We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our short break”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The connaught hotel is the best Best Western hotel we have stayed at. We ate in the bar both nights and the menu was good and served by friendly and charming staff.. Reception staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble. Good night sleeps bed comfortable . Lovely pool and gym , Breakfast all you could eat and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Sounds as though we ticked all your boxes Alison - thank you very much for your 5 star review. I hope we get to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    726
    186
    53
    29
See reviews for
403
1,581
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked this on a combined business / family holiday visit to the area. Paid extra to get two "superior" rooms close together (staying with children in another room). Had to have two goes at booking as the first person ~I got through to obviously did not have English as a first language (struggled to understand my requirements) and equally obviously did not know the hotel very well. Booked this hotel particularly as it is only 2 minutes from the beach.

Initial impressions are that the car park is very cramped but the reception area is very pleasant and well appointed. The superior rooms allocated were on the top floor. The rooms themselves were good but the bathroom in our double room was rather cramped. Both rooms had shower only which was a bit disappointing. Cleanliness was very good however and there was an ample supply of tea and coffee. The only really good thing about a superior room seems to be the small balcony provided.

We had an evening meal in the bar, which was a little pricey for what it was but at least the quality was good and the service very good. Breakfast in the restaurant is also pretty good with high level of service.

Now the real bad part! There is no noise insullation between the "superior" rooms. You can not only heat the conversation, you could probably join in without raising your voice to any great degree. There are also the selection of creaky floorboards which crack and groan at every step (yes I do mean crack as in like a gunshot). On the first night we got a couple next door who decided to wander round the room at 0200 for about 40 minutes - to a cacophony of groaning floorboards a couple of feet from my ear. The second night we had a semi-drunk older couple who decided to invite a friend in and play some card games until midnight. Then there is the power shower which sounds like someone has started a hammer drill in the wall next door. Great fun when this cranks up at midnight.

The spa is ok but populated by older people lazing about and not very tolerant of children. There was insufficient space to put out or hang towels etc near the pool.

Summary: The staff, food and rooms are generally good but, on balance, the level of noise in the rooms spoiled the trip for me. I would probably stay elsewhere next time and forego the posh rooms for a quiet hotel, especially if travelling alone. The Connaught needs to pay more attention to reducing noise to get a better score.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for a "superior" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drooper901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a very comprehensive review Drooper, thank you very much. My apologies about the noise in your room which is being looked into as I write this response. Our car park is bigger than 90% of the hotels in Bournemouth and given that we are in the centre of Bournemouth 66 spaces is a blessing and, unlike some, they are free!! Our superior rooms on the top floor are as described below - smaller but with the added benefit of the balcony and hugely popular, especially in the summer. I was a little surprised at the comment about the price of the food in the Brasserie which is really very competitive with other hotels of a similar standing but, as you said it is "good quality and very good service" and you don't have to brave the inclement weather. Spa areas are the same the world over and during half term there is usually a heavy demand from children to use the pool giving rise to a clash of ages!! If you ever decide to return to our hotel do try the superior rooms on the lower floors - larger and more in tune with your requirements.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel very beautifully decorated in stylish colours.
On the top floor with a room with a balcony. Bed very comfortable as was the room. No noise heard at all. Was surprised at breakfast to find so many people as we thought that we were the only one there. Breakfast was exceptional. Although it was a buffet type, the cooked section was served for you from hot tureens.

Only critisimum was that the spa was completely booked for the two days that we were there.

So ladies if you want a facial - then book before you go.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liz e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks Liz for your lovely review - apologies about the spa being fully booked but we do advise guests very strongly that reservations should be made at the same time as the hotel reservation is made. Do drop me a line the next time you intend to visit and I will make sure you get the treatments you would like.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Visited for a girls weekend with my mum and sisters. If you are coming to Bournemouth I recommend you stay here. The staff were always helpful and attentive. The breakfast was beautiful. The spa area was ideal. The rooms were comfortable and inviting.

This is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your "Wonderful Hotel" review Lynette. We are currently updating the changing rooms in the spa area and they will be rather splendid when done - hopefully on your next visit you'll enjoy the facilities even more. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend took me here for our first valentines day it was lovely, great location, lovely pool facilities clean room, staff very friendly. Loved the all you cane at breakfast with lots of variety and they even provided gluten free bread! Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chl0b0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
What a lovely way to spend your first Valentine's day Chlo - delighted it was such a success and many thank for the fabulous review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Booked a Saturday night stay in the Rose Suite for £150 B&B. We normally stay at another hotel but it was full and I was dubious about this place, having looked at the photos online, which made it looked dated, and because it was a Best Western. However, we were pleasantly surprised on arrival to find that the hotel has been completely refurbished and recently gained a 4th star (which needs to be updated on the dated sign outside!). The communal areas are really stunning and the Rose Suite itself was lovely - nothing grand or ostentatious, but spotlessly clean with a small separate lounge area and brand new bathroom. Car parking is free and plentiful. The hotel is set back from the sea front slightly but only a few mins walk, and the area is very quiet and peaceful, which was great. The only down side was that the mattress seemed a bit past it - the springs had gone in a few places, making it uncomfortable and a bit noisy with the slightest movement; maybe the hotel will consider upgrading the beds as part of its refurbishment process. The leisure facilities were excellent: a lovely pool, a large jacuzzi, a great sauna and a beautiful tiled steam room. We were warmly welcomed by a friendly young guy who showed us around. Some families allowed their young children into the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, despite the staff asking them not to; perhaps this needs to be more closely monitored. Bath robes and slippers were provided in our room, which was a major plus point for us. We had a delicious 3-course dinner in the hotel's restaurant, which was great value. The restaurant manager was a delight and we were served attentively by Emmanuel. Breakfast was equally good the following morning. Overall, a really pleasurable experience - we stayed in 3 Bournemouth hotels this weekend and this was by far the best! We will definitely be back. Please get the cheap Best Western branding changed out the front to better reflect the standard of the hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DEA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
And what a lovely review DEA, thank you very much! You'll be delighted to know that as a result of your review the bed in the Rose Suite has now been sorted. In addition the external signs have now been changed to reflect our 4 star status and promotion to being a Best Western Plus. Hope to see you again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing