We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Believe the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first trip to bournemouth so had to rely on Tripadvisor and again it came up trumps.Great room on 3rd floor with a little balcony.room spotless and everything you could need.Breakfast was very good,great sausages and I am picky!
The bonus really was the small spa which was great for the price of the rooms at the hotel.
The decor throughout the hotel is very boutique looking so don't be fooled by the outside appearance.
By far the best thing about this hotel is the staff,without fault friendly and super helpful.I will return again and soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Barbara for your very complimentary, 5 star review and thank you also for your review, posted separately, for Blakes, our double rosette restaurant. This is very much appreciated.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,825
    698
    179
    49
    26
See reviews for
391
1,525
126
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. We checked in at 2.30pm in the afternoon and left again at 9pm as we did not wish to stay the night.
Do not believe the description of the rooms, the one we were allocated had certainly not been refurbished it had a dirty carpet, dark depressing furniture and a horrible view.
Be prepared not to be able to park you car on site, when we arrived at 2.30pm the car park was full and the spaces were extremely small, we waited for 20 minutes still no space became available. We didn't think this should have been a problem as when booked the hotel advertised that a reservation was not required for parking you car. We then ended up having to park our car in a pay and display 2 streets away at an extra cost. When we voiced our view on this to the reception on checking in, the reply was that parking was on a first come first served basis, along with a bad attitude. Not very good customer service.
For both the above reasons we did not want to stay at the hotel. If you are considering a stay I would certainly seek other hotel options as there must be better than this in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very comfortable room, wet room bathroom, extra large soft bath sheets. Our room had a small balcony, nice to sit enjoy the sun and have a drink. Hotel had a gym and pool, which we didn't use but looked very good. Restaurant comfortable and food was good, service excellent. Breakfast was great, so much choice. Overall we had a great weekend, can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor, and I would recommend to ask for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much Susan for your 5 star review and delighted you had such a "Great Weekend".

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Short break at hotel, decor main areas excellent. Staff very professional, helpful and friendly. Food in restaurant was very good, well presented and good quality, better than many top restaurants we have used! Room was comfortable but still needs some work to bring it up to top standard. All areas were very clean and well presented. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank SarahSBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for the lovely review Sarah and for the feedback you gave me personally which was very helpful. Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We did book late and they did say the room was over the banqueting suite and the music went off at midnight , we never got to find out ! . Having enjoyed a great lunch at Lime wood (comments on relevant section ) we arrived to have a relaxation prior to evening entertainment . The hotel is well furnished and to a good standard . The room allocated was on the small side but the decor was to a good standard , there was noise from a fan which reception said was the kitchen at a adjoining hotel which they would speak to , the fan stopped , unfortunately the bathroom fan next door started followed by opera from the other adjoining room and then the kitchen fan restarted . When you put all this together with constant banging from any door within the hotel we gave up and left ! No recompense offered and I am left surprised at the level of positive comments from other reviewers .we had requested a quiet room on booking .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Andrew,

Sadly your review is a tad contradictory to say the least!! You booked at the last minute and you acknowledged in your review that you were warned about the function so it is very hard for me to comment on your closing remarks that "we had requested a quiet room". You just left your keys and walked out of the hotel without saying a word to anyone so, with respect, it was not possible for us to do anything for you!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived mid evening on Saturday and the welcome we received at reception was superb. There was a wedding reception on going at the time but the duty manager made us feel as we were the most important people there. The room allocated was above what we expected. The only low point being the room temperature which was very warm. However by opening the windows and using the fan provided we soon had things back to normal. The bathroom was excellent, beautifully clean and sparkling. The bed was extremely comfortable and a two good nights sleep was had. The full English Breakfast was great and much enjoyed. This is the first time we have stayed at the Connaught but it certainly will not be the last. All in all very good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 31 on the second floor was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We look forward to seeing you again Tony and many thanks for your "Lovely Weekend" review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'm going to have very little to write about as I have so few gripes about this hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean, the food in their restaurant (Blakes) was delicious, and the room was comfortable. Unfortunately I never got to use their leisure facilities so I can't comment on those. My one and only gripe is that I was late getting back to the hotel on my last evening and was refused at the restaurant as I was four minutes late!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review N4G, in spite of not being able to use the restaurant - apologies for that as we would normally never refuse a guest. Please let me know whether it was Blakes or the Brasserie so that I can investigate what happened.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing