We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
a Geordie in Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights 9/10 June I could definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. You were treated like a guest should be treated! - nothing was a bother,. The food was great, the facilities great (pool, jacuzzi,sauna) the room was great. The only thing that could be improved on would be the service at breakfast.
Location was ideal for the beach and a short(ish) walk to the shops in town.
We will definitely be returning....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 26 June 2010
Thank you very much for the recent review its good to read that the liesure area is back to how we would expect the new spa bath is certainly a vast improvement on the previous one, the swimming pools have been well used over the past couple of weeks of sunshine. Breakfast att he weekends can be very busy and I am sorry that this area of the Carlton did not match the rest of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    328
    197
    101
    84
See reviews for
251
445
28
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Room Okay nothing more. Cracked shower head in Bathroom decor very dated and limited number of channels on TV.
Leisure Indoor pool okay but quite small, changing rooms very small with one shower cubicle in poor condition. New spa pool not working correctly but very small it looked like it was a domestic not commercial pool.
Restaurant Breakfast very good quality/quantity and looked at by staff very well.
Dinner nothing better than okay. Menu very limited chef ran out of Chicken nuggets for my lad, ordered Chicken Gougons ended up with fish!
Afternoon tea a catalogue of errors ordered plain cheese sandwiches (how difficult is that) sandwiches served up with mayonnaise! Cakes sent out from Kitchen with mould on them! Junior staff very helpful and concerned Senior staff could not care less. Another party in the bar was having just as much trouble trying to get the sandwiches they ordered it appears that chef cannot keep his shelves stocked properly.

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank paulstravels056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your review it is obviously very upsetting to read the catalogue of problems you had to endure. I am sorry that the shower was cracked I have been up to the room and it has been replaced since your visit and I am confident that if you had reported this during your stay we would have attended to it immediatly. The new spa is an eight seater commercial spa that was imported from Italy. We came across problems with water pressure when it was installed but these have been fixed and the spa is a great improvement on the previous one. It is always dissappointing to read that simple requests were not carried out correctly, with regards the Cheese sandwich the kitchen prepared it as per the menu description rather than from the docket that went from the bar to kitchen I have highlighted this and your other observations with the restaurant and kitchen at our review meeting to ensure that customer requests are clearly communicated between the departments Once again many thanks for your comments and I can assure you that they have been acted on immediatly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hants
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

Booked this hotel with our Airmiles. We have stayed in Bournemouth before in another hotel & were keen to come back for some sea air. Reviews for this hotel were very promising, some negative comments but then all hotels have them & the good reviews seemed to outweigh the bad.
We decided we would like to stay an extra night & the day before we travelled I spoke to a receptionist who said it would not be a problem & as it was my birthday on the 4th she would try & get us a free upgrade but couldn't promise as it was easter weekend.
The receptionist upon arrival was very friendly & helpful, we were booked into an inland facing room. We did mention that we had been told there might be a chance of an upgrade due to my birthday & without any hesitation she checked for rooms & booked us into a sea view room.
We stayed in room 109, a large room & a great view of the sea. The bed was comfy & the room was warm (maybe a little too warm). The radiator did have a leak & the carpet had a wet patch & stain on it. The floor boards were VERY creaky, a good job we were on the first floor & no one was below us, else I think they may have got fed up with the noise.
The bathroom was a bit tired looking but it was clean, tidy & light. There was no damp patches or mould on the walls or ceiling (unlike other hotels we have stayed in).
The room was cleaned daily but doubtful if the hoover was put round each day. We found toe nail clippings on the floor in the bedroom from previous occupants which were there for the total of our stay. Wasn't pleasant when I found one stuck in my sock!
The leisure facilities were adequate but the tiles in the pool & jacuzzi were very grimy around the top, the floor needed a good scrub & fresh coat of paint on the walls.
We would have liked to have eaten & drank in the hotel a bit more but found the prices a bit too high. Location to the town is very close, within walking distance & plenty of alternative choices of restaurants & bars.
Breakfast was very good & an excellent selection of choice.
All staff were very polite & helpful. We did see members of staff thoroughly cleaning glasses & buffing up the cutlery.
In general we had a very relaxing & pleasant stay & despite the couple of negative comments we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 17 April 2010
Thank you for your very balanced response it is good to read that the receptionist on duty was able to give you an upgrade and I can't think of a better place to celebrate your birthday. I am sorry that you had some problems with the radiator we have located the leak and it has now been repaired.I have spoken to the housekeeping staff about the standard of hoovering and all the team are fully aware of the standards we expect. We are commencing work on the Leisure club on Monday 19th these works will include the replacement of the very old Spa bath and replacing several of the windows which will certainly brighten up the whole area. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

There were only a couple of downsides - the bathrooms were 'tired' but very clean and functionable; and the outside of the hotel could do with a new 'paint job'.

Other than that I could not fault the hotel or it's staff.

We arrived on Saturday, early, but our rooms were both ready and waiting for us. Check-in was smooth and efficient. We had requested rooms close to each other and both to have balconies; it was not possible to accommodate both requests but we were offered alternatives which we decided not to proceed with - our choice.

The sea view was wonderful; I haveto say the Bournemouth is one of the cleanest seaside resorts I have been to.

The public areas of the hotel were very well presented and alll the staff very pleasant and willing to help and assist.

On the Saturday evening it was very busy in the restaurant and we did have to wait an inordinate length of time between our starters and main course; but the restaurant staff were on to this immediately and quick to apologise and to offer us a complimentary drink - that is all it takes; to acknowledge and problem and to deal with it.

I was very sorry to have to leave yesterday and very envious of my borther-in-law and sister-in-law who are there until the end of the week!

I would, personally, recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying there again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 21 March 2010
Thank you for your review it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently reviewing all the bathrooms and will be attending to them over the next few months. I am sorry that you had an unacceptable wait in the restaurant but having given the staff ownership of their departments it is good that they taken this on 100% I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed at the Carlton for a long weekend with partner. Booked a seaview room on promotional offer bed, breakfast and dinner thrown in. Carlton is a large imposing hotel on Bournemouth's east cliff sea front location, the quieter end of town. Hotel has been well maintained with lovely grounds and gardens containing outdoor and indoor pools. Reception check in was fast and efficient, there is plenty of free parking for hotel guests. We were given room 110 on the 1st floor, a larger than average double with a huge bathroom with a sunken bath. The balcony was a massive terrace area that is shared with the bedroom next door which I am sure is great in the summer when you could take advantage of sitting outside, unfortunately on our trip we shared it with a gang of children and two dogs which was annoying during the day when they were constantly running past your balcony door. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, tv was a bit old and some of the stations weren't working properly. The first night we were awoken by the fire alarm going off at 3am for a few seconds, and the 2nd night someone phoned the room by mistake at 1am but I guess this was just bad luck rather than the norm. We dined in the restaurant both nights. I have to say that the restaurant staff were absolutely fantastic, extremely professional and efficient, polite and friendly. The food was excellent too although the portions on the set menu a little small. Breakfast was also excellent with all the usual choices you would expect from a hotel of this class, there is also 24 hour room service with an excellent menu. This is an excellent choice of hotel for a weekend break, book it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 11 March 2010
Many thanks for your review, you certainly choose a very good weekend to come down to Bournemouth as we enjoyed some really good weather. I am glad you enjoyed your room and it is pleasing to read that the hard work we have put in on the cleanliness of the rooms is producing positive results. As you quite rightly say we certainly had some energetic children in and whilst they enjoyed the leisure facilities they used the rest of the hotel as a bit of a race track, we did remind the whole family of this was not acceptable with a certain ammount of success. I am sorry that the alarms were activated on one night this may have been down to the same source. I am glad you enjoyed the service in the restaurant and the menus throughout the hotel I will certainly monitor the portion sizes on the set menu as we have always been known for serving the approriate portions and any deviation from the norm must be stopped
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband and I have been visitors at this hotel since 1978 when we honeymooned at the then 5 star, privately owned Carlton. Since then, we have visited each year as Time Share owners as well, and we have seen various ownership and management changes, many for the worse. 2 years ago, the only steak on any menu was found on the childrens' room service menu! The Restaurant menu was repeated each night and there was nothing to entice the Timeshare owners to use the hotel facilities. BUT, what a joy it was to visit the hotel this year. A new Manager, staff who smile and are polite and a Restaurant Manager with style, serving food which was absolutely SUPERB. We ate in the restaurant on four nights, and you could not find better quality or presentation if you had paid a Michelin Star chef three times the price. At £29.95 for three courses of the finest food it was excellent. We were so pleased to see the standard of this hotel returning. Good food and wine, lovely rooms and views, and a welcoming staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREMETHICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 5 March 2010
Many thanks for your review it is very pleasing to read that you have enjoyed your last couple of visits to the Carlton. The whole team have worked very hard to make sure that the basic elements of hospitality are met and we hope surpass customer expectations. The chef has just introduced his new spring menu ( 5th March 2010) with the emphasis on great local produce, cooked well and served in an unpretencious manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Check in was very efficient and welcoming. As a last minute booking we were expecting to be given a small room at the back but instead our room was huge. Directly over the main entrance with sea views, I suspect it might have been rather noisy if a wedding or party had been taking place but Sunday evening was very quiet and we never heard any other guests. The hotel might not be for people who prefer a modern boutique/chain hotel but we loved the old fashioned charm of it. The bathroom, although spotlessly clean, was a little tired and could have been improved on. Room service was very quick.

Breakfast next day was excellent however we would have preferred a little more time before having our breakfast order taken. The waitress showed us to our table and immediately asked what we wanted before we had even sat down even though we were clearly dressed for leisure and not business.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodl2001, general manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this review, 6 February 2010
Thank you for your review it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay, I appreciate your comment regarding the style of the hotel, it is always a problem getting the balance between the traditional hotel that the Carlton is and the requirements of todays visitors. We do endevour to reduce the gap to a minimum but the physical layout of the hotel does not always allow this to be achieved. I completely understand your comment regarding breakfast and this has been discussed with the staff concerned to ensure that leisure clients recieve efficient service but at a more suitable pace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3DN, England (Formerly Menzies Carlton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star stunning hotel on Bournemouth's cliff-top, offering traditional stylish rooms, many with sea views. Award winning restaurant, bar, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, steam room, sauna, and beauty treatment rooms. An easy walk down the zig zag path to the golden sands, and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Carlton Bournemouth
Hotel Menzies Carlton
Carlton Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing