We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Bournemouth Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Bournemouth Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A great hotel, I would definitely recommend. It was perfect for the short break we experienced. It is close to the town centre, and an easy walk to the beach and BIC. The fitness centre/pool is fabulous with pool, sauna and steam room all very clean and looking quite new. Free wifi is available is available using the code issued at reception on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank gareth g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your "Great Hotel" review Gareth - hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,784
    681
    172
    47
    25
See reviews for
380
1,485
124
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked Hotel as a surprise for my wife's Birthday. On arrival we were treated so well and all staff were so friendly and professional . On arrival to our room which was amazing there was a birthday card for my wife and 2 drink vouchers for the bar. We used all the facilities including the pool and spa which were brilliant. The good and the atmosphere were second to none . We are all ready planning our next stay to this hotel. I would highly re commend this to everyone great value for money and very close to town centre . Also on site parking which was free.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
And what a "Fantastic" review Gary, thank you very much. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Friendly , helpful staff - nothing too much trouble which was great as I was on crutches ! Hotel lovely and warm with TWO fires for cosiness. Rooms clean. Steam room and pool was rated 10/10 by my husband whilst I relaxed by the fire with a coffee in great comfort ........ even had a selection of books for guests to read. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 157sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much Sue for your lovely 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Exceptional service all along throughout our short stay at the Connaught Hotel. Staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly which was very refreshing. Brasserie section is lovely with fresh and quick food and friendly service. Pool is surprisingly large and clean, location is actually quite convenient and very quiet, and rooms are tidy and clean…

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasA637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Your "Exceptional" review Nicolas is very much appreciated, thank you. Delighted you enjoyed the facilities in the spa - the pool is one of Bournemouth's largest at 18m.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary for one night as we we were attending a show at the BIC centre. Really nice hotel, friendly staff, ideally located for town centre and best of all fantastic breakfast. Would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angie99_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Happy Anniversary Angie and thank you for your "Fab" review - hope to see you again next year!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Connaught hotel was smart, comfortable and friendly. There is a very nice lounge and bar and the food we had at the bar was really good and very well presented. The room was very clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was good and the service was excellent. I would certainly stay there again and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We would have liked a bath not a shower, but we did not ask at the time of booking. When we got to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJ4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you very much Sue for your 5 star review. Your tip about the bath is aboslutely correct - by booking direct with the hotel you can make asbolutely sure that you what you want is what you get!! The hotel is extremely busy so changes on the day are not always possible.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I booked 2 executive rooms at this hotel for my fiancé & me, and his mum for her 75th birthday treat based on the hotels rating and reviews on trip advisor. We were all delighted with the hotel, it deserves thoroughly its rating- it is lovely with the hotel reception, bar/lounge area and other public areas clean, inviting and wonderfully decorated. All the staff we encountered- from check in, to bar service and restaurant were fantastic- they were all professional and attentive without being intrusive or stuffy. The rooms were great, very big and comfortable beds, nicely decorated and welcome added touches such as sweets and water. My fiancé's mum was called shortly after arriving to check her room was ok and the hotel had kindly left a birthday card- which was a very nice touch as I had only mentioned her birthday briefly in an email to the reception when confirming some check in details. Dinner was lovely with plenty of choice and well presented as was breakfast. All in all a wonderful hotel and experience and we would definitely stay again when back in Bournemouth.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It was great to hear that you had such a brilliant stay Sarah and in particular that your fiancé's mother had a really successful birthday celebration - thank you very much for your lovely 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing