We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our third stay at this charming hotel and we had an executive room which was both comfortable and spacious. We had requested a bath and shower when booking the room however the room only had an en-suite shower.
The only other niggle was the WiFi dropping in and out, the duty manager was extremely apologetic and offered to find us an alternative room however we decided not to move.
The staff are a real asset to this hotel, nothing is to much trouble, they are attentive and very welcoming, making the stay a pleasant one.
The restaurant is an absolute gem with an excellent and varied menu. We had a superb meal as good as the last stay and highly recommend eating there.
The hotel is in easy walking distance of the seafront, park and town centre. We look forward to returning very soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stall612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your superb review Stall, we were delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies about the WiFi and pleased it didn't affect your overall experience.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,883)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,824 - 1,830 of 2,883 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband & I stayed 4 nights, returning home today. We had bed & breakfast, twin bedded room with balcony. Room was very clean, & as we were on the 3rd floor, the lift was great! All the staff were helpful, breakfasts were good, we ate in the nice bar area on 3 nights, light meals as we had eaten out in the day, all tasty & good value.

The swimming pool was a really good size, sauna & steam room excellent. Changing rooms, were clean & modern.

Room Tip: We had room 47, it was good, but, the walls are a bit thin...I could the guy's tv next door loud...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Many thanks for you most generous review Elizabeth. I was delighted to read that you took full advantage of and enjoyed all the facilities that we have to offer at the Connaught.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a gem of a place. We were visiting family and were between areas and went in with no reservation, they made a twin into a double in no time. Great staff through out hotel could not of asked for more. Even on our check out we were greeted by the Maitre d asking if our breakfast was good as they had missed us that morning(we had room service) Please see seperate review for restaurant. Will go there again on our next trip from San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you for your "Wonderful" 5 Star review Trish. Hope you had a good journey home.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

What can I say. Fabulous staff. Special mention to Kevin who gave us sound advice on the food and looked after us in the restaurant. Felt like we were the only ones although it was busy with other guests. Stayed in an executive room which had a balcony and really enjoyed the extra space. Very clean and couldn't do enough for you. Didn't use the spa facilities although did have a look and will bring my swimsuit next time. Blake's restaurant well with a visit. Fab food great service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Pickles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Thank you very much Pickles for your fabulous review and we are looking forward to a third visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I booked a superior room for my partners birthday as a surprise, they accompanied me by letting me check in early thus paying before he arrived to his surprise destination! We ate out but only after enjoying an amazing full body massage well worth the spend! Came back to enjoy some drinks at the bar, topped off with a lovely breakfast in the morning, there really is no going wrong when staying at the connaught!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ayieshajaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Surprises are brilliant when you manage to pull them off successfully - delighted to be part of that success Ayieshajaye and thank you for your review. Being a Bournemouth girl, hopefully we'll see a lot more of you!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Second time we have stayed at this hotel.First time in the lodge which was really nice ,this time in the hotel.As before we cannot fault the staff ,all so efficient,and willing to help with anything you need.Hope to be back soon.Thankyou.

Room Tip: Walking distance to the town centre. Good food. Quiet location.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Hope to see you soon too Sandra - glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I know this lovely hotel very well and have enjoyed wonderful meetings and restaurant meals.So this is just to say well done to Paul and his team,and to David (the boss) on this outstanding achievement from Trip Advisor,you have done the impossible,and managed to please all the people all of the time-I'd say it must be a reason to have a Connaught party-ha ha..
Well done-much love B xx

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverleyH-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Most generous Beverley, thank you - Paul was totally overwhelmed!! Always good to see you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £77 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing