We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food & restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Location was 15 min walk from seafront with a steep hill on the way back up, but there is a bus service if you don't have your own transport Restaurant food & service excellent. Friendly staff with a smile that were only to happy to help Décor good but could do with a little sprucing up in areas Cleanliness good with crisp white towels Lounge bar comfortable but the bar should be staffed at all times, you shouldn't have to go to reception & ask for service. Bed in need of replacement, poor nights sleep but had lovely clean bedding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Edgar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Edger F
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Please accept my apologies for your disturbed night's sleep. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

993 - 999 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Also celebrating our daughter's graduation 7th November 2013. Booked hotel with Venere and can not fault this hotel. Asked for an early entrance to rooms as we traveled from Sandwich in Kent and wanted to freshen up etc before the big event and as promised all 3 rooms were ready and spotless. Rooms were an excellent size and very clean and the location was good as well: it was easy to walk to the seafront and parking was a bargain at only £2! and the money went to charity :) Will definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it to anyone visiting this beautiful town. This hotel was exceptional value.

Room Tip: overlooking the main road is noisy in the morning if you have the window open (needed as the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

LyndaW50
It is always so nice to start the day with such a positive and complimentary review for which I thank you. The staff were very touched by your comments and it is most refreshing when people write a review because they thought it was good rather than only ever commenting when they feel let down.
Please keep recommending us and come back and see us soon - we love customers like you!!

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Was looking for a reasonably priced hotel for a one night stay for my daughters Graduation, the "Royale"" seemed to fit the bill. We were not disappointed, friendly staff, very clean thro out, comfortable beds and pillows, and a hearty breakfast made it a perfect experience. By the way the on site parking was £2 a day ( which is donated to a children's charity) which compares with £12 for 24hrs in local car parks, the graduation was held at the "Bic" which is a stiff walk or a £5 taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westwood627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Westwood627
High praise indeed from a Senior Reviewer !! thank you and your promise to revisit us is all the encouragement we need. The staff really appreciate reviewers taking the trouble to write good and complimentary words about the hotel and it does help lift the morale.
Many thanks and please come and see us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just recently spent a really great two nights at this hotel (during that storm) and cannot fault it in any way. Having booked through Lastminute.com and having requested a room with a large bed and a balcony I rang the hotel direct to check. They said yes all was in order. What can I say - our room was the biggest they have with balcony and also huge bed. Extremely comfortable room with a lovely squashy sofa to lounge on. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more kind and helpful - even ringing from reception to see if the everything was to our satisfaction. The dinner was excellent - likewise the buffet breakfast. This was the first time we have used a Best Western hotel and it will definitely not be the last. Very impressed. One more thing - the hotel is perfectly situated being set just one road back from the seafront and a short 5 minute walk into town.

Room Tip: Room 104!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCandNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Pauline C
A huge thank you for your kind words..... they meant a great deal to all the staff. We are very lucky at the hotel to have such a wonderful team of cheerful and hard working individuals and I cannot overstate how much it means to all the team when they read reviews like yours. Thank you and please come and visit us again.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Having recently stayed at the royale, I must say we were most impressed. Excellent value for the money we paid. Large double room with king sized bed and en_suite . Very clean and tidy.the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank minniemouse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Minniemouse78
Many thanks for your review. I was delighted to read that you found the staff and the facilities at the hotel exceeded your expectations. I do hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and in the meantime our sincere thanks for taking the trouble to write in

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Booked a 2 night stay here through Expedia with a B&B rate of £54 per night (the same as if you go through their own website I think).

As we have a little boy, 18 months old, we were given a family room. Our room was set apart from the hotel to the rear of the main building where there are about 10 (or so) chalet rooms. Really impressed with this as I could park right outside the chalet and unload the car. The chalet rooms are spacious and with a little boy running run we didn't disturb anyone. The room was clean, warm and looked like it had been recently decorated - no complaints here.

The only downside to the chalet is that if you are going into the main building it's a short walk round to the front entrance - in the summer this wouldn't be a problem but in November (and the rain) we got soaked once even in coats and an umbrella (but I can't blame Best Western for the weather).

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening for ease. The prices are reasonable and the service was quick (maybe because there were only 4 other tables at the time). Breakfasts were always hot with a good selection and the staff were quick to bring coffee/tea to the table.

We used the pool once and had it to ourselves. The hotel appears to rent it out for a couple of hours in the early evening for private lessons so if you are swimming you have to time it right.

The hotel parking is £2 per night (you won't find cheaper in Bournemouth - nearby streets are metered / permit) and if you ask nicely they'll let you use it after you've checked out.

We all really enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children ask for a chalet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonboytate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

JohnboyTate
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we look forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

just a really pleasant family experience, friendly staff, good food, GOOD MATTRESS. good sleep, near the sea, near the town. We had the use of the swimming pool to ourselves and breakfast included for whole family for £54 for the night. Great base to explore Dorset See you again very soon….. .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

TomH
Thank you for your kind review and I was delighted to read that you not only did you find the hotel exceeded your expectations but that you will return!! That is the greatest compliment we can ask for. I was also heartened to see you felt we were good value for money!
Please come and see us again and keep recommending us

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £34 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing