We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best hotels I've ever been”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #3 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Probably one of the best hotels I've ever been”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed at The connaught hotel in Bournemouth for a couple of days this summer and I can say that it's one of the best hotels I've ever been.

Decoration was georgeous, specially in hallway and dinning areas, a little bit simpler in the rooms but still very homely and sofisticated.

If I have to highlight something from my visit it would be the absolutly great customer service they gave us. Everyone in the hotel was very kind and friendly.

It has spa and swimming pool area, with a relaxing and calming atmosphere (well decorated, low lights,...). The gym was nice, two separated areas for cardio and strenght training.

Dining was really lovely, as well as breakfast, with the usual variety of cooked and continental breakfast.

I's located really near to the beach and shore, as well as close to the city centre (a 5-10 minute walk to both of them).

I would totally recomend this one and I loved my stay there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for your hugely complimentary review Miriam and I hope we have the pleasure of your company again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    717
    183
    52
    28
See reviews for
397
1,567
128
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (746)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for an event at BIC. Double room was a decent size but bit grubby. The bathroom is very cramped with the toilet right on top of the shower on one side and a hot towel rail on the other leaving no room!! Breakfast is included and was adequate at best. Overall for over £120 for the night I have stayed in much better hotels for much less money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstie259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for the review Kirstie and I was sorry to read of your disappointment. I have contacted you on your private address to discuss.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and was as enjoyable, infact is my 3rd visit. Stayed in room 9 which was a lovely size with a very large balcony on the 1st floor but the bathroom was ridiculously small which was a shame. I was aware that it was shower only but it was the smallest bathroom in any hotel I have ever stayed in! The room was fairly well equipped however but with a large walk in wardrobe, you could think maybe that room would be best used for more room in the bathroom as there is plenty of room inside the bedroom to have a freestanding wardrobe. There was coffee machine and out dated ipod player ( with technology moving forwards as it is ) free water, tea/coffee and kettle but no in room safe. The in room hairdryer next insoection was due in Jan '14 too, so a little behind with that! Room though was very comfortable, lovely big bed, nice lighting and plugs by the bedside, always a plus for me! Breakfast was the usual fair but don't like the hot food being served to me. I only eat mushrooms and bacon and being served 4/5 small mushrooms as a portion was a bit mean when others had sausages and 2 types of egg, fried bread, beans etc to pig on! Toast/bread was delicious as was the tea. Had spa treatment 1.5 hour massage which was really lovely. As is the pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Little shabby round the edges but nice. No tea/coffee offered on arrival though as per the spa day info. Had champagne afternoon tea which was delicious. The hot scones were wonderful and the slices of cake were huge. Tea yet again, lovely. One downside of this hotel is the parking. Not enough spaces at all for the hotel which is a shame and many people were double parked.
The staff in the hotel however, especially the lovely trainee lady on reception and the older gentlemen in the restaurant really are great and make this one of the better BW hotels for service alone. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, as long as you don't want perfection! It is a great hotel but with a few flaws

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mads335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your most generous review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify, we serve our hot breakfast for two reasons: the area is kept immaculate and it also ensures we do not run out of items - when it comes to quantity just do an "Oliver" and ask for more, we are most generous!! We are lucky, being in the centre of Bournemouth, to have 66 car spaces, unlike the majority of hotels, and they are free to guests!! Many thanks for your lovely comments about our staff - they are the best!!

Best wishes and I look forward to seeing you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We only stayed here one night as we were visiting friends. I booked a superior bedroom which was a good size and had a nice bathroom. However I was surprised to find the room pretty grubby - for example there were several dubious looking marks on the bed cover and the room was generally dusty, particularly the skirting boards. Breakfast was a huge disappointment - no fruit other than melon, nothing vegetarian on display. Vegetarian food had to be ordered specially and as we were pushed for time, I settled for a fried egg and mushrooms. The egg was cold and the mushrooms dreadful so I only ate one! The coffee was tasteless brown water. I could have had ground coffee but wasn't prepared to spend £3 for the privilege, good coffee should be included. All in all a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaGrantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay Nicola - we are renowned for catering for vegetarians and coeliacs but given the fact that just 5% of the population are registered vegetarians we have to rely on guests making their requirements known to us - everything is cooked or prepared to order as it states quite clearly on the menu.

Best wishes and I hope you had a safe journey home.

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night, having read the previous reviews I had expected much better. The receptionist that booked me in didn't really understand what she was doing, or what I was saying - my bill had been covered by my company as clearly stated on the booking, but she demanded a credit card multiple times and I declined multiple times... After a going back and forth a few times she consulted another member of staff who confirmed that I did not need to give a credit card as it was covered by my company. The hotel is absolutely lovely, it's clear a lot of time and effort went into the decor however, my room was the complete opposite... I am not going to begin to describe it I will post a picture instead (room 60). If I were the hotel management I would address this immediately. I have never stayed in such a small dingy room in all my travels! This hotel has potential but certainly did not satisfy my needs as a traveling businessman.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliwhitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks for the "Good Hotel" review Oli and apologies for your disappointment with your room but our single rooms are exactly that - around 95 sq ft which is very much reflected in the price - do try our double rooms for single occupancy next time. The credit card issue is a security matter for any extras purchased during your stay and also confirms to us that you are who you say you are. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here whilst in Bournemouth for a beach wedding. The Hotel staff on arrival were professional and friendly, immediately giving the impression of a well run hotel. We stayed in the Tulip Suite which was a good size. The bathroom had an all singing, all dancing spa bath (slightly reminiscent of a space ship - coloured lights which changed colour and a radio incorporated!) We managed to soak the bathroom a couple of times by turning on a tap which sent water from one jet straight across the room and into the bedroom (soaking the contents of my vanity case!) We used this once just because you have to - but it was really noisy and took ages to fill. The shower was perfectly adequate. We also used the gym and swimming pool which was all pretty good - didn't stop in the pool long as quite a few people. We ate in the restaurant on the first night - superb food and service and actually extremely reasonable prices. The only problem for us was the very soft mattress on our bed - we were both left with bad backs! I actually almost rolled out when I got to close to the edge as it just gave way - might suit other people though. Other than that - the hotel was smashing as were all the staff. If it wasn't in Bournemouth we would definitely use again - but sadly I'm not a great fan of Bournemouth and doubt I would have the need to stay again. I will look out for other Best Westerns though as I would happily stay in another one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETCGC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much ETC for your lovely review - to avoid any confusion for ther guests the all singing spa bath is in the Lily Room not the Tulip. It's a huge bath so takes a little time to fill up but despite drenching yourselves I hope you had lots of fun with it. Apologies about the bed which is quite new but we will be trying it out tonight!!

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Weekend at the best western the Connaught hotel was excellent, rooms a bit small but clean tidy and very comfortable. Food in resturant was really lovely highly recommend. Staff very friendly especially the duty manager and the bar man from Portugal and not forgetting the girls on reception, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coulters03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Our thanks to the Coulters for your lovely 5 star review - hopefully next time around you'll be able to stay a little longer.

Best wishes and I look forward to seeing you again.

David F Miller
Managing Director

More and more guests are now booking direct with the hotel 01202 298020 - we guarantee that you will not find a lower price anywhere else and it does ensure you get the room and in particular the bath or shower that you want - don't leave it to chance call now!! As a guide our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., superior rooms with a balcony 155 sq ft. superiors without a balcony 175 sq ft and executives 215 sq ft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Address: West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing