We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Connaught, Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“The Connaught, Bournemouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Luxury, brilliant service, excellent food, what more could you want at a reasonable price. Worth the experience. The housekeeping was second to none, staff always greeted you with a smile. If you didn't want to dine in the restaurant, why wouldn't you!, there is an excellent choice in the bar and the service was no less better, the food just as good

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggsy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
A "Brilliant" 5 star review Giggsy - what more could we ask for!! Thank you very much and delighted you enjoyed your stay..

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    693
    175
    47
    25
See reviews for
385
1,511
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our third stay in the past eight months which tells you that we are very satisfied with the Hotel. Always greeted with a smile by the ladies on reception which gets you off to a good start. Facilities throughout are 1st Class. Staff everywhere are excellent which must be down to how well David Miller, MD runs the hotel from top to bottom.
Nicky the Maitre D and his team in "Blakes" restaurant are very well organised and nothing is to much trouble for them. There is always a good breakfast selection and we like the new toast arrangement! Used the spa and pool and liked the new make over. Will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Always good to see you both Michael and thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely,complimentary review. We look forward to seeing you later this year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here end of April for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary. Arrived early and was greated by a lovely friendly receptionist and although our room was not ready she did say they would call us to confirm when we could get our room key. We had a third floor room with a balcony which was a nice feature to open the room up. Room was clean and tidy and the hotel had left a card for us, with a complimentary drinks voucher to help us celebrate our anniversary.

Hotel is in a great location, very close to the beach and the shops. We ate out all 3 nights (our choice to see the area), twice in the main town (10 mins) and the Indian Ocean restaurant in the next street (5 mins) which was really good. Beach lovely and again only a 10 minute walk away.

We are glad to have chosen this particular hotel, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast choice was good, cereals, fruits, toasts, yogurts, cooked breakfast and porridge (which was very nice!). Nikky in the breakfast area was really great, he was very welcoming and charming.

We did use the pool, sauna, steam room etc which is well worth a visit and had a massage (Hannah) which was very good. Bar area of an evening nice and cosy.

If you are looking for a hotel which is close to all amenities and want a first class service look no further and book this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room great but was very hot in the night due to the sun on the roof all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheElms12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks Mr & Mrs Webb for your very complimentary, "Excellent Choice" review and we were very delighted that you enjoyed your anniversary with us. Hope to see you again next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for a quick overnight on Easter Sunday. The stand-out feature of this hotel is the service-ethic that it seems to ooze. I was called by reception a little while after checking-out to ask if all was okay with the room. I had already noticed that the sound-proofing was terrible - I could hear both sets of neighbours talking when it was obvious they were not raising their voices at all. I mentioned this but did not expect anything to happen as that is the fabric of the hotel. The receptionist however immediately offered to send a porter up to show me another room, which I chose to move to. The porter then helped me to move. That was just one example of the friendly, helpful and efficient staff at the Connaught.
Great leisure centre with large pool and good sauna, steam room, spa bath and changing rooms. A little let down by the poor state of the tiling at 'skirting board' level below the marble-style wall cladding.
Excellent breakfast again with superb, smiling service.
Both the single rooms I had were very small and rather dated but well maintained and comfortable.
Bournemouth is not top of my list for leisure trips but I would be very tempted to visit again just to stay at the Connaught.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afcandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us afcandrew - thank you very much for your review and in particular for the lovely compliments that you paid to our staff.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a delight this hotel provides, efficient service, pleasant staff, great spa, clean, warm and great environment. We received an email prior to our visit to welcome us and to confirm our booking providing access and a name of the manager should we have any issues. Upon our arrival, the staff explained where everything was, including the restaurants, spa and lifts etc.
The building was nicely decorated and very clean. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable The bathroom was small but adequately furnished with nice toiletries on offer. Information folders providing lots of information on the hotel and surrounding areas and the spa.
We visited the spa and the pool was cool but clean and large. One concern was that there were no notices of how deep the pool was. The sauna was large but was not hot and the steam room was again large and hot, the Jacuzzi was again nice and hot.

The breakfast was a delight with very welcoming staff all were happy in their work. The continental had a great choice and the cooked options were presented by a waiter providing the food giving very good portions, All was hot, tasty, and nothing was too much trouble.

My wife took advantage of the spa treatments having a nice massage, although a little rushed. We took the advantage of requesting a late checkout, at no extra charge. I cannot state how much the staff affect how good a stay we experienced and if in the area will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Executive Double with Balcony is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
A fabulous review Mike, thank you very much and really appreciated by each and every one of us - "service" is our middle name!! You'll be pleased to know that the signs for the pool are currently being manufactured and will be in place next week - they were removed during the refurbishment of the poolside!! I'm not sure why the sauna was cool on the day of your visit but I have just checked it and all is now ok.

Best wishes and thank you again

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was my second stay at The Connaught Hotel and I wasn't disappointed , yet again the service was very good , the food was excellent the staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble. The room I stayed in was very spacious with a great wet room , it was very clean and had been updated. I used the on sight pool and spa which I found very relaxing after my long journey from Devon . I would deffinately stay here again . Thank you .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliesharrysnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Delighted you had such a "Great Stay" olliesharrysnan and we look forward to a return visit. Thank you so much for your most generous review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Have stayed here before and always excellent service
The food is really good and the staff are brilliant,nothing is too much trouble.
Free on site parking and the spa and pool are a bonus
Ideally situated for most attractions esp The BIC

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for the "1st Class Hotel" review J1956. Hope to see you again later this year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and the bath or shower room that you rightly expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing