We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Family Stay we've ever had in Bournemouth (or pretty much anywhere else)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Family Stay we've ever had in Bournemouth (or pretty much anywhere else)”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed for one night and the hotel is so good that I am reviewing it before I have even checked out!

Had room 203 in the Lodge which although not officially part of the Best Western hotel, still allowed us full use of the excellent facilities and check in at main reception.

The room was a family suite with a seperate room for the kids with bunk beds allowing us some private time when they went to bed. The room was clean, plenty of towels and extra pilows, free wifi available.

The pool and spa area are spotless and very well maintained with a good size pool and hot tub.

Room service was great, prompt and served into the room. The breakfast was fantastic with a very fine sausage indeed.

Onto the staff! They honestly could not be more attentive. We mentioned that we were staying for our son's birthday and a birthday card was waiting on the breakfast table! We asked a couple of questions about the surrounding area and got good answers without any hesitation at all.

If I have one negative comment it's that the tourist board should be awarding this hotel it's 4th star. I'm not sure what more they can do, 2 rosette restaurant, 24 hr room service, pool and spa. Nothing is missing.

A real credit to the team and their manager. My only concern is that if too many people find out, we may not be able to get a room..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandlersFordFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    724
    186
    52
    29
See reviews for
403
1,578
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Berwick
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We booked into The Connaught having read the very positive reports on ‘Trip Advisor’ and anticipated a restful four-day stay.
This is a conveniently located Hotel with ample parking and it is staffed by a group of the most charming and attentive people you could ever hope to meet. The majority of the staff is foreign and it seemed, during our stay, that so too were many of the guests who must read ‘Trip Advisor’.
At dinner and breakfast the food was well cooked and very attractively presented. Breakfast is a tour de force and could not be bettered anywhere. However, the dinner menu changes little day-to-day and ‘menu fatigue’ would set in if one stayed more that a couple of nights.
So a modern, warm, spacious building, well staffed serving good food, what could be the problem? The answer is that ‘the devil is in the detail’. Any one of a string of small issues could be ignored but in combination they proved to be an irritant.
On our first two mornings the fire alarm woke us (at 0609 and 0700). On the first occasion I phoned the emergency number (0) to contact the 24hour porter. Incredibly and unforgivably I got a recorded message inviting me to “Call back later”. We debated whether we should sprint down to the car park but as we heard no other movement in the hotel, chanced it and stayed put. Day 2 was a re-run but, as old hands, we just lost sleep.
Our room/bathroom had no extraction or ventilation. The only option was to open the French doors onto the small balcony, not ideal in January. I raised this matter with the Maintenance Manager who told me that there was no extraction from the bathroom “Because there was a skylight”. Indeed there was and if I stood on tip-toes on the loo I could just reach – but I still couldn’t open it.
The towel rail did not heat up and when reported it was temporarily fixed. But only for 24 hours, then it reverted to cold.
The soap and shampoo were screwed to the wall at a height that was ideal if you were having a shower but unreachable if you were in the bath we had specifically requested. I raised this with the Maintenance Manager and he readily conceded that it would have to be changed. No action was taken during our stay.
On arrival I had pointed out that the pen chained to the front desk for the convenience of guests was broken. I mentioned it again on day 3. As we left I noted that the pen had been removed but not replaced – the chain remained.
The telephone worked – but only intermittently. Our entry card to the room was cancelled 24 hours before we were leaving and that necessitated another trip to reception. All of the above are relatively minor and easy to correct but, in combination, they took the gilt off what looked to be attractive gingerbread..
If The Connaught paid more attention to detail it would be the ideal place to stay in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ventilation and extraction from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sustainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Sustainer

Thank you very much for the excellent review and my apologies for the minor irritations which are being dealt with. However with regard to the fire alarm we do not answer the telephone - just imagine the problem dealing with the entire hotel trying to call reception. When the alarm goes each guest must leave the hotel by the quickest and safest route. The hotel's managers are charged with ensuring every guest has managed to leave the hotel. In both cases that you mentioned the alarm was short-lived and dealt with which is why no one bothered leaving the hotel. Both alarms were set off by guests - the first day was down to an excess of hairspray right under the sensor and the second day by a smoker. I Hope you didn't lose too much sleep and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We celebrated my husbands 80th birthday at the Connaught Hotel with 14 members of our family. The Hotel was fabulous and really made our weekend something to remember.The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable, we made good use of the swimming pool and spa. Food was restaurant food was excellent and well presented giving a real party atmosphere, and staff so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Sheila K,

Just brilliant!! So pleased to read the big "O" birthday was a great success - we love doing these special birthdays and we do pay a lot of attention so as to get them right. Each big "O" is so important and you only get one once every 10 years so it has to be just right!!

Best wishes for 2012 and thank you for choosing us.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We were looking for a weekend break and came across this hotel offering a special deal. We stayed in room 30 which was an executive room which we paid extra for (this was worth paying the extra because we're not sure what the size/quality of the standard room would be like..)

The room had a sofa placed in a big bay window which overlooked the courtyard. None of the rooms had a sea view (from what we could see!). The staff were very helpful and the hotel clean. Our deal included full use of the indoor pool and spa but we didn't use it.

The bed and pillows are one of the comfortable we've slept in!! The hairdryer was adequate and the shower was good but not a power shower as advertised.

The restaurant food was excellent and we totally recommend eating there, even if just for the one night!. The breakfast was very good, offering a buffet style of cereal, continental and full English. The restaurant staff were very polite and always smiling.

We wouldn't hesitate in staying here again but only if it was offering a special deal and if we could stay in an executive room at the very least - and only for a short break.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillyjo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Gillyjo

Thank you very much for your review. Room 30 is a very popular executive room overlooking the terrace garden and it was great to read just how much you enjoyed it. We are about 300m from sea front, due South of us, and a few of the rooms on the top floor do have "glimpses" of the sea. It was also good to read how much you enjoyed your experiences in Blakes, our award winning restaurant - thank you.

Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Connaught Hotel in Bournemouth over the weekend of the 6th - 8th January 2012, what a gem of a hotel. The staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are well appointed, clean and with all you could need.

The food is exemplary, this hotel appears to be the only hotel in Bournemouth to hold two AA rosettes, this includes the four star/ five star hotel in the area. The food is fantastic and the restaurant staff friendly and obliging, nothing appears to be too much trouble.

At breakfast, a choice of gluten free cereals are available at the breakfast bar. The cooked breakfast is beautifully presented and of excellent quality.

The sauna, steam room, swimming pool and jacuzzi are of excellent standard, we did not use the gym, but we would have no doubt that this is to the same high standard.

For the prices charged, this hotel offers fantastic value and we would not hesitate to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerL570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Roger L

Thank you so much for this magnificent review it really is very much appreciated. The Connaught is indeed the only 3 star hotel in Bournemouth with a double rosette and the only other hotel to have been honoured in this manner is a 4 star - clearly not many of us to choose from!! Our Blue Water Spa and Leisure Club is a great hit with our Guests and hopefully you'll have an opportunity to try our the gyms on your next visit.
Thank you again and my best wishes to you and your family for 2012.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Spent one night at this hotel. Staff very friendly and attentive, Evening meal and breakfast were first class. Room ok but bathroom needs attention.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiftysomethinglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Fiftysomethinglondon

Thank you very much for your review and very pleased to read how much you enjoyed the service and the food in Blakes. If you have a moment please drop me a note to let me know which room you stayed in - I would like to take a look at the bathroom. There are only 3 rooms remaining to be done and we are currently doing 2!!.

Best wishes and a very happy New Year to you and your family.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Our daughter came to visit from New Zealand and we travelled down from the north with fingers crossed that the Connaught didn't let us down. We needn't have worried as it was a really relaxed and lovely stay. From the friendly and efficient staff through to food in the main dining area and bar, and all the sports facilities on offer. Nothing was too much trouble. Our daughter who is used to travelling worldwide was very impressed. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. It is the first time we have had no complaints regarding a hotel. Will we come again, of course! Thank you so much for making it such a special time for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Peter S

That indeed was a leap of faith and I was so pleased that your get together was a great success. Nice also to know that our reputation is now travelling "down under"!!

A very happy New Year to you all and thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,908 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,995 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing