We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a short break at this hotel and we were very impressed at the value and comfort offered. Great breakfast, excellent staff, really enjoyed our three nights. Good facilities and very well maintained. A few minutes to the sea and BIC. We would like to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarehamJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Short, sweet and to the point - thank you very much Jim for your 5 star review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    725
    186
    52
    29
See reviews for
403
1,579
129
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Never stayed in a hotel where ALL the staff are so friendly. Great room and excellent breakfast and also good value to boot. I love niggle is the bar was pricey at over £8 for a glass of Rioja but not enough to mark down this review. Overall the management should be congratulated on instilling great customer service into their team.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wokingjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for your "Excellent" 5 star review James. Just by way of explanation, the Rioja is a Riserva 2007 and sells in the restaurant for a very reasonable £23.50 a bottle - your glass was 250ml which is just over a third of a bottle so no extra charge by the glass!! I hope that helps.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

In a town full of hotels, it must be difficult to differentiate. This hotel wears its upgrade well and their aspirations are supported by friendly and attentive staff.

Plus, there are double sockets on both sides of the bed - so important and so frustrating when missed (laptop, phone, tablet, plus a lamp).

Two dining options was also a bonus and DBB price was cheaper than the other Best Western which is nowhere near as nice. I guess the room upgrade was a bonus, but I don't know if this was chance, or because I have a platinum card.

Pool and gym look great, but didn't have time to sample

Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidStone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Many thanks for the 5 star review David - being a Platinum BW member always helps!! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel has recently been upgraded to 4 star and it is a worthy move. The service from the staff is always great and the food top class. There is a good swimming pool, sauna and steam room included in the cost of the room. A good place to stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write your "Great Hotel" 5 star review Peter - see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for one night whilst going to a concert at The International Centre.
This is just a 10 minute walk away so ideally situated.

I can see why this is number 1 on here!

Spotlessly clean. Easy check-in. We stayed in Room 37 (Lily). Spacious room with a big bathroom and fantastic jacuzzi bath and separate shower.

We had lunch in the Brasserie. Lovely atmosphere and a fillet steak cooked perfectly......

Service by the staff was absolutely 100% throughout the stay.

Did not use the spa facilities, but intend to go back in the not too distant future to do just that!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djw40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
What a "Suoerb" review DJW, thank you very much indeed. Really pleased you liked the Lily room with the new, all-singing, all-dancing Jacuzzi - it's great fun and it even has its own built in radio!! Guests wishing to book this room can only do it direct with the hotel.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned from our 1st stay at this lovely hotel but hopefully it will not be our last! We stayed for 2 nights and cannot fault the hotel. The staff, decor of hotel and food in the Brasserie and Blakes restaurant was a delight and of a high standard. We used the Spa and relaxed in the pool, again very enjoyable. My husband especially enjoyed the homemade Walnut bread!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Delighted you had a "Fantastic" time with us Susie, thank you for your lovely review. Our pastry chef was delighted you liked his walnut bread. Next time why not try the Lily room - it has a fabulous jacuzzi bath but it does have to be booked direct with the hotel. We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

It was our first stay in this hotel and We were very impressed especially with the food and service in the restaurant. We had a superior room with a King size bed but unfortunately it was two singles pushed together which was a little uncomfortable but other than that we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank s11val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your "Lovely Break" review Val. The beds are zip and link and are used by most hotels these days due to their flexibility - I'm sorry you didn't particularly like them. When you are booking next time do ask the receptionist for a standard king sized bed - they are most helpful.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you want and rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,911 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing