We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit back to bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short visit back to bournemouth”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I only have good things to say about this hotel it was a very enjoyable stay i wanted to stay in a hotel for my visit back to bournemouth and so glad i found this :-) Its in a really good area of bournemouth thankfully and right by the beach so even went for a walk on the beach which i never do. All the staff was amazing so friendly and helpful cant do enough for you felt weird but so so nice. the hotel itself is really nice too my room size was perfect for me again no complaints. Breakfasts was so nice not greasy just lovely and even had a dinner there wow gorgeous so impressed with the whole experience there is a swimming pool but i didn't go but im sure it was lovely maybe next time thanks to ALL staff

Room Tip: take a swimming costume has free pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Sarah S
Thank you so very much for your amazing review! It really means so much to the whole team to be appreciated and reviewed - thank you for taking the time to do this. I hope you will return to Bournemouth and visit us again and in the meantime many sincere thanks from us all.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    575
    180
    59
    30
See reviews for
367
585
85
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A great hotel in a great location. With friendly welcoming staff. The room was lovely. Tastefully decorated, with a large comfy bed, lovely ensuite facilities. A great breakfast served by exceptional friendly staff. All in all a great experience for our two day break, wish we had stayed longer. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Jan F

Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted to read that you not only did you find the hotel exceeded your expectations but that you would recommend it!! That is the greatest compliment we can ask for. I was also heartened to see you enjoyed a hearty breakfast!
Please come and see us again and keep recommending us

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed at Hotel Royale when doing the Bournemouth Marathon and had a wonderful time. From booking via Julia who sent me a good luck card at reception to all the reception and restaurant/bar staff the welcome was second to none. Particularly Desmond at the breakfast who ran it in a professional and very orderly manner. The breakfast was superb with the food trays being stocked up all the time. Plenty of selection for all tastes. Family room was nice and quiet on 3rd floor which is what I requested. Very clean and bathroom spotless. Cleaners are very good. Only criticism was the shower pressure was not good. Also wi-fi was not available in the room. Apart from that had a great stay. Nice walk to the beach and into the town. Sun shone all weekend so everyone was happy. Did marathon and had a dip in the hotel pool at the back which was refreshing. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Jonny C
Congratulations on your marathon success! and thank you for your kind words they are very much appreciated by all the team. Delighted to read that you enjoyed breakfast and that the room was to your liking but most of all thank you for the compliment of a promised return visit. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed with my Sister for a 2 night midweek stay. Very convenient for train station, we easily walked to the hotel with our trolley suitcases. Excellent location, beach just around corner and town a nice stroll away. All staff that we came into contact with were helpful and friendly. Breakfast could not be faulted, the cooked items from the hot trays where just that hot! and were quickly replenished when needed. Our twin room was at the front of the hotel it was clean and well furnished and as shown in the picture on Best Western's website. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockooCockoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
CuckooCuckoo

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your friends and work colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Bournemouth, my only criticism of the hotel was that I found the room heating a little warm. The staff were very good as was breakfast. The room facilities were good as well.

Good location for the beach as well as the shops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Pamela N
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The welcome at the reception was second to none. The room was spotless and well presented, although the tv was a little small. A modern and bright bathroom was a welcome discovery. The only negative of the whole trip was the response from the Mature Maitre De (appeared to be head waiter) arrived at the restaurant to eat and was reluctantly sat down at a table, after he had spoken to the chef to see if I could eat as I hadn't booked. Apparently he had twenty sittings due to arrive at the restaurant, however the restaurant remained 75% empty for the duration of my meal. The three course meal was absolutely delicious, scallops to die for, Belly pork so tender and a steamed pudding to finish. The rest of the staff were very pleasant. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJames086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
GJames086
Thank you for your very kind review - the chef was delighted to read that you enjoyed his cuisine so much. I am sorry about the misunderstanding with the restaurant manager - I am sure he meant no offence or confrontation..... but I was pleased to see that it didn't spoil your stay. Please do come and visit us again when you can sure we will do everything in our power to ensure your repeated satisfaction.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing