We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - quite basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good location - quite basic”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is not bad for the price. We only stayed for one night after a wedding so can't really comment too much on the staff or the breakfast as this wasn't included in the price. We had three rooms which were all about the same standard and really very basic but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KittyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
KittyKent
Thank you for your complimentary review. It is very much appreciated by all the staff and I do hope you enjoyed the wedding you attended. The housekeeping staff were delighted that you found the rooms to be spotlessly clean and appreciated you mentioning it.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    575
    180
    59
    29
See reviews for
366
585
85
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esher, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We were very happy with this hotel, very clean and in good decorative order. The staff were really friendly and great location to the town and sea.

The cooked breakfast (especially the scrambled eggs) was the best I have had in any hotel.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamsFamilyX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
AdamsFamilyx4
Thank you for your kind words. The chef was most appreciative of your complimentary words about his scrambled eggs! We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the moment I arrived to when I left I was made to feel very welcome. On arrival the receptionist very welcoming and efficient. The room was ample and comfortable. I dined in the restaurant at night and the fish and chips was beautiful if a little on the small side. For people with small children it was great as I witnessed small children(under 5s) with their parents and staff were great with them. Breakfast is buffet style and suited my needs. Checkout was quick and easy.

My only regret is that my stay was only for one night.

Room Tip: Room 102 overlooks the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
John T
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review. I am sure it will help prospective customers in making a wise choice about where to stay in Bournemouth. It is always a great treat for the staff when our visitors take the trouble to write nice things about them so thank you... it is most appreciated.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Overnight stop here before catching an early ferry from Poole.
Really handy location, very simple to find and ample parking.
Hotel itself is set in a leafy street only two roads back from the cliff top. Its also a very easy walk to a variety of restaurants and just a few minutes more to shops and the gardens that lead to the pier and beach.
Our room was clean and comfortable with a view out to the front of the hotel, it also had a more than adequate bathroom with a decent enough shower. More than enough for a good nights rest before an early start the following morning.
Bar service in the afternoon was fine and the light bites were reasonably good value.
Cannot comment on breakfast as we were up and away early.
Overall a pleasant enough hotel that I would certainly consider using again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northotheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Northotheborder
Thank you so much for the most complimentary review. I do hope that you made your ferry crossing and had a pleasant stay in France. I was delighted to read that you found the room to your likikng and do hope you will come and stay with us for longer next time.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very close to the lift and zigzag to the beach.
We had a family bunk bed room round the back of the hotel. Room was clean but the decor a bit dated. Traditional rather than modern. Breakfast was nice. The pool was a real bonus, warm water and a shallow end where my 4 year old could touch the floor

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Sadie m
Thank you for the kind review and I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. I do hope you will return with your 4 year old to enjoy the pool again.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thedden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Never done this before but moved to so by a card they gave me! went to Bournemouth for the first time to see the Air Show which incidentally was fantastic!! Hotel was excellent too. Room was large and really clean - if my wife says it was then it really was! Food was great we had breakfast all 3 days which was busy but plentiful and good. Coffee wasn't Starbucks but then nor was the price! Dinner was excellent on the one night we ate in and service very friendly. All in very good and can only say we have rebooked for next year! And if my wife says rebook then it must be good!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Red R
Newby or not thank you so much! It was most thoughtful of you to write your first review about us and a most complimentary one it was too. It really does make a difference to the staff and morale at the hotel so thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back - soon I hope.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I just got home from staying at the Royale this weekend for the Air Festival. It was excellent.Staff were all helpful and accommodating . After arriving in our family bunk bed room we had a phone call within minutes asking if all was OK. It was!!! Very clean all spotless. The room was a decent size as was the bathroom with a full range of toiletries. It had a window with natural light and air too which is great. Lots of fluffy white towels . It is explained they are a award wining Green Hotel and ask you to use towels again . I do not think this is unusual in this day and age and totally unnecessary to need them washed after one use!
Fully loaded hostess trays inc biscuits , they are often not on trays these days.
The room was nicely furnished and beds comfortable.
We had a dink in the bar and the young lady was very helpful .
We had an excellent breakfast all buffet style . Loads to choose from fresh fruits fruit salads yoghurt croissants toast , choice of loads of cereals juice etc. Full cooked range including two types of eggs . Nothing to moan about at all.
Staff were attentive but not overbearing.
My children loved the indoor pool and that was warm, we were given lovely big towels to use in the pool.
All in all very good value for money , its not expensive ,so if you are looking for a nice friendly clean hotel the Royale is for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Lin G
What a lovely review! Thank you so much from all of us at the hotel. I was delighted to read that you were so happy with everything from the service to the food and the pool. We all very appreciate you taking the time and effort to write a review. Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing