We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We planned a few days away from it all and chose this hotel because it had good reviews and a health spa.
The staff at the reception was very welcoming and helpful.
The room was a good size, the bed was too soft ( the mattress needs changing!), the bathroom was clean and practical ( but a shelf to put your toiletries on would be useful).
The room was far too hot and this prevented us from having a good night's sleep as we had to sleep with all three windows open. As a result of this we were troubled by the noise of a fountain on the inner courtyard ( which the staff closed after explicitly asking them to do so) or the noise of people talking and drinking in the street on saturday night. When we complained about the heat in the room, the only reply staff provided was that there is a fan in the bedroom closet!
The food in the brasserie was not nice(and expensive for what it is), the fish was burnt and the chips (three times cooked!) had a horrible after taste.The atmosphere in the brasserie is also not nice, it looks like a waiting room in which they have put a few tables.
The food in the restaurant Blake was good.
Breakfast (too hot again in the restaurant) was good IF you are British, which my partner is, hot, varied etc... HOWEVER if you are from the continent and do not like a British breakfast, there is NOT much you can eat.The bread provided is the type that you can only eat as toast, no fruit salad, no cheese or ham etc... only jam, cereal and yoghurt, tinned prunes and tinned grapefruit.
After having noticed that the restaurant had "homemade" bread in the evening, I asked reception if I could have some of that bread in the morning and it was kindly provided to me. In that way I could-after two days-at least eat a boiled egg and some bread with butter.Staff was very helpful.
The Health Spa is adequate but could do with a make-over esp. the changing rooms, showers and rest area. The result is that we only used the facilities once when that was the main reason why we chose this hotel.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay there and would have left after two days were it not that we had to pay for the full stay in advance.
This is the second time we are disappointed with a Best Western in the UK and we have decided not to use them for future visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bougainville58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Bougainville,

I was very sorry to read of your diappointment during your recent stay with us - mostly, it appears, due to the heat in your room but pleased to note that we did our best to resolve the problems, including offering the opportunity to move to another room which you decided against. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner in Blakes and I have passed your comments to our general manager about the food in the Brasserie - this area is due to be redecorated before Christmas so hopefully the atomosphere and decor will be hugely improved. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your reviews of the hotel, Blakes and the Brasserie on the 3 Trip Advisor sites.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,822
    698
    178
    49
    26
See reviews for
390
1,522
126
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a most enjoyable week end at your hotel. It was to celebrate a special birthday and when we went to our room there was a birthday card and a voucher for a free glass of wine which was a very thoughtful touch. We had a very nice comfortable room and a lovely bathroom. The staff were wonderful, very courteous, friendly and helpful. We can't praise them enough. |Breakfasts were very good and there was plenty of food. We had a bar meal on our second evening and that was very good with plenty of staff to serve us. The only complaint I could make is that there was no Sunday lunch and we had to go to another hotel for this.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Glenys,

We were all really delighted to read just how much you enjoyed your stay with us and that the birthday celebration was such a great success, thank you. We don't do Sunday lunch as there is, unfortunately, very little call for it - weekend residents generally depart on Sunday morning and those arriving on Sunday don't usually arrive until after 3pm. The Brasserie however operates as normal and has quite a varied selection on offer. We all hope to see you again next year!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights bed and breakfast, go to Bournemouth couple of times a year and normally use the Premeir inn. This time we wanted something with facilities. We looked at all the other big hotels in the town some that we have used in the past,we chose this based on the reviews on trip advisor, We were not dissapointed all the staff were lovely and breakfast was civalised with plently of waiters who brought coffee and tea in a pot cooked breakfast served for you and tables cleared promptly. The bar and reception very modern the other areas are under refurbishment and im sure they will be of the same high standard when finished ourr room was small & spotlessly clean. We had very noisy people in the room next door on the 2nd night we didnt report this wish we had, but thats not the hotels fault. The overall cost for this trip was about £40 more than the Premeier inn inc breakfast which was worth it Other large established hotels in bournemouth are along way behind this place on service and standards.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you Jeremy for your "Lovely Hotel" 5 star review which is very much appreciated. The halls, stairs and landings are well underway now and they will look just as elegant as the ground floor when completed - glad you liked the refurbishment so far!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We chose to stay 3 nights in this hotel because of its number 1 rating in trip adviser and we were not disappointed. What made this hotel stand out for us was the focus on the customer - really excellent customer service, thank you. All the staff we met were friendly, polite and engaging - nothing was too much trouble. At breakfast, the hot food was served for you onto the plate - a really nice touch for a buffet-style approach.
The only slightly negative comment I would make is that the standard rooms differ in size. My parents were in room 34 and could hear the lift shaft and their bathroom was tiny. Room 36 was not next door but much further down the corridor, beyond the lift and up some stairs. This was only a minor irritation but I had phoned the hotel to make our booking and requested adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: I rang hotel to book and took advice on here about rooms overlooking the garden. But I did request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMSNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you JMS for your "Excellent" 5 star review. Apologies for the rooms not being exactly together but this was the nearest we could get due to the hotel being full last week. I have asked the reception manager to contact you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
249 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Admist the many hotels in Bournemouth 'The Connaught' must be one of the best.

From the moment you enter the hotel and are greeted by very pleasant staff to the entrance at either breakfast or dinner with the same professional courteousy you feel that the staff are here to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

We booked an excutive double which was on the second floor and certainly exceeded our expectation. The room was a good size and we had a seperate lounge area, so two TV's in the suite and a medium sized bathroom.

The hotel is approprimately 5 minute walk to the sea front. We strolled each morning to the 'West Cliff Ziz Zag' and went down to the promenade for a coastal walk. Heading west you arrive at the Pier and then walk up to the gardens and through to the town centre. The walk back is up hill so be prepared for it (high heels would not be advised ladies).

We dined in Blakes one evening, the service was excellent and meal was good. Breakfast is also served here in the morning and there is a good choice with a buffet style continetal and hot section, all the normal full english available. Coffee was excellent.

One day we had a Spa session booked which was very pleasant however be warned that this is a very popular spa in the area and does get fully booked so my advise would be to book your session well in advance.
The pool and steam/ sauna rooms were good but the changing facilites were not.

All in all a very good hotel, excellent service with a smile.

Room Tip: There will be lots of different types of rooms, so dont expect a suite if you have paid for a standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwitterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
A lovely detailed review Twitter, thank you very much indeed and a big thank you from the team for your compliments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

At last we have found a great hotel in Bournemouth , so close to the town centre but nice and quiet. It has recently been very stylishly refurbished with lovely tartan carpets in main areas. Our room was rather small but the en suite was a good size. The bed was very comfortable. We found all the staff very friendly and if you take your costume you can have a swim! Thank goodness we will not be wasting any more money or time in inferior hotels next time we're in Bournemouth .

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room or take a smaller husband.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you very much Annie for your very complimentary "Brilliant" review. Now you know where we are we look forward to seeing more of you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I purchased 2 x spa days from Groupon for an amazing price. Myself and 3 friends arrived and warmly welcomed for coffee in a lovely lounge area. The staff were very attentive. During our treatments (which were all included) it was so relaxing. Again the staff were so good. Lunch was also included from an extensive menu to include champagne. Easily as good as any 5star hotel. We all left around 5pm feeling very relaxed and thoroughly raving about the quality of the service and treatment we had. I will definitely be booking again. Thank you Connaught and all your staff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandaHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Glad you all enjoyed the experience Wandal - thank you very much for your "Brilliant" review and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing