We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Extremely helpful and friendly staff with comfortable rooms. Dinner in Blake's restaurant in the hotel was excellent & the staff were superb; we were surprised to see some of them back in the morning for breakfast service which again was very good. The only fault is that the car park is small and the car park spaces are very tight.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0la_Pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you very much Nicola for your lovely review. We do have a great team in the restaurant who work very hard and they are always really pleased to get a mention so thank you on their behalf. Im afraid that car parking is an issue throughout the centre of Bournemouth but unlike most hotels the good news is we do have 66 spaces and they are free!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    694
    175
    47
    25
See reviews for
385
1,512
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have recently returned from a long weekend at the Connaught and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff from our greeting at the Reception to the staff at breakfast were excellent. We did not eat in the restaurant, but breakfast was lovely with a good variety. The rooms, although not huge, were very clean with full complimentary tea and coffee.
We used the spa facilities every day which were well kept and relaxing.

Overall, an excellent choice for a short weekend break in a good central position.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you very much for your "Excellent" review Karen - glad you enjoyed your weekend with us.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed on a quite night in November, I have not stayed here for some time but was not disappointed, very nice welcome from reception, and nice room with very comfy bed.
Breakfast was very nice with gluten free bread supplied.
The only downsides are that some of the corridors areas are looking a bit tired.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerremys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Many thanks Gerremys for your "Great" review. The halls, stairs and landings are being worked on as we speak - we are currently on the first floor which is why you probably didn't notice the decorators!! It should all be done by the time you return.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Anne and I have recently returned from our fourth 5/6 nights holiday visits to The Connaught Hotel. Simply a privilege and pleasure being a guest. The very high standard, which has been maintained by all members of staff, has prompted us to already make arrangements to return twice again in 2014. Please read my previous Reviews dated May/November 2012, and those I have written regarding Blakes Restaurant which is located within the Hotel.

Room Tip: The Reception Staff, who are very helpful, will advise you in this connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Always at your service Michael. Thank you very much for your lovely review and also for the review that you posted on TripAdvisor for our award-winning restaurant, Blakes. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights the reception area very modern and the staff on arrival very professional, the room was a superior room, but I feel superior was not the right word, Having stayed a couple of times in a travel lodge the room was of similar quality, the room was very hot and we had to have the windows open during the night the solution to this problem was to use the fan stored in the wardrobe, defeats the object of having silence when you are trying to sleep. We were asked if we would like to change rooms, however looked at the proposed room it was in the same area just a few rooms down which would have made no difference to the room we were already in, so we declined the offer, A small fountain in the courtyard below kept me awake the sound of water echoing in a yard is very annoying at night, however after asking the reception if this could be silenced at night they quickly accommodated the request. The mattress was past its best and very uncomfortable, The breakfast was typically English, the mushrooms from a tin, the bread must be the cheapest quality available, no bread rolls, which I heard being asked for on more than one occasion by others.

If you didn't want to use the Restaurant to eat on an evening, you could eat from a bar menu, however the seating area made you feel you were sitting in the middle of a dance floor, no atmosphere at all, the food was over cooked, and bland. We had one meal in Bake's restaurant very nice staff and very professional, but the portions were a bit on the small side for the price but the food was good. Pool and spa were good but in need of some attention in certain areas.

I have no complaints regarding the staff and service they were all very professional, small points like the bread, the eating area in the bar, and food in general should be addressed otherwise what's the point of making these reviews.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Not quite sure why you have written the same review as your partner "Bougainville" - entitled "Disappointed", Anthony - your feelings were well documented the first time around!!

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves whilst visiting Bournemouth for our daughter's graduation last week.

I cannot remember having received such a warm and friendly greeting from hotel staff, ever. And that friendly, courteous approach extended to every member of staff we met during our two night stay.

I agree with other reviewers that the rooms were too hot; we couldn't understand it as the radiators were switched off. We had to open the windows but it didn't affect our sleep as it's a fairly quiet area.

We had room service on the first night which was excellent; a meal in the afternoon in the brasserie which was also good although the 3-times cooked chips were more like potato wedges and not particularly special. We also dined in Blakes in the evening and that was amazing - Nicky and his team work as a team and you don't often see that. Fab food and service.

Breakfast was good to excellent although it would have been nice to see a bigger selection of prepared fruit, I think. Plenty of fruit in the fruit bowl. Poached or boiled eggs available on request - in fact, just ask and you'll probably get it.

Our room (33) was an excellent size although we had to do quite a bit of furniture shuffling as you couldn't see the TV from bed if the dressing table chair was left in situ. Great bed and bedding and plenty of sockets.

Very small bathroom, especially given the size of the room. Shower over bath was fine but bath was narrow. Everything was spotless.

So why not 5*; well, sadly, I felt the spa area let everything down. There was no-one on reception when we arrived and, not knowing the rules, we thought we could get towels from the changing room; we couldn't. The changing rooms are a huge let down. The toilets are separate as in they're down the corridor and that's where the broken spin dryer was. In our room we had lovely soap and body moisturiser provided; in the spa it was rather cheap and nasty.

When I returned, dripping, to reception to get towels, there was still no-one there. I rang the bell several times and waited - nothing. So I knocked on the door as I'd heard voices and was told that someone had taken the buzzer home (er why?) and, if this is so, why wasn't there a notice to say so?

When we left the spa, you're supposed to put your towels in an inaccessible basket behind the spiral staircase - who thought of that?

We didn't have any spa treatments but understood from others that they were terrific.

The pool, spa pool, steam room and sauna are lovely but only one shower by the pool was working.

Having said all of this about the spa in general; we would absolutely recommend this hotel and we had a great time. Get the spa area and staff up to scratch and you'll get 5* from me.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ecobarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your "Wonderful" review Ecobarts and also for the review that you posted about Blakes, our award-winning restaurant!! The changing rooms in the Spa are on our to do list and the refurbishment of this area is scheduled for the beginning of the New Year - apologies about having trouble finding the attendant and your comments have been brought to her attention. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and we look forward to the pleasure of your company in 2014.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We only stayed one night .... but it was really worth it. Very friendly welcome. The receptionist was very smiley and helpful. Told us everything without overloading us! The room was amazing, very clean and the beds very comfortable. Great shower, not one that drips out! The staff dining room staff were also friendly and helpful. We will stay again, but for longer next time. Excellent place to be calm and wind down. Not far from town either :-)

Room Tip: Floor 2 room 26 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
We do our best Charlie!! Thank you for your fabulous, 5 star review and hopefully we will see you again in the New Year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get exactly the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,335 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing