....I asked him to go and check and he found a few. The next day the manager brought a large box over to show that they did indeed havesome (or were they newly bought). The breakfast itself was ok but no comparison to that of the Marriott in Bournemouth.

I came away thinking that the hotel lives on its old 5 star reputation (now only 4 star) and the Senior Mnagement actually need to walk around with their eyes wide open and see what is going on.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I booked August Bank Holiday as a treat for new husband and I... check in experience was good, but it went downhill from there. There was a large wedding party and a Golden Wedding anniversary party on Saturday afternoon, leaving almost no staff to deal with non-party going guests. They ran out of breakfast on Sunday morning, and tried to serve up microwaved sausages..... We tried a meal in the Hotel restaurant on Sunday evening after a very long day out walking along the coastline. It has to rate amongst the most horrible meals I have ever eaten - and we were not the only people to complain. The restaurant manager calmly explained to the complaining guests that 'we served the same dish at lunchtime and no-one complained then......." hmmm, suggest further use of microwave (although denied!). The 2nd floor sea view rooms are looking shabby with cracked/chipped tiles and stained carpet.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahD1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryChatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muttley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBollas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,067 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £75 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing