We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Since our last visit The Connaught has been redecorated and although not quite finished it gave the place a whole new feel. Most of the staff still remain, but once again I must offer particular thanks to Nicky the maître d.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Many thanks for the 5 star review James and a special thank you from Nicky.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,883)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,754 - 1,760 of 2,883 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the BW The Connaught with a colleague and found the location to be perfect for both the town and also sea front area (bit cold at this time of the year however. . . ).

Upon arrival, desk staff are very friendly and accommodating which was the same as the breakfast hall team who go about their business quietly and efficiently. Room was a little small, but well appointed with all the amenities that you need so a minor detraction from my stay. Whilst staying at the hotel, refurbishments were taking place which resulted in a few walls missing decoration, but there were signs advising of the updates taking place so again, of minor concern in the scheme of things.

In summary, if i were to stay in Bournemouth again, i would certainly check the price point for this hotel before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thanks for the "Comfortable Stay" review Red and we look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had a wonderful anniversary here
The staff were all friendly and helpful
The room of a very high standard
Nice touches : bathrobe and slippers
Amazing massage in the spa
Would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We all love these special events and it was really lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yours, thank you.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect - now AA 4star Hotel - just promoted!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the BW The Connaught with a colleague and found the location to be perfect for both the town and also sea front area (bit cold at this time of the year however. . . ). Upon arrival, desk staff are very friendly and accommodating which was the same as the breakfast hall team who go about their business quietly and efficiently. Room was a little small, but well appointed with all the amenities that you need so a minor detraction from my stay. Whilst staying at the hotel, refurbishments were taking place which resulted in a few walls missing decoration, but there were signs advising of the updates taking place so again, of minor concern in the scheme of things. In summary, if i were to stay in Bournemouth again, i would certainly check the price point for this hotel before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for being so understanding about the decorations Clive (nearly finished and looking great) and truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay. GOOD NEWS - we have now been awarded 4 Stars by the AA so all our hard work has now paid off!! Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

For the last three years we have had our works Christmas meal at this establishment. The hotel is situated approximately 5 minuets walk from the beach in one direction and the same from the city centre in the other direction. It has easy access from the main road and ample parking for guests. The bluewater health spar offers several treatments for both men and women, or you can exercise in the gym or the swimming pool, relax in the spar pool sauna or steam room. The rooms are spacious with on suite shower or bathroom. The Resturant is well worth a visit, the food is exquisite, a lot locally sourced. But what really sets this hotel apart is the staff, at all levels, nothing is too much trouble. Friendly polite and courteous at all times. No wonder it has just won a fourth star!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bognorboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Brilliant review Bognorboy, thank you very much. See you nest year again!!

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here at the end of November 2013. Room on the second floor. Nice and quiet, view of the garden area.
Room was very nice, coffee and tea, hair drier, spacious shower and the most comfortable bed I have slept in. Bottled water in the room on arrival. Nice big windows.

Breakfast was great, all the choices and plenty to go round. Restaurant and bar areas are comfortable and clean. There is work going on in the hotel and the renovations to date are impressive.

The hotel is open all year round so the work has to be done at some stage and it is sensible to do it in the quieter months. There was work being done in the room next to us on Monday morning. The workmen were polite and discreet while at work.

I am not a Best Western fan, my worst experience being a Best Western hotel in Holland, but I could recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again.

The staff are making a big effort to ensure everyone feels welcome and valued as a guest.

Room Tip: Have only stayed on the second floor. This was OK. Take the stairs at busy times as the lift is on t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwisnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay Kiwisnest and even more delighted that we have managed to restore your faith in Best Western - thank you so much for your superb review.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

excellent hotel another first class stay at his hotel. would not use any other hotel in Bournemouth. All staff 1st class , and makes your stay a pleasure. This hotel has a very nice pool area, with sauna, steam room and spa pool. making a nice refreshing time. all hotel staff are excellent, and could not find fault with anything, I will deffinately be staying at this hotel again, and would recommend to all who are thinking of visiting Bournemouth

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank kemaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Good to see you back again Kema and thank you for your fabulous review.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 10 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!
Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure that you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,522 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £77 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing