We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, helpfull staff, bad bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #38 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, helpfull staff, bad bed”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed recently for one night on a Tuesday. Arrived to a prompt and helpful check inn. We're put in a large room which was slightly dated but clean. Our only complaint was that the 'zip and lock beds' were broken and not zipped or locked! In effect to singles pushed together with 2 single duvets to make a double. When booking a double room this was dissapointing. The mattresses were also very bad and could feel the springs when laying down. On the plus side when I mentioned my concerns to reception they redressed the bed with a mattress topper and
changed the duvet to a double making our stay a lot more comfortable. The location is perfect for the beach and town. Another plus was breakfast in the morning which was a buffet style with large selection of cereals, continental and full English.
Due to the bed situation I would probably not stay again but this may have just been out room - they were fully booked. I would advise checking the type of bed in your room.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    336
    199
    101
    86
See reviews for
254
462
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stayed here as a last minute weekend trip with my husband. It was nice hotel but it is a little run down and the breakfast was mediocre. If your looking for a modern hotel with great facilities this probably isn't the place for you, but if your looking for something that's simple and close to the beach, I give it a thumbs up. I probably won't be returning, but the staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great hotel with lovely super helpful staff.
Close to sea and short walk to shops, beach, restaurants.
Comfortable room, good size and clean.
Some of the decor needs updating, but overall well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

we stayed for 2 nights in a family room on DB&B - overall, it was definitely a good hotel that was a little tired and had seen better times. The set menu at 26 pp was excellent value in the restaurant, the room was spacious with a massive double bed and nicely decked out. The outdoor pool was great although the indoor one was more like a plunge pool, although the jaquizi was vigorous. Breakfast was pretty good and overall would rate it as very good although at £250 per night, DB&B one would expect that. Only real problem was terrible wifi - do NOT rely on it and disappointing after 6 years in the same job, i missed my first ever deadline and over an hour by trying to connect to our work server. Next morning same problem and went to weatherspoons and did it in 2 mins.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robinr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel for two nights after a late booking so we appreciated we didn't have a choice of room at such short notice and in the height of the summer season.

The reception staff at all times were polite, friendly and very welcoming.

The room itself was a good size double (room 229), rather outdated, tired looking and the view of the bins wasn't the most enjoyable, but as I said this was all that was available on the day and we needed somewhere to stay for two nights and although the room was next to the lift you didn't actually hear it so that wasn't a issue at all.
We were however woken on the Monday morning, firstly at 6.45-7am with the first lot of bins being emptied and then again at 8am for the bottle bins to be emptied!

Breakfast was plentiful, with lovely fresh fruit, plenty of cereals and then the traditional English.

The hotel in general needs new carpeting and a fresh lick of paint.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I attended a training course in the conference room and was impressed with the facilities. Parking was available freely, great views to the front/rear of the property where additional parking is available for £4 all day. Beverages were available throughout the day along with lunch and afternoon snacks, all food was great - well presented, hot and delicious. The decor and furnishings were grand and the hotel had a lovely relaxed feel. Will be returning for pleasure in the future.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsZebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel for one night, it being a prize in a raffle. We had room 312, third floor sea view. It was large and spacious and comfortable. We had a three course evening meal which was lovely and good quality. Breakfast I thought was a good variety of fruit, cereals and croissants as well as an English breakfast. My husband used the gym which consisted of one running machine and other items. I had two treatments, a massage and a pedicure. The therapist was the only one there and was very knowledgeable. You get a discount on treatments if you're staying at the hotel but there were no price lists or details on the website. A couple of niggles. We had to ask for our drinks with our meal which didn't arrive until almost at the end of our starters. We also had to ask for more milk in our room because there was only one sachet in there when we arrived. All in all we enjoyed our stay very much. It looked like there were good facilities for children and we found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing