We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with a difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Holiday with a difference”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

This hotel has the right "vibes" as soon as you walk in, the team at this hotel tend to your
every need from the start, rooms,price,menu,ambience,service you need to look no further
if ever you visit this area, ideal location for all activities and entertainment.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    575
    180
    59
    29
See reviews for
366
585
85
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Clean and nice 3*.
Decor quite traditionnal, not boutique but very clean.
Only thing is sound proofing can be better... doors a bit thing and we could hear a bit fron adjacent rooms: not conversations etc... people walking and water noises.

Very good cooked breakfast... better that in 4* visited recently.
The staff is nice and helpful.
All you need is a sunny week end to make it perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Continent69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

The hotel is in a prime part of Bournemouth on Gervis Road (5 min walk from the beach). The hotel is grand in its appearance and the décor and reception areas do not let it down. The car parking is reasonable at just £2 per night and it is a reasonably secure car park needing a token to get out. Crime levels in this part of Bournemouth are surprisingly low considering it’s so close to the troubled Boscombe. As for the rooms, they are not dirty, far from it, they are clean tidy and very well presented but some of the finishes are a little hap hazard. For example the light switches are dated and discoloured (perhaps they think this adds character?) but now I’m just being picky. The bed was amazing, one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. There are no sockets by the bed (useful for phone charging) but once again I am being picky. The bathroom was well presented but I have a small criticism about the shower. I am 6’2 tall and the shower head was about 6’0! I had to take the head out of the shower holder and hold it above my head to wash my balding head, but once again I’m being picky. The breakfast buffet is amazing – a real feast of great food and drink and all included in our deal. This breakfast really will set you up for the day and make a great start – spare a thought for the extras you can add to your breakfast such as Kippers or Pancakes, buyer beware as they will charge you extra! The swimming pool is dated and in a separate building, but it is usable and very clean and tidy. The changing rooms are surprisingly well equipped too with good showers (better than the rooms!) and hairdryers. The hotel bar is good, very comfortable but as with most hotels very pricey. Expect to pay £3.10 for a hot drink and upwards of £3.50 for a beer. The staff were all very friendly especially the old gent in the Aqua Brasserie (Desmond I think?) he is very friendly and will always help where he can. The staff who work there are a mixture of British, German and other nationalities (including a French girl I think) but they all offer exemplary service and for the price you cant go wrong. Few more points about the hotel – the lift to the other floors is tiny, very tiny. About 1m by 80cm ! just enough for a small push chair. There are a few local eateries within walking distance but for those with children consider travelling further afield to Poole – they cater for children much better. All in all a great hotel, great service and very little to complain about. On a final note, the whole experience at the hotel was great apart from the 20+ kids that were stopping in the hotel at the time on the ‘Mini Camelot’ whatever that is. The kids were unruly and parents didn’t care what they did (including playing hide and seek on the landing at midnight) but this was not the hotels fault and cannot be blamed on them. That said they even tried to speak to the leader to get them to calm down. The hotel had Free WIFI and free computer access.

Room Tip: Everywhere is in walking distance from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WontyRamsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was first group that we organised,needn't of worried, clean rooms,good food,good value and brilliant staff. All in all a very pleasant visit for us all!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Just returned from a three night leisure stay at this hotel. It is close to the beach and the town but not on a busy road so is fairly quiet. The room was comfy and the bed also although the springs of the mattress were noisy. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and the evening meals we had were delicious. Used the pool once which was warm and swimable. The cleaning was good and cannot think of anything we would fault. A really good value hotel, we would come back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Royal Hotel. On checking in we were advised we were in the chalets at the back of the hotel...immediately thought " oh no, not the annex", but we needn't have worried- the room was excellent; very spacious and spotlessly clean, picture just as on the website. The only problem we had was that we couldn't turn the radiator down, we reported this to the reception first thing the next morning and it was rectified by the time we returned. The buffet breakfast was beautiful and plenty of it-fruit juices,cereals,assorted prepared fresh fruit, yogurts,pastries,toast and full english! We also had an evening meal in the restaurant; main meals around £10-£15 or you could choose from a set menu 2 course £14-food and service was faultless. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Hotel is located on a quiet street, 10 mins walk from Old Christchurch Rd where there were a selection of bars and restaurants. Highly recommended, will happily return again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deegra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Good hotel that we booked from the Best Western Site as it was cheapest. Rooms, food, location good. We had an evening meal which was £14 for two courses and its was very good value, and wine was reasonably priced for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b93reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing