We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas 2010”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

If you want to get away for Christmas 2011 we can recommend the Connaught. We spent Christmas 2008 at this Hotel and returned again in 2010 with family & friends. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent as were all the Staff they did everything to make it special. We used the swimming pool on Boxing Day & the Hotel arranged a visit to the Panto for those who wanted to go. We had entertainment in the evenings and fun on the dance floor. The rooms were comfortable and it was good to have little extra's like fruit & chocolates in the room.
Thank you for a lovely Christmas
RJD

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear RJD

Thank you very much for your generous review and I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your Christmas with us. Christmas and New Year are two very special events for us and they are planned with meticulous care to ensure everyone leaves having had a wonderful time - as a result of this we always end up with a full house which guarantees a great atmosphere!! Hopefully we will see you again this year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,812
    693
    175
    47
    25
See reviews for
385
1,511
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Just returned from a 5 night break, excellent customer service for the whole of our stay. Very nice personal touches when hotel discovered our birthday/anniversary celebration. Would recommend and stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonsey1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Jonsey1219

I was delighted to read that we were able to help make your celebration one to remember and thank you so much for taking the trouble to write to Trip Advisor about your stay - it really is appreciated by all of us here at the Connaught.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Spent a night here, could happily have stayed longer. Good leisure club facilities- swimming pool, jacuzzi, gym, beauty/ massage salon etc- and very close to West Cliff yet on a quiet side road. Sampled the restaurant and breakfast menus and both excellent. What stood out the most though was the exemplary customer service throughout the hotel- nothing was too much trouble for reception/ restaurant/ leisure club or room staff- all very friendly and pragmatic. Whoever is responsible for staff training should be commended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unorthodoxleftwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
Dear Unorthodoxleftwinger,

Thank you for a great review. Good to read that you were able to take advantage of all the spa facilities which have been the subject of a major refurbishment programme throughout 2010. Do please come and see us again.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel. We had originally booked to go in November but could not make it; the hotel were very helpful in rescheduling our stay to this month. The good points first- staff very pleasant and helpful. Location handy for the beach and the town centre. Not so good- we booked a superior room going on the pictures on the website. Very misleading, our room was small and the decor rather tired and looked nothing like the rooms advertised. Walls were very thin and we could hear our neighbours even having conversations. There is a nice big pool, although again let down by the rather tired changing rooms. However the staff do try very hard to please and it is for this reason that we did enjoy our stay. C. Bullough, Cheltenham

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2011
Dear Catherine

I would be grateful if you could let me know the room that you stayed in so that I can check the problem you experienced. Overall I was glad you had a good stay and my apologies for the obvious disappointment with your room. I think you were on the top floor which is classified the way it is due to the balcony - this take up a good part of the room and is very popular but perhaps not in the cold wintry months. Next time you plan to visit please write to me at
davidmiller@theconnaught.co.uk with a copy of this email and I will ensure you have a room that meets your expectations.


Best wishes

David Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

The service we received from the staff from checking in to checking out was very good.
The attendant at the leisure centre took the trouble to take us on a tour and explain the facilities on offer. The restaurant staff were very attentive both in the evening and in the morning for breakfast.
The room - a superior twin- had been made into a large double for us. The room was spacious and clean and furnished to a very good standard. The bathroom was very large and had a good size shower.
The location was perfect. A couple of minutes to the town and a couple of minutes to the sea.
It was just the right size hotel - not massive and impersonal. It seemed to be mostly couples at this time.
We would book again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Dear Holidaygirl,

How very pleased I was to read that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review. We look forward to a return visit.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed at the Connaught for a 4 day Christmas package. This was our second visit as a family at Christmas and this year friends also joined us. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the service given to us was fantastic. Every meal was excellent. The leisure facilities were great for all members of the party. The teenage boys even enjoyed sitting on Father Christmas' knee!! The evening entertainment was good. All the staff who worked very hard to make our Christmas a fantastic 4 day break .We would love to return again sometime.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Dear Apott,

We'd love you to return again - you were super guests, we enjoyed your company and your boys were mentioned in Santa's despatches sent from his hospital bed after a knee replacement op!!! Thank you for your wonderful review - it seems such a long time ago.......I look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes to you all.

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

Had a three night stay in January 2011. Parking was free and plentiful. Although I had a single room which was small and compact - all the usual facilities were available. Breakfast was very good indeed helped by superb staff service. Reception was friendly and helpful. I used the leisure facilities which were very enjoyable, especially the large pool. I would stay there again and certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisatholly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1007, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Dear Chrisatholly

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the spa facilities and our 18m swimming pool. We finished the majority of the refurbishment in the spa area just in time for Christmas and it is looking rather smart. Thank you for your review and may I wish you a very happy New Year.

Best wishes

David F Miller
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.4 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing