We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and calm”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We only stayed one night .... but it was really worth it. Very friendly welcome. The receptionist was very smiley and helpful. Told us everything without overloading us! The room was amazing, very clean and the beds very comfortable. Great shower, not one that drips out! The staff dining room staff were also friendly and helpful. We will stay again, but for longer next time. Excellent place to be calm and wind down. Not far from town either :-)

Room Tip: Floor 2 room 26 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We do our best Charlie!! Thank you for your fabulous, 5 star review and hopefully we will see you again in the New Year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    704
    181
    50
    28
See reviews for
393
1,538
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I stayed at The Connaught Hotel back in June for one night and would definitely recommend! I chose this hotel because of it's fantastic ratings and wasn't disappointed! I wanted to get the most out of my one night stay so I booked the Executive room. The room itself was huge, with a great view, a large, comfortable bed and a flat screen television, but I was most impressed with the massive bathroom and big jacuzzi bath. Reception area was beautiful and modern and staff seemed very helpful and polite. Used the spa and very much enjoyed it and was impressed with the breakfast. The hotels location is great, within walking distance of the beach, and many nice restaurants. The only problems we came across were very tight parking in the hotel car park, which wasn't a massive issue. Also had some noisy neighbours in the early hours of the morning, however this was no fault of the hotel and when we asked staff if there was anything they could do they were very helpful and attended to the issue straight away. Only regret is that I didn't stay for longer, would most definitely go back!

Room Tip: The Executive room will obviously be more expensive, but in my opinion was definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your fabulous review Chloe, it sounds as though you had a great stay!! Do come and see us again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good points :
*clean
*happy, friendly staff
*close to beach and town
*reasonably priced
*spacious room and modern bathroom

Bad points:
*paid for a superior double room not happy that it was two single beds pushed together!!
*average breakfast (don't expect a hot full English as it is buffet style and was probably sat out for 30mins)
*car park is quite tight, but it is free

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineW87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Many thanks for your review Lorraine and for mentioning all our good points which go a long way to making us the No1 hotel in Bournemouth!! I'm sorry you didn't like the bed but most hotels these days use zip and link beds which are specially designed to be used as either doubles or twins - most certainly not two beds pushed together!! Another good point must be the free car parking albeit a little on the tight side. We are a very busy hotel so the hot breakfast items are refreshed frequently and not normally an issue - but please note that we are always happy to change anything that is not to your liking for any reason.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have just returned from a stay at The Connaught, and the overall feeling is one of disappointment. We booked a superior room but this was quite small and far to HOT had to sleep with the patio door fully open, even with the heating switch down…the hotel was far to hot and stuffy. Noise from adjoining rooms also a problem, you can hear people walking around their room.
Staff and spa we good, but the breakfast was poor (they expect you to pay extra for good coffee!). Will look elsewhere if in Bournemouth again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Macjon, thank you for your review and please accept my apology for your poor experience, especially the warm room. Just to clarify, our superior rooms, as per our website, are of two kinds: top floor, smaller but with your own private balcony and larger throughout the rest of the hotel but with no balcony. Sorry about the speciality coffee but breakfast in the hotel includes unlimited breakfast tea and coffee only - if we were to increase the price to include for speciality coffees guests who don't want it end up subsidisng those who do!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a great weekend, location good and loved Blakes for both dinner and breakfast. Not enough car parking spaces but there was a car park 2 mins walk away. Will be booking to stay again!! The hotel was great for shopping - less than 10 minutes walk (the hill was a challenge with all the shopping bags on the way back!!! .

Room Tip: Standard room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danharness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your "Fantastic" 5 star review of our hotel Dan - very much appreciated by one and all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed recently with my family, and it was truly memorable. I've never experienced such a completely committed, happy and professional team of staff lead by Paul, the manager. He went out of his way to assist with local knowledge of the area and going the extra mile to assist.

The pool and spa facilities were an added welcome bonus.
The only downside were bathrooms/ shower rooms are slightly on the small side but all else was faultless.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janclem2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
What a "wonderful" review, Janclem, thank you very much indeed.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing