We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Royale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,613)
Filter reviews
1,613 results
Traveller rating
720
605
194
64
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
605
194
64
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roomsswimming pooltown centrefamily roomgood sizecar parkbunk bedsper daythe cliffthe main hotellounge areabuffet breakfastwater pressurethird floorduty managerrestaurant staffshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,369 - 1,374 of 1,613 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We previously stayed at the Best Western Connaught Hotel but it was fully booked on this occasion.
We booked a double room here and asked for a more spacious room at booking, as we were bringing our newborn baby and planned on her sleeping in her pram-instead they put us into a family room, inclusive of bunk beds and travel cot, which took up all the free space - there was barely space to walk around the bed! My husband managed to pile every spare piece of furniture onto the bunk beds so we could get the pram in! I'm sure the hotel thought they were helping, but I did speak to concierge and made it clear what we wanted/didn't want etc.
I should probably mention that disabled/pram access to the hotel was very poor, and the lift wasn't big enough for a pram AND me...i considered sending the pram up on its own, but had nightmares about it getting stuck, leaving my daughter screaming on her own in a lift!
My hubby was disappointed in the "leisure club" and described it more like "a paddling pool in a summer house!" as it was cold (still had the hosepipe in it!), poorly secured, empty and a bit un-inspiring! He didn't use it in the end!
The breakfast was very good in the morning, the staff were more than helpful and the hotel itself was clean and in good condition! Its location wasn't bad, however, we felt the Connaught is better positioned for most of Bournemouth's amenities.

All in all, an ok stay but we wouldn't rush back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed there for the Bank holiday week end.
We got a double room with shamely 2 bed put next to each others with one higher than the other one, not too cool! Size of the room and state was flawless. However, accoustic insulation could be better as you could ear doors banging. Staff was flawless and very helpfull. Amazing breakfast! Swimming pool great and clean!
A good address but not for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nono19fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Service from booking in to leaving was excellent. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Couldn't fault breakfast, and as for dinner, one word, fantastic. The waiting staff were courteous, professional and friendly. The food was well presented and cooked perfectly.
The staff made us feel special.
The rooms we stayed in, we have been there before, were clean, comfortable and well decorated. There is a large and fitness centre on-site, but we did not use them.
The hotel is very close to the sandy beaches, five minute walk, and within walking distance of the town centre.
We will definately visit again and thouroughly recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in one of the bunk bed rooms with 2 children. We found the place to be very small and below the level of even a Premier Inn. Desperately needs re-investment.
The hotel did not offer any deals to guests to have dinner and the hotel seemed to only be occupied by low level business people.

Room Tip: needs renovation
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Budapest_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for 1 night last weekend as in the Bournemouth/Poole area visiting. Booked in advance on the BW website and got a rate of GBP 112 a night inc breakfast which seemed pretty good for the area and seaside location & hotel brand. Also chose hotel as able to book just the Saturday night as a lot of hotels in the area seem to demand a 2 night minimum.

Checkin was quick & as had booked in advance they had my reservation already printed out for me to sign & confirm. Allocated room on top floor (there are only 3 floors) which was average sized and not as nice looking as photos on hotel website. Room had been refurbished & was more modern that what I had expected. Bed was fine and sleepable. No fridge in room but kettle for teas & coffees. Very small flat screen tv but hey !!

Bathroom was good, clean white tub which seemed very new, good lighting from the windows & good mirrors again which seemed new. Quite a modern and useable bathroom. Did use the indoor pool which was nice & would have been good for kids. The hotel grounds are well looked after and maintained well. There were sun loungers both outside & inside the pool area for relaxation which was a nice touch if you did not like to lie on a sandy beach. Pool towels were available from reception free of charge.

Breakfast was really good & very impressed. No black pudding but very good bacon & sausage, hash brown, baked beans, both fried & scrambled eggs and grilled tomatoes. Plently of cereals & fruit to choose from as well as bagels & fresh crispy croissants . Orange juice was a bit sharp & cheap but otherwise everything was fine. Service was very good and the breakfast room itself was modern and fresh and plenty of space & light.

Car parking was a steal at £2 (some of the money goes to a local charity) There is no free parking on the outside streets only between 8 at night & 9 the next morning 7 days a week so if you think you might oversleep it is £2 well spent. Their walkin price of £75 a night is good value as this was offered to a French family who checked in ahead of me on Saturday night but I guess this is not always available & it is always best to book rather than risk being turned away. Considering you could easily pay £99 at a Premier Inn in Bournemouth it was nice to stay in a hotel that was modern and had character rather than a corporate chain which is sometimes bland . Would recommend & may stay again but perhaps only at lower price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews