We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend while away for a Masonic ladies festival weekend. We could not find fault with anything..... Rooms were lovely size, clean and lovely.
Staff were very attentive and pleasant, couldn't do enough for us x spa was lovely also
Highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

It truly was a super weekend Tracy and we enjoyed looking after you. Many thanks for your 5 star review and hopefully you'll be doing the same next year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,592 - 1,598 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a four night DBB stay in a superior room at this Hotel, we were actually given a double room with a small balcony which was nice because we were blessed with wonderful weather, the room was nice if a little small, the shower room was very nice with a double shower cubicle and really big soft fluffy towels. We used the swimming pool and spa which is in the basement again towels were supplied and the whole place was well run and very clean. Breakfast which was served either out on the terrace or in the restaurant ( we sat outside), a good choice of cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt etc. plus a full English breakfast which was served to you from the buffet, also available was kippers, smoked haddock or salmon for a small extra charge. The evening meal was served in Blake’s restaurant and was waiter service, the food was superb and we would recommend you try and book a table in advance of you stay as they were full every night we were there, one comment though allow one and a half to two hours for your meal as there is a bit of a wait between courses but as I said earlier the food is so good it is worth the wait. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, a special mention of the Maître d’ Nick Rutigliano who was always impeccably dressed and efficient with a friendly word for everyone. We will defiantly be going back as Hotels as good and affordable as this one are hard to find.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

What a delightful and comprehensive review Staphanie, thank you so very much. Everything in Blakes is freshly prepared and cooked to order so, as you say, it's not a fast food restaurant but somewhere to just relax and be spoiled - Nicky, our Maitre d', will certainly do his level best to help you to achieve that!!

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed on a midweek break and chose the hotel based on reviews. We weren't disappointed - very impressed with staff, hotel and facilities, and it was great to be able to have breakfast outside in the restaurant garden. There is a decent indoor pool which we used, with sauna and steam room. Brilliant location - didn't need to use the car as the town and beach are a 10 minute walk at most. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnno64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

A brilliant review Johnno, thank you. The terraced garden is hugely popular both for breakfast and dinner, subject of course to the weather which hopefully will be very kind to us again this year!!

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just stayed at The Connaught Hotel for our 1st Anniversary. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The Hotel is very nice, comfortable bed good leisure facilities. Treated ourselves to a spa massage we would definately recommend it well worth it. 5 minutes walk to the beach. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your "Fantastic" review Cheryl and hopefully we'll see you on your second anniversary if not before.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The public areas including the brasserie have been refurbished since last November. They all look superb. We only stayed 2 days sadly but would happily spend 2 weeks at this delightful hotel. All staff are really helpful and friendly and i simply cannot fault the place. Food wonderful as ever as is the restaurant and bar service.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are bigger and the new Lily room has an amazing jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Ian and in particular delighted you liked the Lily room with its new, fun jacuzzi - only available when booking direct with the hotel. Many thanks for your 5 star review.

Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights here as part of a hen party. Hotel was lovely, very welcoming staff and gorgeous décor. The best breakfast I have had in a long time. Lots of choices available and the weather was great so we got to sit outside. The bar staff were delightful and really made an effort to ensure our group had an enjoyable stay. The room, however, was small, dark and dingy with a nice view of the staircase on the outside. We were barely able to move with two people and two suitcases in. The room was VERY HOT which meant that we had an uncomfortable nights sleep. We were provided with a fan but it merely just moved the hot air about. We did have a small window but it wasn't sufficient. However, bed was very comfortable. If we stayed here again I would definitely choose another room - avoid room 7 if there is two of you.

However, the spa was very nice :)

Room Tip: Corner suites seemed larger and more bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for your review Gemma but disappointed you did not like your room. Please do drop me a line and I'm sure we can organise an upgrade for you on your next visit to Bournemouth.

Best wishes and I look forward to hearing from you.

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night at the Connaught Hotel and we had a lovely time. The staff are very welcoming and helpful, the room with balcony was ideal and dinner in the restaurant was excellent, we could not fault it. Had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much Sue and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company once again. Thank you very much for your most generous review.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

Always book direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want – don’t leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 67 in Bournemouth
935 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 67 in Bournemouth
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £68 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing