We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Connaught Lodge(Bournemouth)
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Exeter Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Cliff Inn(Bournemouth)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montague Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Durley Grange Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,050)
Filter reviews
3,050 results
Traveller rating
1,962
790
209
56
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,962
790
209
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblakes restaurantorchid suitespa facilitieslovely hotelexecutive roomthe main hotelswimming poolsteam room and saunabreakfast was excellenttown centreshort breakcar parkwest cliffrestaurant managerenjoyable staythird floorbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,393 - 2,398 of 3,050 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Not much bad to say about this hotel. We stayed in a superior room with a balcony & although the room was smaller than we expected, it was lovely to be up on the balcony in the sunshine & have the option of opening the patio door when the room was warm. Fans are provided & this helped too. Breakfast was good, staff welcoming & friendly & to have the use of an indoor pool & gym is a definite plus. It's also only a 5 min walk to the seafront.

The only downsides were the wifi was a bit temperamental (but it is free!) & the view from the balcony, although overlooking the hotel grounds, was of lots of surrounding buildings & a little claustrophobic.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Not a "bad review" either Caroline, thank you very much and we were delighted to read just how much you enjoyed the facilities!! Sorry about the view - although just 300m from the cliff tops we do not have the benefit of those lovely views, just our own garden and grounds.

Best wishes and thanks again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Hotel surpassed all our expectations. Booking in was easy and staff were welcoming even though we were a bit early. The luggage was in our rooms on the third floor in minutes. We had decided on a superiour room and were not disappointed, a lovely modern decor with bathroom that had both bath and shower. There was a small balcony overlooking the terrace where guests could dine. The resaurant was lovely with chandeliers, fresh flowers on the tables and friendly, attentive and efficient staff completed the relaxed atmosphere. The "Maitre D" was very aware of his staff and the guests they were serving. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice and well presented. Restaurant meals were all freshly cooked and excellent. The bar and lounge were comfortable and you could relax with a drink. Thank you for a lovely holiday we hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike_clark33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

A 5 Star "Gold Medal" review Mike, thank you very much - Nicki, our Maitre d' and his team were especially delighted to read your review.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at the hotel on the 11th August. found all the staff helpful.
The food & service in the resturant is excellent.
The spa on the bottom floor is well equiped.
Would stay again.
Only gripe was whne we stayed the weather was hot and the room stuffy, could do with some aircon in the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thanks very much Kelvin for the great review - in spite of the heat I was delighted to read that you had a good stay and enjoyed the restaurant and spa facilities.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

This is s top quality hotel to stay in. Although, that said you pay for what you get! The room I had was very expensive though, very spacious. The rooms are old fashioned, with beds, furniture and decor of old age. If your not into luxurious style then, it won't be to your liking. Overall, comfortable stay but, too pricey for my liking.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keekoo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Sounds as though you had one of the execuitve rooms Keekoo, with bathrobes, slippers and all the trimmings which you obviously enjoyed!! The majority of the rooms however have been refurbished and furnished in a more modern style - so a little something for everyone!!

Best wishes and thank you for the excellent 5 star review.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife visited today for a spa day with a friend and wanted me to comment on her behalf. The facilities were excellent as were the staff. The food in her own words was the best she had experienced in a long while. An all round excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferndun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you Ferndun for your super review and thank you also for reviewing The Spa on Trip Advisor's Blue Water Spa site. Delighted your wife and frine had a wonderful day and we look forward to seeing them again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews