We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Visited for two day new year celebration with family. Excellent few days. Gala dinner superb. Hotel staff could not be more accommodating. Hotel accommodation really good. Restaurant excellent, with excellent service and obviously a first class chef. Visited last three years for new year and each year it gets better. The hotel deserves its additional star rating to a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you very much for your 5 star review and tip top recommendation Christopher - hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,772 - 1,778 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

I felt so welcome when entering the reception area. A lovely atmosphere with helpful staff. My wife, Morag and I settled quickly having coffee in the Brassier before we went upstairs to our bedroom. My first impression was that the room was spacious and tempting! Breakfast (two nights) was outstanding. Had dinner at The Blakes, again outstanding. Morag and I will definitely come back when I have another opportunity on my business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks for the "Excellent" review and the compliments Hamish - flattery will get you everywhere!! Hope to see you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Been staying in the hotel on a regular basis since the mid eighties and the standards remain A1. Great food, nice decor, helpful staff, tasteful rooms and a super nice owner. Keep up the good work and the hotel will continue to go from strength to strength. Highly recommend for either a business or pleasure stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

You will have seen a great deal of changes over the years Philip; please do say hello next time you are staying. Thank you very much for the "Super Hotel" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Christmas in an hotel was a new experience for us and we selected The Connaught. What did we find?

Location: Excellent being just 350 yds from the top of West Cliff (wonderful panoramic coastal views), the "Zig Zag" (scenic walk) the lift down to the beach and a gentle 10 minute walk to the Pavilion and Gardens. In the opposite direction a 10 minute walk via St Michaels Road will see you at M&S and a little further the principle retail centre of town.

The Property: Set in a large garden corner plot with loads of parking the Connaught comprises two mature units; the main facility and reception and with additional accommodation in a separate annexe. Our room was on the first floor of the main building. I thought the main public rooms a little dated although comfortable and with plenty of natural light.. Access to bedrooms was via a narrow'ish stairway but a small lift was also available. The fitness suite is brilliant with a great pool (note for mums and dads - the bottom slopes rapidly so watch out for children) steam room, sauna etc.

Staff: Without exception, from arrival to departure, they could not do enough for us. Always smiling and friendly but without sacrificing professionalism. We were offered assistance with luggage both coming and going and the programme for our three nights ran seamlessly

Our Room: Small but with all the essentials. Flat screen, radio, dryer, complimentary tea & coffee
and a nice surprise touch the Christmas gift of a box of scented candles. The bed was ok but had a spring mattress rather than the increasingly common memory foam or topper. The en-suite while bright and clean, however, was really too small for an extended stay (think one step up from cross channel ferry) or people of a larger build! That said I have no doubt that had we asked we would have been moved and I say that because we had an e-mail before arrival from the MD who invited us to alert him to any problems with the room. This was followed up by a telephone call from reception once we had checked in. I suspect that the hotel knows this will not suit everyone. The room was always well serviced.

Dining: In a word faultless. I understood the kitchen was catering for 140 covers and they managed this with great aplomb. The service was slick and the food well prepared and presented. Sadly, I can't comment on the Grand Christmas day Gala Buffet Dinner (I'm sure it was superb) because I simply had no room for further food at this early stage. It was like an eating marathon! One very slight niggle was that we were unable to obtain our favourite gin (Gordons) so we had to "make do" with Bombay Saphire.

I'm sure there are swankier and smarter Bournemouth hotels but the Connaught offering overall is very decent. Would we go again? Probably not but that's less to do with the Connaught and more with a preference for smaller more intimate gatherings. But hey, Ho Ho Ho Merry Christmas, well done the Connaught.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Happy new year Roger and thank you very much for your very comprehensive review of the hotel and your stay over Christmas. I have posed the question about Gordon's Gin so the chances are it will be on the list very soon. The kitchen was absolutely thrilled to read your highly complimentary comments - thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wow... Walking into reception was amazing, décor is tasteful & beautiful. I brought my mum & I a voucher off group on for the blue water spa which is downstairs of the hotel.... what a fab present :)
everything was wonderful, Staff, Hotel, restaurant Pool, Gym, literally everything!!!!!

Will definitely be back as booking the winter spa package for Feb and I cant wait...!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henny16h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Wow Henny, what a fantastic review - so glad you enjoyed your day and we look forward to seeing you again in February. Thank you very much.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Another fantastic family christmas,David and all his staff made us all feel special. Our children are so well looked after and look forward to returning. We have already booked for next Christmas. A very happy Flitton family!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Many thanks Paige and my best wishes to all the Flittons - it was a pleasure having you here and it's lovely to know you'll be joining us again next Christmas - we're filling up already!! A very happy new year to you all.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our Christmas stay at the Connaught Hotel. It was our second Christmas at the hotel and it lived up to our expectations and more. The Connaught Hotel is an extremely well run hotel with efficiency being the byword. The cuisine was top-notch and the memorable Christmas Day evening buffet was simply magnificent. Festivities were thoughtfully planned, well organised and catered for all age groups. The Connaught manages to keep it's identity as a privately run hotel which is mirrored through excellent staff and management. We highly recommend spending Christmas at the hotel and we have already booked for next Christmas. A huge thank you to one and all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

What a lovely review Janet, thank you so much and I hope you make it a third this year. Chrismas seems like a long time ago now!! Happy new year to you and your family.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it ensures you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. - great news, just awarded AA 4 star rating!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
934 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#1 of 67 in Bournemouth
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £68 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing