We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,075)
Filter reviews
3,075 results
Traveller rating
1,979
797
210
56
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,979
797
210
56
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblakes restaurantorchid suitespa facilitieslovely hotelexecutive roomthe main hotelswimming poolsteam room and saunabreakfast was excellenttown centreshort breakcar parkwest cliffrestaurant managerenjoyable staythird floorbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
1,971 - 1,976 of 3,075 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good points :
*clean
*happy, friendly staff
*close to beach and town
*reasonably priced
*spacious room and modern bathroom

Bad points:
*paid for a superior double room not happy that it was two single beds pushed together!!
*average breakfast (don't expect a hot full English as it is buffet style and was probably sat out for 30mins)
*car park is quite tight, but it is free

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LorraineW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Many thanks for your review Lorraine and for mentioning all our good points which go a long way to making us the No1 hotel in Bournemouth!! I'm sorry you didn't like the bed but most hotels these days use zip and link beds which are specially designed to be used as either doubles or twins - most certainly not two beds pushed together!! Another good point must be the free car parking albeit a little on the tight side. We are a very busy hotel so the hot breakfast items are refreshed frequently and not normally an issue - but please note that we are always happy to change anything that is not to your liking for any reason.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have just returned from a stay at The Connaught, and the overall feeling is one of disappointment. We booked a superior room but this was quite small and far to HOT had to sleep with the patio door fully open, even with the heating switch down…the hotel was far to hot and stuffy. Noise from adjoining rooms also a problem, you can hear people walking around their room.
Staff and spa we good, but the breakfast was poor (they expect you to pay extra for good coffee!). Will look elsewhere if in Bournemouth again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Macjon, thank you for your review and please accept my apology for your poor experience, especially the warm room. Just to clarify, our superior rooms, as per our website, are of two kinds: top floor, smaller but with your own private balcony and larger throughout the rest of the hotel but with no balcony. Sorry about the speciality coffee but breakfast in the hotel includes unlimited breakfast tea and coffee only - if we were to increase the price to include for speciality coffees guests who don't want it end up subsidisng those who do!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a great weekend, location good and loved Blakes for both dinner and breakfast. Not enough car parking spaces but there was a car park 2 mins walk away. Will be booking to stay again!! The hotel was great for shopping - less than 10 minutes walk (the hill was a challenge with all the shopping bags on the way back!!! .

Room Tip: Standard room was great
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danharness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your "Fantastic" 5 star review of our hotel Dan - very much appreciated by one and all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed recently with my family, and it was truly memorable. I've never experienced such a completely committed, happy and professional team of staff lead by Paul, the manager. He went out of his way to assist with local knowledge of the area and going the extra mile to assist.

The pool and spa facilities were an added welcome bonus.
The only downside were bathrooms/ shower rooms are slightly on the small side but all else was faultless.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janclem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

What a "wonderful" review, Janclem, thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews