We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, 2 nights in June 2014. From the minute we arrived the staff made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The room was lovely, very comfortable, the breakfasts were yummy and the evening meal we had in the restaurant was superb and worth every penny, the maitre'd (nicki) was very attentive and made us feel special on our wedding anniversary. We also used the Spa facilities which were very clean and enjoyable. Room 37 and the jacuzzi bath was excellent...... Overall a good value and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: for a special treat the executive with jacuzzi bath is a must.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesleymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Lesley and Mark, We were all delighted you enjoyed your anniversary celebrations with us and hopefully we'll see you both again next year, if not before!! Many thanks for your brilliant review - for those guests wishing to book this very popular executive room (Lily) it is only available on the hotel's own website.

Best wishes and thank you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,883)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,543 - 1,549 of 2,883 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We returned to the Connaught Hotel for the May Bank Holiday weekend. We love staying here! From the moment you walk through the door the staff make you feel special and can't do enough for you. We stayed in a superior double which was well furnished with an extremely comfortable bed.
I cannot think of another hotel in Bournemouth better than the Connaught, the food in Blakes restaurant is divine, and this applies to breakfast and dinner.
All in all a wonderful hotel deserving of my excellent rating. You won't be disappointed if you stay here

Room Tip: Superior rooms are larger
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyW725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you Chrissy for this wonderful 5 star review - delighted we hit the button at every level!!

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had our wedding here on the 5th April this year, the staff team are amazing nothing is too much trouble. From the moment that we chose The Connaught Hotel, we had our own wedding planner Simon and he was brilliant, we met with him on several occasions prior to the day and found him to be experienced and very knowledgeable. When the big day finally arrived everything was all we could have wished for and more, nothing was too much trouble, the team on the day were superb like a well oiled machine, no one was left waiting for courses and the hotel even managed to bring our meal forward by half an hour as we were running in front of schedule that we planned. The room was beautiful and they even set up a sweet cart that we had brought. The food was delicious and due to both myself and my husband being fussy eaters the whole menu was tailored to fit what we would like.
The hotel have recently gained a 4th star and in my opinion deserve a 5th, both the team their attitudes towards us and all of our party on the day and the hotel are absolutely amazing, nothing is a problem and I just wish we had another excuse to plan a function with them as they completely took the stress away from planning a wedding. We booked the hotel 2 years before our wedding date we loved it then, it has now undergone a lot of work and it is now absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

That was truly a great day Samantha one we all enjoyed and were delighted to be a part of. Simon in particular was really pleased to be mentioned in such a glowing manner and we all thank you for such a fabulous review.

Good luck to you both and maybe you could start planning your first anniversary celebrations!!

Best wishes and hope to see you next year...

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a twin bedded room for just one night with a friend. On arrival the receptionist checked us in quickly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was perfect for what we wanted, the beds were very comfortable and it was really quiet. We had a spacious bathroom with a lovely walk in shower. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast in the lovely sunny garden. The waiting staff were very professional and friendly. I will be returning to this lovely hotel with my family and will stay for two nights. I'm hoping to make use of the leisure facilities as we didn't get a chance to this time unfortunately.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We look forward to seeing you again Melissa and thank you for your lovely review.

Best wishes.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a hen do and as soon as we walked in we were really surprised at how amazing it was for our groupon spa day price! The hotel looked so so clean and the spa was incredible, everyone was very friendly and helpful. After chatting to a man in the sauna at the spa and realising the hotel had just undergone a refurbishment to 4* this was certainly what it was! Our lunch included in our spa day was amazing quality and very delicious, perfect portion sizes and the drinks were perfect. Thank you for an amazing day! I wouldn't ever listen to the bad reviews! Came out feeling very relaxed and pampered :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lilymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Delighted your spa day was such a success Lilymcc, hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first trip to bournemouth so had to rely on Tripadvisor and again it came up trumps.Great room on 3rd floor with a little balcony.room spotless and everything you could need.Breakfast was very good,great sausages and I am picky!
The bonus really was the small spa which was great for the price of the rooms at the hotel.
The decor throughout the hotel is very boutique looking so don't be fooled by the outside appearance.
By far the best thing about this hotel is the staff,without fault friendly and super helpful.I will return again and soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you Barbara for your very complimentary, 5 star review and thank you also for your review, posted separately, for Blakes, our double rosette restaurant. This is very much appreciated.

Best wishes and hope to see you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this hotel. We checked in at 2.30pm in the afternoon and left again at 9pm as we did not wish to stay the night.
Do not believe the description of the rooms, the one we were allocated had certainly not been refurbished it had a dirty carpet, dark depressing furniture and a horrible view.
Be prepared not to be able to park you car on site, when we arrived at 2.30pm the car park was full and the spaces were extremely small, we waited for 20 minutes still no space became available. We didn't think this should have been a problem as when booked the hotel advertised that a reservation was not required for parking you car. We then ended up having to park our car in a pay and display 2 streets away at an extra cost. When we voiced our view on this to the reception on checking in, the reply was that parking was on a first come first served basis, along with a bad attitude. Not very good customer service.
For both the above reasons we did not want to stay at the hotel. If you are considering a stay I would certainly seek other hotel options as there must be better than this in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Abbi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £76 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing