We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

I stayed at the Menzies Carlton for 4 nights from 11-15th May on business.
I read the reviews for the hotel which appeared to be indifferent and varied. I found the hotel to be clean and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and approachable.
I had a large room on the 1st floor with an equally large bathroom. My only crumble was the room was a little cold and that there was a charge for internet which in this day and age annoys me.
Food was good. Breakfast was normal buffet fayre but good. Evening meal was presented well and the food cooked as I asked. Occassionally staff had to be prompted for coffee after dinner on a couple of occassions.
I did not use the gym or pool/spa. The outside pool was not open yet either.
The hotel is well sited, only a 15 minute walk from the BIC.
I will be staying at this same hotel next year and look forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    315
    193
    101
    83
See reviews for
241
432
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

Stayed at the hotel last weekend, got a good deal from lastminute, double room for me and my partner. Checked in and found the room to be good, clean, a little dated but good.

Staff very friendly and helpful, and proceeded to enjoy the nightlife Bournemouth has to offer!

SHOCK HORROR, got back to the Hotel about 12.30am, the bar was closed..... so went to bed for a good nights sleep only to be woken up all through the night by the room above with a bloody dog yapping and howling until 8am the next morning...and to make matters worse it had a squeaky toy...arghhhhhh

Complained to Reception who moved us to a sea view room but that did mean having to pack and then unpack again, not good, moved to a SINGLE room with the smallest double bed in the world and to make matters worse was like sleeping on the concrete outside.

Couldn't fault the staff as these things were out of their hands, but on the second night, we went down for an evening meal at 9.20pm, only to be told the Restaurant was closed ????

Oh and look at the bar prices before you order a drink, a bottle of becks and a brandy and coke....£9.60, I dont even come close to paying this in London where I work !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmalc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel101
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

Average hotel, looks better on the website than in reality. The inside pool is small, and the 'gym' consisted of a handful of very old machines that the average gym user probably wouldn’t be able to figure out how to use. A couple of them even creaked!

The food is ok, but unexciting. The staff appeared stressed and overworked, and many of them were present at breakfast and at bar closing, raising question marks over the hotel's employment practices. The hotel itself just generally feels in need of a spruce up-dated would be the word I would use to describe it.

Pluses: one very helpful receptionist-even printed out directions for our day trip when asked, great location, obliging (although, as I say, clearly stressed out) restaurant staff. We were also able to park every night, which is a huge plus. I would say this would be a good hotel for kids-the small inside pool is perfect for them, the rooms are spacious, and you are close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel101_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cluedotom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

Absolutely disgusting, over price food terrible staff need to be trained in customer service this is a 2 star at best please stay clear !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cluedotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 16 April 2009
Dear member,

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Menzies Carlton Hotel. We obviously strive to make every stay an enjoyable one and one way of doing this is by reacting to customer feedback both positive and negative.

A duty manager is always available to speak to guests on any matter that concerns their stay.We would have appreciated the chance to discuss any short comings you had to endure and the chance to rectify any problems before your departure.

yours

Andrew Woodland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

We booked into The Carlton at the last minute after The Cumbeland Hotel next door messed up our original booking with them. Thank goodness they did because we absolutely loved our 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel. We had an Executive Double Room on the 3rd floor with a stunning sea view & balcony. The room was beautiful but could have done with a tiny bit of updating if I'm being picky. The staff were all friendly, polite and efficient. The restaurant was particularly excellent - we had breakfast there both mornings, which was superb, and dinner on our last evening, which was probably one of the finest meals we have had. It reminded us of The Ritz in London. The leisure facilities in the basement were small but perfectly adequate - a nice indoor pool, jacuzzi & sauna, all clean and tidy. We are hoping to go back on a regular basis in future as we enjoyed it so much and the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rickmansworth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

I first went to stay at The Carlton in Feb 08,i took along my daughter who had just told us she was expecting her first child,the following Aug 08.I cant praise the staff enough,the friendlyness,cleanliness,the huge airey rooms and the food,WOW,I have booked to go again in July,this has to be among the top,best Hotels i have ever been to,roll on JULY

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eveRickmansworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

Mrs. Oscar (Warks) and I've just got married at The Carlton and I have to be honest, my overall impression is that in respect of the 'marriage service' provided by the hotel, all went very well. The planning was handled by people who clearly know what they're doing and the venue is exceptional, being picturesque, comfortable, warm and friendly. This is echoed by our guests.

We were married in The Library, with the reception in The Orangery. The food - a buffet - was genuinely excellent, despite other adverse critiques on this site about the food. Our room (214) was large and bright with a fantastic view out to sea. It was kept clean and well serviced, however in terms of decor it was a little tired. In fact, thinking about it, all bedrooms that we went into - and there were a few - were in need of a makeover. Our only serious complaint about our room is that the heating was oppressive! No thermostatic control on the radiators meant that it was all or nothing. At one stage we had to ask for the heating to be turned off in our room, but unfortunately this did not happen. This leads me on to the service.

Overall, the service wasn't bad, but it didn't leave me glowing. On the face of it the staff were what you would expect of a four star hotel, but everything seemed to be such hard work. If you asked and were persistent, things were done but if you didn't press it, they weren't. We didn't eat in the restaurant - we chose the entertainment offered by Bournemouth - apart from a very satisfactory breakfast each day, but we and our guests did avail ourselves of the bar facilities with some considerable gusto. It was a wedding after all! The service in the bar was sparse, but wasn't bad. The prices were high, but then its a hotel. Nevertheless, if you drink in bulk, or at a function, there is no doubt that the bar is not slick or value for money. If you're a mid-afternoon paper-reading 'sipper', then happy days! In short, they need to provide more staff at a function.

The reception staff were very polite, very pretty and very user friendly yet they seemed to unnecessarily bear the brunt of things. Twice throughout our stay we were asked to pay again for our pre-paid room and they were mauled! We were also asked to pay bills that we hadn't incurred - and once again they were mauled! It appeared as though they could either not understand the computer, or what had been entered onto it was very wrong. On checking out, we were asked to pay for unsigned restaurant and wine tabs that seemed as if they had been bolted on to our bill simply because we were 'Bride & Groom' and consequently the figure heads of a 'large party'. In our case, this resulted in an initial demand of £398 being reduced to around £60 and yet another mauling! Other guests in our party were subject to the same nasty surprise. I think the addage is, CHECK YOUR BILL!!!

Overall, not bad ....... not bad at all. Would I go there again? Yes I would, but I would take it for what it is, rather than expect it for what its site says. Its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#41 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing