We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Londres
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quite good but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed there for the Bank holiday week end.
We got a double room with shamely 2 bed put next to each others with one higher than the other one, not too cool! Size of the room and state was flawless. However, accoustic insulation could be better as you could ear doors banging. Staff was flawless and very helpfull. Amazing breakfast! Swimming pool great and clean!
A good address but not for a romantic break.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nono19fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    555
    167
    56
    29
See reviews for
352
564
81
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Service from booking in to leaving was excellent. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Couldn't fault breakfast, and as for dinner, one word, fantastic. The waiting staff were courteous, professional and friendly. The food was well presented and cooked perfectly.
The staff made us feel special.
The rooms we stayed in, we have been there before, were clean, comfortable and well decorated. There is a large and fitness centre on-site, but we did not use them.
The hotel is very close to the sandy beaches, five minute walk, and within walking distance of the town centre.
We will definately visit again and thouroughly recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in one of the bunk bed rooms with 2 children. We found the place to be very small and below the level of even a Premier Inn. Desperately needs re-investment.
The hotel did not offer any deals to guests to have dinner and the hotel seemed to only be occupied by low level business people.

Room Tip: needs renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Budapest_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night last weekend as in the Bournemouth/Poole area visiting. Booked in advance on the BW website and got a rate of GBP 112 a night inc breakfast which seemed pretty good for the area and seaside location & hotel brand. Also chose hotel as able to book just the Saturday night as a lot of hotels in the area seem to demand a 2 night minimum.

Checkin was quick & as had booked in advance they had my reservation already printed out for me to sign & confirm. Allocated room on top floor (there are only 3 floors) which was average sized and not as nice looking as photos on hotel website. Room had been refurbished & was more modern that what I had expected. Bed was fine and sleepable. No fridge in room but kettle for teas & coffees. Very small flat screen tv but hey !!

Bathroom was good, clean white tub which seemed very new, good lighting from the windows & good mirrors again which seemed new. Quite a modern and useable bathroom. Did use the indoor pool which was nice & would have been good for kids. The hotel grounds are well looked after and maintained well. There were sun loungers both outside & inside the pool area for relaxation which was a nice touch if you did not like to lie on a sandy beach. Pool towels were available from reception free of charge.

Breakfast was really good & very impressed. No black pudding but very good bacon & sausage, hash brown, baked beans, both fried & scrambled eggs and grilled tomatoes. Plently of cereals & fruit to choose from as well as bagels & fresh crispy croissants . Orange juice was a bit sharp & cheap but otherwise everything was fine. Service was very good and the breakfast room itself was modern and fresh and plenty of space & light.

Car parking was a steal at £2 (some of the money goes to a local charity) There is no free parking on the outside streets only between 8 at night & 9 the next morning 7 days a week so if you think you might oversleep it is £2 well spent. Their walkin price of £75 a night is good value as this was offered to a French family who checked in ahead of me on Saturday night but I guess this is not always available & it is always best to book rather than risk being turned away. Considering you could easily pay £99 at a Premier Inn in Bournemouth it was nice to stay in a hotel that was modern and had character rather than a corporate chain which is sometimes bland . Would recommend & may stay again but perhaps only at lower price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for the night, turned up without a reservation and had received the warmest welcome from both Jenny and Jan who were so helpful and friendly. Good value hotel, spotlessly clean, nice bar area and good sized room I also enjoyed the swimming pool and would think this would make a good base for both families and couples. Breakfast was great and again the restaurant staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenmSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The food was excellent, my compliments to the chef. Hotel is in a great location with the beach only a stones throw away and tons of places to shop in town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashells1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Very nice hotel situated in East Cliff Bournemouth. Only comments that I would like to make is really for the full english breakfast being a buffet that also included Mushrooms, Black Pudding and Fried Bread. The hotel beds were slightly uncomfortable but that did not detract from the enjoyment of the holiday.

Lovely swimming pool and both children really enjoyed it and just wished that they could have stayed for longer as did the adults.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyd1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing