We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, relaxing short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great, relaxing short break”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and professional. Breakfast was delicious, with a wide choice of options to choose from. Dinner was also to a high standard. The staff's willingness to accommodate our dietary requirements made the stay more relaxing. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us Karen - we do our very best to accommodate dietary requirements and we are particularly aware of the needs of coeliacs. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you very much for your very kind review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    704
    180
    50
    28
See reviews for
393
1,537
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (737)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We returned this year for our annual Ladies Festival Weekend from the time we booked, Faye O’Brien and Paul Plumley were absolutely brilliant. There professional advice and implementation skills are fantastic.

We had 102 guests arriving between Friday and Saturday. The reception staff were great and a number of guests commented on the very happy reception when entering the Hotel.

All the rooms in the Connaught Hotel are excellent, Clean, Tidy and very spacious.

We had a number of families staying in the Connaught Lodge. All the rooms have been completely refurbished and a number of guests commented on the quality of the Lodge Rooms.
Our Friday night meal was in Blake’s Restaurant with a slightly Nervous Emmanuel in Charge who explained this was his first Ladies Festival on his own.

Emmanuel you did absolutely brilliantly.

After the meal we had a band in the Connaught Suite which was very good.

For breakfast there is an excellent choice of Hot and cold food with absolutely great service.

The Saturday evening Banquet from the Champagne reception all the way through the seven courses was presented and managed to a very high standard.

All the staff and management team at the Connaught Hotel are very professional and customer focused.

I must mention a few members of the management Team: Kevin, Elkin and Marcio these guys go beyond customer service Thank you

I must also congratulate all the members of staff you are all absolutely great.

A Fantastic Weekend.

Well done The Connaught

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Great to see you all again Peter and thank you for your delightful review of both the Connaught and the Lodge hotels and of course for your most gracious comments regarding our wonderful team. We always enjoy looking after your Ladies' weekend and we look forward to seeing you all again next year, if not before. I hope you had a very pleasant, albeit wet Easter with your family

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath and shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderholt, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My partner and I had a fantastic stay, the food was so tasty and fresh , the hotel was very clean , the spa facilities where very good and the full body massage is to die for even my partner enjoyed it would defiantly recommended and would certainly go again myself. Big thumbs up to all the staff !!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Come again Jolskate!! Thank you so much for your "Fantastic" review - delighted you both had such a wonderful, relaxing time. Special offers in the spa throughout the Summer so I look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath and shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hi mr miller




Thank you for your email. Yes my wife and I loved our stay. Although we never used the spa we intend to when we come back in September.

I have no complaints apart from the noisy idiot next door in room 207 in the lodge!

First impressions count and I loved the reception. Your young foreign staff were very smart and provided excellent service, well done to them. Similarly the breakfast was amazing.

The only slight observation was the door handle in the bathroom of 208 needs screwing back on and possibly some anti slip in the very clean bath.

We thought the bed very comfortable and furniture excellent too.

Overall well done especially to the staff and see you in September.





Mr and mrs m

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenm1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 star review Ken and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I bought my mum and I a spa pass for Mother's Day at The Connaught.
The staff were wonderfully attentive, and the spa facilities were brilliant. Everywhere was clean and all details were explained once we got there. The only annoying factor was that we had to get out of wet swimwear to go upstairs to the restaurant for lunch and then change back into swimwear again. But overall the day was brilliant and I would definitely recommend!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nickyscatterbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
You must do it again Nicky but next time make sure you get some dressing gowns so that you don't have to change for lunch. Delighted you both had a wonderful experience and thank you for your "Wonderful" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We spent one night here. We were out on Saturday evening and got back to the hotel at 9.30 and wondered if we would be able to have a light meal. We were superbly looked after as indeed we were at breakfast. All the staff we came into contact with were great. We were very comfortable indeed and would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 550Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hope you stay longer next time Margaret, thank you very much for your 5 star "Excellent Hotel" review.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Spent a few days here for our anniversary.
Very clean and well presented hotel with plenty of pleasant, efficient and attentive staff. Decent sized room with all you will need (or if not staff will sort it).
Only two minor criticisms: our room was above the service area and, without air con and having to leave the windows open, the rattle of bottles and staff working at 7 in the morning was a bit intrusive.
The other is that parking spaces are small and, as many guests appear to have larger cars, it makes the problem worse. That said, it is obvious that all the hotels in this area have the same problem so it will be an issue wherever you stay in this part of town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you very much Paul for your very complimentary, 5 star review. With regard to the parking we have more space than most of the hotels - 66 to be precise and of course they are free to our guests. A/C in the hotel is available in some of the public areas but due to the age and configuration of the hotel, not in the bedrooms, sorry.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath and shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing