We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,267)
Filter reviews
3,267 results
Traveller rating
2,083
858
228
60
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,083
858
228
60
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blakes restaurant orchid suite spa facilities executive room lovely hotel the main hotel swimming pool steam room and sauna breakfast was excellent short break good size town centre car park enjoyable stay west cliff third floor restaurant manager
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 3,267 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stayed here with my wife for a short break last weekend, I can honestly say we had a fantastic time. The biggest positive being the staff, the manager, the waiters everyone was so helpful and friendly. The car park is quite small, but if you can't find a space turn right & right again and there is another car park outside the lodge. The check in was quick and the receptionist took time to explain where everything was. The rooms a little tired and to be honest if the staff hadn't been so good I may have knocked one point off the ratings. However they were clean and the superior & balcony rooms have aircon which was most welcome. The food is great and reasonably priced, the spa is clean and the pool is lovely. Will I be going back? without a doubt! Top tip try the afternoon tea it is really good. We had a pamper package with prosecco and chocolates in the room which was well worth it.

Room tip: Get a balcony room
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Connaught, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review Mark, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hartwell
General Manager

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., balcony rooms now fully air-conditioned, average 155 sq ft, superiors without balconies 175 sq ft,Executives 210 sq.ft and Suites 250 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We used this hotel as our base whilst attending the BIC for our daughter's annual cheer competition. It was very pleasant, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend their full English Breakfast. I would like to have made more use of the spa facilities but ran out of time, although my husband did have a full back massage and would recommend the spa.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Connaught, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review Ruth, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hartwell
General Manager

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., balcony rooms now fully air-conditioned, average 155 sq ft, superiors without balconies 175 sq ft,Executives 210 sq.ft and Suites 250 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Stayed at the Connaught for two nights and had a generally comfortable stay. However, it was during a heatwave and despite the (rather noisy) fan, the room did get uncomfortably hot. This was not helped by the towel rail in the bathroom being stuck on full heat when we arrived. We asked for this to be sorted and although someone came promptly, their efforts made no difference and I had to turn the valve with a wrench I had in the car.

Other than the heat (and to be fair, that wasn't the hotel's fault) the room was good.

The staff were very good, and we enjoyed the food from the bar. The pool was a bonus, but a bit busy with a visiting party of students when my wife tried to use it.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eastridingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Connaught, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review Eastridingowl, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, despite the heat!! I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hartwell
General Manager

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., balcony rooms now fully air-conditioned, average 155 sq ft, superiors without balconies 175 sq ft,Executives 210 sq.ft and Suites 250 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Booked Connaught Lodge at short notice. Wasn't quite aware it was part of the Best Western until we arrived.
Room was great, clean and roomy.
Car parking good and the breakfasts were excellent.
All the staff we encountered were excellent.
Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Connaught, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review Neil - The Lodge isn't part of Best Western and your review should have been posted on the separate "Connaught Lodge" tripadviser page - we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hartwell
General Manager

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., balcony rooms now fully air-conditioned, average 155 sq ft, superiors without balconies 175 sq ft,Executives 210 sq.ft and Suites 250 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We chose this hotel for 2 nights as it is 5 minuets walk to the beach and 10 minutes to town.

Car park is there for free of charge if you find the place otherwise it is a struggle.

There is a Spa facilities. Good size pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and air con in Gym.

All staff work hard and always polite, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good and had choices for hot and cold. I like that when as soon as you arrive for breakfast, they make toast and tea for you and they are so quick too thanks breakfast team!!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Not bad for 4 star.

We had a courtesy call after we settled in our room and toilet handle needed a bit of fixing and maintenance fixed it straight away.

Hotel just needs a little bit attention on carpet in lift, room and on stairs including going to Spa

Keep up the good work and well done to all staff!!! Petra, the receptionist is quite cheerful and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kamal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BW-Connaught, General Manager at Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review Kamal, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Simon Hartwell
General Manager

Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room and the bath or shower that you want. Our standard rooms average 135 sq ft., balcony rooms now fully air-conditioned, average 155 sq ft, superiors without balconies 175 sq ft,Executives 210 sq.ft and Suites 250 sq ft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews