We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Been staying in the hotel on a regular basis since the mid eighties and the standards remain A1. Great food, nice decor, helpful staff, tasteful rooms and a super nice owner. Keep up the good work and the hotel will continue to go from strength to strength. Highly recommend for either a business or pleasure stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

You will have seen a great deal of changes over the years Philip; please do say hello next time you are staying. Thank you very much for the "Super Hotel" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,815 - 1,821 of 2,986 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

Christmas in an hotel was a new experience for us and we selected The Connaught. What did we find?

Location: Excellent being just 350 yds from the top of West Cliff (wonderful panoramic coastal views), the "Zig Zag" (scenic walk) the lift down to the beach and a gentle 10 minute walk to the Pavilion and Gardens. In the opposite direction a 10 minute walk via St Michaels Road will see you at M&S and a little further the principle retail centre of town.

The Property: Set in a large garden corner plot with loads of parking the Connaught comprises two mature units; the main facility and reception and with additional accommodation in a separate annexe. Our room was on the first floor of the main building. I thought the main public rooms a little dated although comfortable and with plenty of natural light.. Access to bedrooms was via a narrow'ish stairway but a small lift was also available. The fitness suite is brilliant with a great pool (note for mums and dads - the bottom slopes rapidly so watch out for children) steam room, sauna etc.

Staff: Without exception, from arrival to departure, they could not do enough for us. Always smiling and friendly but without sacrificing professionalism. We were offered assistance with luggage both coming and going and the programme for our three nights ran seamlessly

Our Room: Small but with all the essentials. Flat screen, radio, dryer, complimentary tea & coffee
and a nice surprise touch the Christmas gift of a box of scented candles. The bed was ok but had a spring mattress rather than the increasingly common memory foam or topper. The en-suite while bright and clean, however, was really too small for an extended stay (think one step up from cross channel ferry) or people of a larger build! That said I have no doubt that had we asked we would have been moved and I say that because we had an e-mail before arrival from the MD who invited us to alert him to any problems with the room. This was followed up by a telephone call from reception once we had checked in. I suspect that the hotel knows this will not suit everyone. The room was always well serviced.

Dining: In a word faultless. I understood the kitchen was catering for 140 covers and they managed this with great aplomb. The service was slick and the food well prepared and presented. Sadly, I can't comment on the Grand Christmas day Gala Buffet Dinner (I'm sure it was superb) because I simply had no room for further food at this early stage. It was like an eating marathon! One very slight niggle was that we were unable to obtain our favourite gin (Gordons) so we had to "make do" with Bombay Saphire.

I'm sure there are swankier and smarter Bournemouth hotels but the Connaught offering overall is very decent. Would we go again? Probably not but that's less to do with the Connaught and more with a preference for smaller more intimate gatherings. But hey, Ho Ho Ho Merry Christmas, well done the Connaught.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Happy new year Roger and thank you very much for your very comprehensive review of the hotel and your stay over Christmas. I have posed the question about Gordon's Gin so the chances are it will be on the list very soon. The kitchen was absolutely thrilled to read your highly complimentary comments - thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wow... Walking into reception was amazing, décor is tasteful & beautiful. I brought my mum & I a voucher off group on for the blue water spa which is downstairs of the hotel.... what a fab present :)
everything was wonderful, Staff, Hotel, restaurant Pool, Gym, literally everything!!!!!

Will definitely be back as booking the winter spa package for Feb and I cant wait...!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henny16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Wow Henny, what a fantastic review - so glad you enjoyed your day and we look forward to seeing you again in February. Thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Another fantastic family christmas,David and all his staff made us all feel special. Our children are so well looked after and look forward to returning. We have already booked for next Christmas. A very happy Flitton family!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks Paige and my best wishes to all the Flittons - it was a pleasure having you here and it's lovely to know you'll be joining us again next Christmas - we're filling up already!! A very happy new year to you all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas stay at the Connaught Hotel. It was our second Christmas at the hotel and it lived up to our expectations and more. The Connaught Hotel is an extremely well run hotel with efficiency being the byword. The cuisine was top-notch and the memorable Christmas Day evening buffet was simply magnificent. Festivities were thoughtfully planned, well organised and catered for all age groups. The Connaught manages to keep it's identity as a privately run hotel which is mirrored through excellent staff and management. We highly recommend spending Christmas at the hotel and we have already booked for next Christmas. A huge thank you to one and all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

What a lovely review Janet, thank you so much and I hope you make it a third this year. Chrismas seems like a long time ago now!! Happy new year to you and your family.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a great Chrustmas at the Connaught. It was our first time there but clearly many people had been before and were known to the staff by name - we would definitely go again and are planning a stay in the summer. Our rooms, and the hotel in general, was very comfortable and it felt very festive not only due to the decorations but also the warm welcome of all the staff. The food was of a very high standard and the boxing day buffet was one of the best we've ever had. It was an exceptional spread and even had rollmops! A favourite of mine. One of our party is on a gluten free diet and was well catered for. The staff made sure that his meals were Ok and he still had virtually the same menu as us. One last mention has to be for the afternoon teas - first rate. I stuck to the scones and clotted cream but lots of cake to choose from - just as well I danced some calories off at their very enjoyable disco which was on every night. Thanks to everyone at the Connaught for making it a great Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan_edwards2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Happy new year Susan and really pleased to read your first Christmas with us was such a great, all round success - thank you. One of the nice things about Christmas at the Connaught is the number of repeat guests who come back year after year and who contribute enormously to the fantastic atmosphere. We are already over 50% full for our next Christmas which is a record. We look forward to seeing you in the summer and perhaps next Christmas??

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ( my wife and I plus two good friends) had an unusual weekend at the Connaught Hotel, Bournemouth. Our stay occured during the storm weather which hit the south and west coasts at the start of the year. However although we did venture out we spent much of the late afternoons at the hotel using the swimming pool, sauna and steam rooms. It was ideal preparation for our dinner.
On arrival we were pleased to find we had been upgraded to Executive rooms, as it seemed some minor decoration work was being carried out. The room was well appointed and large, the bathroom even had its own jacuzzi ! The restaurant (Blakes) provided good service and excellent choices on the menu. Breakfast time was the usual buffet help yourself style although perhaps some additional and different pastries would not have gone amiss. The full English provided was however more than plentiful.
The staff in all departments, from reception, dining areas and cleaning were all efficient, helpful and competent in their jobs. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending the Connaught Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Happy new year goonergang and thank you for your "Enjoyable Weekend" review. There is certainly quite a lot to do at the Connaught if the weather is as bad as it was - glad you were able to take full advantage of our facilities. Pastries have now been sorted and fresh fruit salad has been added to the menu - hope to see you all again soon!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
959 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
828 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £68 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing