We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience worth repeating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I stayed recently at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On arrival, we were greeted in our room with an anniversary card from the hotel staff plus a drinks voucher. The hotel, room, food and service during our four day stay were truly exemplary. In particular the staff were very helpful and friendly and made us very welcome during the visit. We can thoroughly recommend this hotel and its services and we will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Our room was a standard double which we found totally suited to our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanandKaren2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Such good news Alan and Karen, thank you very ,much indeed for the 5 star review. Hope to see you next year if not before.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,899 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have recently stayed here quite often on business, very clean hotel, polite staff, excellent breakfast, never tried the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Mainly come here as the swimming pool/ sauna etc are excellent to use if you travel a lot on business and need the exercise.
Will be staying again when in the area again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank CheekyChappi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Good to see you back again Cheekychappi and thank you for your review - hope you like the spa refurbishment.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Small but stylishly decorated room. Constant noise like a door slamming every few minutes from somewhere below. When reported to reception a porter was said to investigate, but no further contact was made to us!
Excellent breakfast.
Would not stay here again due to the hotels disinterest in the noise & high price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for the review Jaype and my apologies that the porter did not report back to you about the noise. I have tried to contact you to get to the bottom of this but sadly you have declined to help!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A group of 8 of us stayed at this hotel on Sat 15th March and from the point of booking, the service we received from the hotel staff was excellent. We had an afternoon tea booked with them as part of our Gatsby themed hen party, and the hotel team were very accommodating of our dietary requirements and the personalised touches we wanted to add to the table decorations, etc.The food was plentiful and the service attentive. The rooms were of a very good standard, as was the hotel in general. But the shining stars of this hotel are definitely its staff - everyone was approachable, friendly and helpful. Particular thanks goes to Louise and Kevin. I travel regularly on business, and I can honestly say that this was one of the most pleasant stays I have ever had - largely due to the excellent standard of service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheesyBird78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you very much CheesyBird for your very generous review - delighted we were able to make your day such a success!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Warm welcome at reception, excellent room and superb food in Blakes restaurant and for breakfast.Good sized room and bathroom, free WiFi and easy walking distance of town centre.Very good value for money. Car park a little cramped bug otherwise excellent !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stylesr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Delighted to read that you had such an "excellent Stay" and thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I came here for a weekend of Scrapbooking and as I only ventured out of the hotel once in the whole weekend for a quick look at the sea (just at the end of the road), I don't feel qualified to comment on the location except to say that the immediate area was rather scruffy. That didn't bother me as I didn't intend moving from the hotel so it could have been anywhere.

The hotel is in 2 parts as an annexe right next door had recently been purchased. My single room was in the main hotel. On arrival I was struck by how lovely the reception area was. The cleanest, shiniest floor imaginable & 2 sofas facing each other with a fire blazing away. Very cosy. Also on this floor was the large bar area where we purchased a delicious lunch and the restaurant where we ate a scrummy breakfast each morning. The pool was also on this floor but I'm ashamed to say that I didn't even look at it.

My single room was small but very comfortable. No view to speak of but I was hardly in the room. The bathroom was a decent size & looked brand new. My only criticism would have to be the shower (which was over the bath). It was boiling hot & when I tried to turn the temperature down the pump, which I'm guessing was under the bath, started making some very strange noises. It was ok. I had a bath instead & reported the shower. As it was the weekend I didn't expect anyone to look at the shower but I've requested that room again for next year so am waiting to see if it was sorted out! There was a kettle with tea, coffee & hot chocolate which was replenished each day.

Every meal that I had in the hotel was delicious and beautifully presented. There was plenty to choose at breakfast. No one would ever go hungry.

The staff, without exception, were wonderful. Polite, jovial and nothing was too much trouble. We had a conference room set aside for our Scrapbooking and they made sure that we never ran out of tea, coffee, squash, water or delicious biscuits. I can't emphasise enough how well we were looked after.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and am looking forward to returning next January.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

A lovely, very comprehensive review SueLyn, thank you very much. We really do have a really super team of boys and girls at the Connaught as confirmed by a huge number of Trip reviews - thank you. I have written to you separately about the problem with the pump - please do let me know which room you occupied so that we can deal with it. See you next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stylish (yet comfortable) rooms, fantastic location and very friendly staff. The variety and quality of the breakfast was very good. The Lounge bar was spacious and very welcoming. Location, Location, Location - right in the heart of Bournemouth with easy access to the sea front or town centre

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

A "Real Gem" of a review Rob, thank you.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the facilities that you want and rightly expect. As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,567 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,113 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing