We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Connaught Hotel Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Connaught Hotel Bournemouth”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a Wedding in Bournemouth and it was fairly close to the venue. We found the hotel to be very good indeed. On arrival the car park was pretty much full, probably due to the fact that the airshow was on. However one of the managers offered for us to use the disabled parking as long as we were prepared to move the car if someone needed the disabled space. The room was lovely. Not the biggest room I have ever stayed in but certain adequate. However the fact that the room had a balcony totally took away any problem with the size of the room. We sat on the balcony to have drinks and were lucky enough to see the Red Arrows, so all in all it was perfect.

The room was very clean to a standard you don't often see in hotels. The location is good and we were able to walk to find a restaurant for dinner, although I believe the restaurant at the hotel is also very good. The staff were very friendly and attentive. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we are in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Sounds as though you had the perfect stay Susan - I'd like to say we laid on the Red Arrows for you but modesty prevails!! Thank you for your brilliant review and we look forward to seeing you for next year's air show.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,825
    698
    179
    49
    26
See reviews for
391
1,525
126
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Have just returned home from our 4th/5th visit to this lovely hotel. The reception and bar area has had a face lift since we were here last and it looks very swish now. We heard of plans for further improvements as well. Nice to know they listen to their guest's comments too. They have opened a large room off the bar to be available for guests. The bar meals have been upgraded to a brasserie and the standard of food is excellent. As always the staff are helpful,friendly and strike just the right balance between the two... Nice to see some old friends, Peter, Marcio and Nick. A special mention this time for Giusseppe, one of the bar staff. He was very cheerful and made us cocktails one evening, even though they are not officially on the drinks list.. They looked and tasted wonderful.
We will definitely visit again when we come down to Bournemouth.

Room Tip: We only had standard rooms this time, we booked late..it is certainly worth upgrading to superior ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Good to see you back Sandymagic and to know that you approve of the major improvments since your last visit - we're really looking the part nowadays and with just the halls, stairs and landings to do we are nearly done!!! The Connaught Brasserie is proving to be very popular with a much more varied menu than the old "bar menu" - glad you enjoyed it. Many thanks for the lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a exec room with my wife . The staff realy could not do enough for you .The breakfast was very good we chose t eat our breakfast outside in the loverly court yard. The sevice outstanding . Very comfy lounge area where the bar staff were very attentive. We found all areas of the hotel very clean . We enjoyed a swim in the indoor pool . Our room was very spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was realy nice with a large jacuzzi with a seperate shower cubical . The parking was abit tight at times not quite enough spaces ror resedents and visitors but not too much of a problem as we left our car and walked every where as the hotel is quite central. Will defnatly return.

Room Tip: The exec rooms are briliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We look forward to your return visit Reg and thank you very much for your most generous, 5 Star "First Class Hotel" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We are a family with 2 children aged 9 & 5. We stayed in the rose suite for 5 nights in the middle of August and I can honestly say we have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. The room was lovely and immaculate throughout and the kids loved the walk in shower and suite had plenty of room. Breakfast was in our opinion the best hotel breakfast we have ever had, which can be a negative as I couldn't help but have plenty of the fantastic cooked breakfast which was all freshly cooked and locally sourced and the sausages were amazing !!
We will definitely be back and having stayed at the chine previously I can honestly say this hotel was a much nicer stay.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you Justin - a most generous review which is very much appreciated by one and all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights Allocated with Room 5 which proved to be too small and cramped as well as having a noisy air vent outside to window. Changed to Room 21 with no hassle which was much more comfortable, however, groups of noisy and well refreshed late night revellers seemed to want to continue their night's enjoyment in the car park below our room. Like many hotels in the area the Connaught has faded over time and could do with a face lift. Everything else about our stay was good - I must praise the quality of the service provided by the staff. Value for money in most respects. The hotel is comfortable and clean. Blakes Restuarant has a deserved high reputation. The pool and sauna area bonus facilities. Location is convenient and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5 and ask for a room that does not overlook car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nudgermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Hello Nudge and thank you for your excellent review. The "jaded" comment is absolutely right on the first floor but you must have noticed that we are in the middle of a refurbishment programme; you also seem to have overlooked all the work in the reception area, drawing room and Brasserie, etc. The hotel has undergone a huge amount of remodelling and we are now on the final lap, namely the halls, stairs and landings and when completed we hope to be re-classified as a 4 Star hotel!! Thank you for your comments about our staff.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I booked this hotel on line for my husbands birthday. Before our arrival I had a welcome email from the director of hotel which I felt was a nice touch. Directions were easy to follow and on arrival the reception were very helpful. The room was lovely and tastefully decorated. We only had breakfast at the Hotel but did use the bar. Everyone was polite and attentive. The swimming pool was quiet and we enjoyed the Sauna and steam room.

5 minute walk to beach and shopping area.

It was worth the price and I would recommend it I my friends.

Lovely hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us Korine and I hope your husband enjoyed his day. Thank you for your "fabulous" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My wife and I have just stayed at the Connaught for 3 nights and were very happy with it. Smart and clean environment and the staff always had a smile. We had a standard room overlooking the courtyard and it was lovely. Fast free wifi.
Breakfast was good and opted to sit outside which made it feel very continental. We ate in Blakes for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the food.
All in all, happy with hotel and would recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Many thanks Pete for your super review - hopefully these beautiful, sunny mornings will continue as guests really love taking breakfast in the garden. Glad you enjoyed dinner in Blakes, our award-winning restaurant.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing