We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #33 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 16 March 2010

There were only a couple of downsides - the bathrooms were 'tired' but very clean and functionable; and the outside of the hotel could do with a new 'paint job'.

Other than that I could not fault the hotel or it's staff.

We arrived on Saturday, early, but our rooms were both ready and waiting for us. Check-in was smooth and efficient. We had requested rooms close to each other and both to have balconies; it was not possible to accommodate both requests but we were offered alternatives which we decided not to proceed with - our choice.

The sea view was wonderful; I haveto say the Bournemouth is one of the cleanest seaside resorts I have been to.

The public areas of the hotel were very well presented and alll the staff very pleasant and willing to help and assist.

On the Saturday evening it was very busy in the restaurant and we did have to wait an inordinate length of time between our starters and main course; but the restaurant staff were on to this immediately and quick to apologise and to offer us a complimentary drink - that is all it takes; to acknowledge and problem and to deal with it.

I was very sorry to have to leave yesterday and very envious of my borther-in-law and sister-in-law who are there until the end of the week!

I would, personally, recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying there again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2010

Thank you for your review it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently reviewing all the bathrooms and will be attending to them over the next few months. I am sorry that you had an unacceptable wait in the restaurant but having given the staff ownership of their departments it is good that they taken this on 100% I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,141)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,141 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed at the Carlton for a long weekend with partner. Booked a seaview room on promotional offer bed, breakfast and dinner thrown in. Carlton is a large imposing hotel on Bournemouth's east cliff sea front location, the quieter end of town. Hotel has been well maintained with lovely grounds and gardens containing outdoor and indoor pools. Reception check in was fast and efficient, there is plenty of free parking for hotel guests. We were given room 110 on the 1st floor, a larger than average double with a huge bathroom with a sunken bath. The balcony was a massive terrace area that is shared with the bedroom next door which I am sure is great in the summer when you could take advantage of sitting outside, unfortunately on our trip we shared it with a gang of children and two dogs which was annoying during the day when they were constantly running past your balcony door. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, tv was a bit old and some of the stations weren't working properly. The first night we were awoken by the fire alarm going off at 3am for a few seconds, and the 2nd night someone phoned the room by mistake at 1am but I guess this was just bad luck rather than the norm. We dined in the restaurant both nights. I have to say that the restaurant staff were absolutely fantastic, extremely professional and efficient, polite and friendly. The food was excellent too although the portions on the set menu a little small. Breakfast was also excellent with all the usual choices you would expect from a hotel of this class, there is also 24 hour room service with an excellent menu. This is an excellent choice of hotel for a weekend break, book it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2010

Many thanks for your review, you certainly choose a very good weekend to come down to Bournemouth as we enjoyed some really good weather. I am glad you enjoyed your room and it is pleasing to read that the hard work we have put in on the cleanliness of the rooms is producing positive results. As you quite rightly say we certainly had some energetic children in and whilst they enjoyed the leisure facilities they used the rest of the hotel as a bit of a race track, we did remind the whole family of this was not acceptable with a certain ammount of success. I am sorry that the alarms were activated on one night this may have been down to the same source. I am glad you enjoyed the service in the restaurant and the menus throughout the hotel I will certainly monitor the portion sizes on the set menu as we have always been known for serving the approriate portions and any deviation from the norm must be stopped

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I have been visitors at this hotel since 1978 when we honeymooned at the then 5 star, privately owned Carlton. Since then, we have visited each year as Time Share owners as well, and we have seen various ownership and management changes, many for the worse. 2 years ago, the only steak on any menu was found on the childrens' room service menu! The Restaurant menu was repeated each night and there was nothing to entice the Timeshare owners to use the hotel facilities. BUT, what a joy it was to visit the hotel this year. A new Manager, staff who smile and are polite and a Restaurant Manager with style, serving food which was absolutely SUPERB. We ate in the restaurant on four nights, and you could not find better quality or presentation if you had paid a Michelin Star chef three times the price. At £29.95 for three courses of the finest food it was excellent. We were so pleased to see the standard of this hotel returning. Good food and wine, lovely rooms and views, and a welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TREMETHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2010

Many thanks for your review it is very pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your last couple of visits to the Carlton. The whole team have worked very hard to make sure that the basic elements of hospitality are met and we hope surpass customer expectations. The chef has just introduced his new spring menu ( 5th March 2010) with the emphasis on great local produce, cooked well and served in an unpretencious manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Check in was very efficient and welcoming. As a last minute booking we were expecting to be given a small room at the back but instead our room was huge. Directly over the main entrance with sea views, I suspect it might have been rather noisy if a wedding or party had been taking place but Sunday evening was very quiet and we never heard any other guests. The hotel might not be for people who prefer a modern boutique/chain hotel but we loved the old fashioned charm of it. The bathroom, although spotlessly clean, was a little tired and could have been improved on. Room service was very quick.

Breakfast next day was excellent however we would have preferred a little more time before having our breakfast order taken. The waitress showed us to our table and immediately asked what we wanted before we had even sat down even though we were clearly dressed for leisure and not business.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2010

Thank you for your review it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay, I appreciate your comment regarding the style of the hotel, it is always a problem getting the balance between the traditional hotel that the Carlton is and the requirements of todays visitors. We do endevour to reduce the gap to a minimum but the physical layout of the hotel does not always allow this to be achieved. I completely understand your comment regarding breakfast and this has been discussed with the staff concerned to ensure that leisure clients recieve efficient service but at a more suitable pace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

We stayed here after booking on last minute.com and were very pleasantly surprised - we had the most beautiful room overlooking the sea and it was very tranquil even though we were not far from the town centre. Staff were lovely, we had breakfast the following morning which was lovely and plentiful(!). This is a beautiful building with lovely high ceilings, fireplaces and plenty of character; it also has spa and fitness centre but we didn't use that, preferring instead to sit in one of the lovely lounges with a glass of wine! HIghly recommend this hotel as an excellent base to explore Bournemouth and the surrounding areas from, or if you want to just get away from it all and walk on the beach....

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalisburySaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2010

Thank you for your review it is always good to read that the hotel exceded your expectations. We have been very lucky with the weather over the past three weeks and as you quite rightly say Bournemouth generally and the Carlton in particular makes an ideal venue for a few days away in January.

Andrew Woodland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Food was fabulous, rooms are dated, shower disappointing. Used the health suite and can highly recommend the massage, it was fab and great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneroamingBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2009

Thank you for your review .The party night you attended was the first one of the festive season so its good to read that the Chef produced his normal excellent standard straight away. I am sorry about the poor shower as this is something we have worked on recently to ensure we get the correct pressure in every room no matter which area of the hotel that the room is located. I am glad that you enjoyed the Health Club as this is a very important area of the hotel especially with the wet and windy weather we have experienced this November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed one night in this hotel - largely because I was unable to find another at short notice. There was only one room available and although I was shown the room before I took it I regretted it later. Faded, old fashioned decor - hugely overpriced, rounded off with an extremely diasappointing breakfast. I have memories of this hotel being one of the best in Bournemouth - it needs a huge update and revamp to regain its status. A diappointing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LausanneFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2009

Thank you for your review I am sorry that you found the room faded and with an old fashioned decor. I can appreciate these comments and we are decorating the rooms to brighten them up but we will not be doing anything to detract from the size and lay out of them as this is an attraction to many of our regular clientel. Obviously in August we enjoyed a very high occupancy which would lead to us only being able to offer the smaller less well appointed rooms to walk in guests. The receptionist showed you the room prior to you occupying it, as we always do when we are down to our last available room and we would have understood if you did not choose to stay. I must apologise for the dissappointing breakfast as we have worked hard over the past six months to get a better service and presentation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £80 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing