We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK, Kent
2 reviews
“Good hotel”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good hotel.

Smallish car park but as arrived at 1pm for 3pm check in, did park no problem. In the morning my car was blocked in due to double parking, went to reception and they had the car keys and was moved by a member of staff straight away. I thought a good way to handle a car park when full.

10 minute walk to BICC.

Spa/pool very good and you are given towels at the Spa reception so no need to bring your own. Pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna room.

Breakfast fine, as expected. Very friendly staff.

Was a bit noisy on the Saturday night as parties but music was turned off at midnight. I would be wary if a light sleeper, maybe check before booking if events on.

Room tidy, clean, shower (no bath), TV, coffee/tea facilities.

I would add not the kind of place to have stag parties.

All in all, a very good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at front over look bar/events room so best avoid unless going to a party/wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesotkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your "Good Hotel" review James and pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. December in Bournemouth is Christmas party month so restaurants and hotels in particular are busy at weekends - just to confirm your point we do not entertain stag and hen parties.

Best wishes for Christmas and 2014

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 8 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    704
    181
    50
    28
See reviews for
393
1,538
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What a lovely surprise after the 'vintage' hotel a couple of weeks ago. Although in the middle of refurbishment of the upper floors, the entrance,reception, restaurant and brasserie were smart and spacious and boutique style. Loved the tasteful Christmas decorations. We had a warm welcome from the reception staff and were contacted a few minutes after going to our room to check everything was OK. We ate in the brasserie,having been served by a pleasant young man who made just enough conversation to be friendly but not too much to be intrusive. We had Pizza which was competitively priced before walking to a concert at the BIC. It was nice to be able to leave the car behind in the hotel Car Park. Breakfast was also a pleasant experience. Although a buffet it was nice to be served the individual items of the English breakfast, which meant that the beans dont spread into all the other dishes!!!
One good idea that other hotels could learn from was the maintenance sheet in the room which allows you to report any faults as they occur. We really enjoyed this Best Western experience and would stay again if we come to Bournemouth and need to stay overnight

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littleval57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
What a lovely detalied review Littleval, thank you.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Since our last visit The Connaught has been redecorated and although not quite finished it gave the place a whole new feel. Most of the staff still remain, but once again I must offer particular thanks to Nicky the maître d.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Many thanks for the 5 star review James and a special thank you from Nicky.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed at the BW The Connaught with a colleague and found the location to be perfect for both the town and also sea front area (bit cold at this time of the year however. . . ).

Upon arrival, desk staff are very friendly and accommodating which was the same as the breakfast hall team who go about their business quietly and efficiently. Room was a little small, but well appointed with all the amenities that you need so a minor detraction from my stay. Whilst staying at the hotel, refurbishments were taking place which resulted in a few walls missing decoration, but there were signs advising of the updates taking place so again, of minor concern in the scheme of things.

In summary, if i were to stay in Bournemouth again, i would certainly check the price point for this hotel before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thanks for the "Comfortable Stay" review Red and we look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Had a wonderful anniversary here
The staff were all friendly and helpful
The room of a very high standard
Nice touches : bathrobe and slippers
Amazing massage in the spa
Would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We all love these special events and it was really lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yours, thank you.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect - now AA 4star Hotel - just promoted!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed at the BW The Connaught with a colleague and found the location to be perfect for both the town and also sea front area (bit cold at this time of the year however. . . ). Upon arrival, desk staff are very friendly and accommodating which was the same as the breakfast hall team who go about their business quietly and efficiently. Room was a little small, but well appointed with all the amenities that you need so a minor detraction from my stay. Whilst staying at the hotel, refurbishments were taking place which resulted in a few walls missing decoration, but there were signs advising of the updates taking place so again, of minor concern in the scheme of things. In summary, if i were to stay in Bournemouth again, i would certainly check the price point for this hotel before booking anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for being so understanding about the decorations Clive (nearly finished and looking great) and truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay. GOOD NEWS - we have now been awarded 4 Stars by the AA so all our hard work has now paid off!! Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you in 2014.

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

For the last three years we have had our works Christmas meal at this establishment. The hotel is situated approximately 5 minuets walk from the beach in one direction and the same from the city centre in the other direction. It has easy access from the main road and ample parking for guests. The bluewater health spar offers several treatments for both men and women, or you can exercise in the gym or the swimming pool, relax in the spar pool sauna or steam room. The rooms are spacious with on suite shower or bathroom. The Resturant is well worth a visit, the food is exquisite, a lot locally sourced. But what really sets this hotel apart is the staff, at all levels, nothing is too much trouble. Friendly polite and courteous at all times. No wonder it has just won a fourth star!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Bognorboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Brilliant review Bognorboy, thank you very much. See you nest year again!!

Best wishes for Christmas and the New Year

David F Miller
Managing Director

Just 9 Rooms left for the New Year celebrations - Christmas is sold out, sorry!!

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and facilities that you want and rightly expect..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
436 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing