We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blakes 2 Rosette Restaurant was disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed a week af this lovely hotel and entirely agree with all the other reviews. The staff and service are first class. However, after a week we found the restaurant menu somewhat repetative with sometimes no more than one new item per night for main course We are still pleased to reccomend this hotel to our friends

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwrych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation Grwych which is very much appreciated. It is very difficult to extensively change a double rosette menu on a daily basis as there is so much preparation and planning that goes into making this such a lovely restaurant. To overcome this we are proposing to open a brasserie style restaurant in the Conservatory which will have a more varied menu and one that is capable of being changed more frequently. On the basis that you ate there every night I must assume that the quality was as good as ever albeit lacking in variety for you!!

Best wishes and we hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,116 - 2,122 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at the Connaught on the 5th and 6th April for a ladies weekend. This hotel is lovely. The staff are very pleasant and very efficient. Every member of staff that we met was more than happy to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the room had everything we needed for our stay. The food was delicious, we had a three course meal on Friday night which was great. However the meal we were served for the ladies night on Saturday was the best meal we have ever had at a similar function. The beef for the main course was superb. Many thanks to the catering staff. On this trip we didn't have chance to make use of the swimming pool but next time we visit we will definitely bring our swimwear. Overall it was an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you Jean and Richard for your super "Ladies' Weekend" review - Chef Peter specifically asked us to to thank you on behalf of the kitchen as did our Head Housekeeper, Hazel. Here's to next year..........!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We only stayed one night while in Bournemouth on a business trip but I really wanted to stay longer. The hotel has the classic English hotel feel, mixed with thoroughly modern facilities . The room was spacious and had a balcony overlooking the beer garden. There was complimentary water and sweets left in the room as well as tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom had a terrific shower, maybe it was a wee bit small but perfectly fine really.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was top notch, I can see how this restaurant gets its 2 rosette rating. The bar was also great, we could have opted to dine here too for a less formal dining experience. The food here looked equally as good as the restaurant.
We didn't use the spa . Only because we didn't come equipped for it but we went for a look. The pool is quite large, 17 meters I was told, and the spa and gym facilities looked to be top notch.
The hotel was easily found and had good parking facilities. It is also just a couple of hundred meters from both the sea front and the town centre so it is perfectly positioned for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davymac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

And we wished you could have stayed longer too, Daveymac - many thanks for your lovely review and hopefully, next time around, you will have time to take full advantage of all the facilities on offer.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Just spent an all too short 2 night stay at this hotel and I have to say it was one of the most pleasurable experiences of my life.
Opted for dinner b&b basing my decision on the reviews in here.
The short stay was a treat for my wife's birthday - she had a couple of massage treatments which she said were fantastic and spent the rest of the day on cloud nine - job done!
The room, albeit a little compact, was excellent - up in the roof with a small balcony, comfortable beds and a nice walk in shower.
Dinner on both nights was absolutely superb - the whole experience enhanced by the fantastic staff.
I really can not fault this hotel, or the way it is run by the very efficienct and friendly staff and would have no hesitation in highly recommending it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

That made for really nice reading Grapee and we were really delighted your wife had such a lovely birthday - thank you very much. Hope to see you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Having stayed in various hotels throughout Bournemouth, The Connaught, in our opinion is bu far the best. The receptionists on arrival were extremely friendly and welcoming and of a very smart appearance. The staff in general were very warm, helpful and accommodating. The room and room facilities were first class. The food was most excellent and presented to a very high standard. My husband and I would be delighted to go back at any time, certainly if we were visiting Bornemouth, this hotel would be our first port of call.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

And we'd be delighted to welcome you back Jill - thank you for your wonderful review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at The Best Western Connaught Hotel. The executive suite we stayed in was absolutely fabulous, beautifully decorated and very quiet. The bathroom had both a jacuzzi bath and a shower, pleasing both my husband (who likes the latter) and me (as I prefer the former), complete with complimentary soaps, shower gels, shampoo, sewing kit, face cloths and shower cap. It's also large enough to hold a small party in there if you have the inclination to do so. We had a bit of a hunt to find the welcome tray (in the cupboard of the dressing table), but the Wi-Fi worked perfectly (which is what you need if you are a business executive or an insomniac solo traveller as I sometimes am) and after a long day it was lovely to be able to refresh ourselves before we went down to dinner.

The dining experience was exceptional, to silver service standard. If ever I win the Lottery, I shall be making the chef an offer he can't refuse; the food was ambrosial, perfectly prepared and served. We had an excellent Pinot Grigio to accompany it. It wasn't cheap, but then if you want a dining experience that is exceptional you must be prepared to pay the price for that; the restaurant is quiet, the tables are nicely spaced so that you are not eavesdropping on the neighbouring table's conversation, and if you think of P G Wodehouse's description of Bertie Wooster's butler, Jeeves, who 'shimmied into the room silently', this is how the waiting staff appear at the first hint of your requiring them.

Breakfast is served in the same room in the morning, a choice of continental or full English breakfast being available. The room undergoes something of a transformation and breakfast is served on a cafeteria system where you can help yourself to much of what is on offer, and be served from the hotplate. Again, a pleasurable experience to set you up for the day.

We could not fault our stay - we were thoroughly and thoughtfully looked after. I only have one negative observation. There was a bowl of sweets on the table in the room, and they were very chewy toffees. If you have a mouthful of fillings, it's perhaps best to leave these alone!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37. Not much of a view - but you are within a couple of minutes walk from the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Wow!! I have to say that this is an "incomparable" 5 star review and we all thank you very much Hilary for taking the time to write such a detailed account of your experiences with us - our Maitre d', in particular, was absolutely delighted to be mentioned!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel thoroughly deserves its high position on Trip Advisor. We stayed in a superior room, which had plenty of storage space and two tub chairs; executive rooms are more spacious with a two-seater settee. I had a look at a couple of these rooms, as I definitely want to stay in this hotel again. It seemed to me that executive rooms were ideal for people who stay in to watch television in the evenings. The Connaught is an older hotel, which has been modernised so room layouts differ. Executive rooms don’t necessarily have larger en-suites than superior ones. All the rooms I saw had a modern shower in a walk-in cubicle. The bedrooms and public rooms are all kept spotlessly clean. The greatest strengths of this hotel, however, are the helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the food. Breakfast is of a very high standard; I particularly liked the fish options that were available for a small extra supplement. We also had a delicious pasta bar meal that was good value for money and really enjoyed the quality of the afternoon tea and cake, which was also fairly priced; cake was served warm, with cream or sorbet. It was very clear that the chefs took great pride in ensuring the high standard of anything that came out of their 2 rosette kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thompsonUK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

From someone who has clearly travelled extensively this is a very nice 5 star review - thank you very much ThompsonUK.

Best wishes

David F Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
959 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £69 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing