We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Celebrity(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Green House(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramar(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,322 results
Traveller rating
451
421
230
127
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
421
230
127
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewoutdoor poollovely hoteltravelzoo dealhuge roomrestaurant managerevening mealfamily roomreception staffair showsea frontleisure facilitiestown centretwo night staybuffet stylethe cliffa lovely stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,259 - 1,264 of 1,322 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Had the misfortune to book their Christmas package + and can only describe my experience as chaotic.
Arrived early and was told the room was being serviced, 4 hours later still not ready.

The house keeping in this property is appalling, with lack of basic toiletries being replaced, had to virtualy beg for soap and shower/bath gel and showercaps on 2 days, tissues were not replaced and always a shortage of towels and face cloths.

The food was very good, but the breakfast service was terrible and the buffet not being topped up when needed and very little understanding by the waiting staff on breakfast duty.

I could go on and on about this place, but on the whole the property needs to be thoroughly cleaned as many parts were caked in dust especially the public areas and the bar. I think Menzies Group should either totaly refurbish this hotel or sell it to a caring group to return it to a proper hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheNorthwestToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

I thought I was in a sketch from Faulty Towers.

Arrived on 25th November 2008 for a 4 day training coarse. The 1st room was freezing and asked for an additional heater. That arrived via Svewho works behind the bar to find out it didnt work. We had planned a meal outside the Hotel and was assured that the heater will be put in the room. Returned at 10.30 pm to find no heater and absolutley freezing. Phoned and got a move to a room with a sea view.

The hotel is far from what I would class as 4 star. The decor is tired and the room was not clean. There was an annoying noise which must be either air conditioning or suction fans from the kitchen which contuinued into the night making sleep an issue.

Breakfast was disgusting and didnt get my order right. Ordered poached eggs which were very under done and also got scrambled eggs which were also very underdone. Not good when my other half is pregnant and the beans had a skin on them as if they had been under a heat lamp keeping warm.

Afternoon buffet luch was part of the coarse but was very limited and bearly edible.

My girlfriend order room service on Wednesday afternoon which she ate and placed outside the room for collection and was still there on the friday at 11.00am when we checked out. Not pleasant looking at a salad that had been left in the corridor for 2 days.

Almost everyone I spoke to on my coarse had a simailar experience with this hotel. I wish I has stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Haydn1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

Called the hotel and got a 2 night B & B rate of £99 and was upgraded to a seaview room.......so far so good.

The room itself was large and reasonably well equipped BUT there were old bloodstains around the toilet surrounds. The Central Heating was either off or full blast on, there was no way of controlling the temperature and both nights were bitterly cold.

At breakfast the first morning I asked the waiter for Sweeteners, he shrugged and said they had none.....I asked him to go and check and he found a few. The next day the manager brought a large box over to show that they did indeed havesome (or were they newly bought). The breakfast itself was ok but no comparison to that of the Marriott in Bournemouth.

I came away thinking that the hotel lives on its old 5 star reputation (now only 4 star) and the Senior Mnagement actually need to walk around with their eyes wide open and see what is going on.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I booked August Bank Holiday as a treat for new husband and I... check in experience was good, but it went downhill from there. There was a large wedding party and a Golden Wedding anniversary party on Saturday afternoon, leaving almost no staff to deal with non-party going guests. They ran out of breakfast on Sunday morning, and tried to serve up microwaved sausages..... We tried a meal in the Hotel restaurant on Sunday evening after a very long day out walking along the coastline. It has to rate amongst the most horrible meals I have ever eaten - and we were not the only people to complain. The restaurant manager calmly explained to the complaining guests that 'we served the same dish at lunchtime and no-one complained then......." hmmm, suggest further use of microwave (although denied!). The 2nd floor sea view rooms are looking shabby with cracked/chipped tiles and stained carpet.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahD1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews