We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A family birthday celebration held at the Best Western Hotel Royale in Bournemouth went without a hitch. Excellent food in pleasant surroundings served by happy, helpful staff made for a memorable occasion. Even though a larger function was being held in another part of the hotel, we were made to feel welcome and important. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Maxwell P
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and that all the arrangements were excellent. Thank you for taking the trouble to write the review it means a tremendous ammount to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    575
    180
    59
    30
See reviews for
367
585
85
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Spent 2 nights at hotel with my husband and 8 year old daughter, hotel very good, staff very welcoming, breakfast delicious, and my daughter loved having the pool all to herself! Visited Christmas market and ice skating rink really lovely family break.
Apart from the noise we experienced on the Friday night from guests in the room beneath ours, until 1am in the morning when I contacted night porter, the noise did become less but did not stop completely until 2am, fortunately my daughter slept through but it left myself and my husband considerably weary for the next days outings!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
SimoenB
Thank you for the most complimentary review and I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the attractions in Bournemouth. I am really sorry about the inconsiderate guests - some people can be so selfish and I do apologise for their noise and your subsequent disturbance. I do hope that you will come visit us again and I shall ensure that you are allocated a room away from any potential noisy revellers!
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It was our first trip away with our 2 young boys and we were slightly worried about how the stay would be.
We were welcomed by Alan Gilmour who looked after us so well for our whole stay and made sure we had everything we needed.
The location was perfect, 2 mins from the beach and a short walk in to town, but the hotel pool and gardens meant we didn't really have to go any where.
The food was great, and the chef was very accommodating to our young son who has lots of allergies, a special thank you to Deili who looked after us at breakfast.
We cant wait to come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Joanne f
What can I say! A huge thank you for such a wonderful review which was really appreciated by all the staff. I can't stress enough how much we value the compliments and how much the staff really appreciate it when happy guests write about their experiences. So sincere thanks from all the team. We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully soon!
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Clean nice hotel room. Staff really friendly even when we'd done our booking incorrectly they were happy to change it. The bed was comfy and room had a tv. Close to the bars and restaurants only a short walk. Very good value for money, only let down was quite noisy in the morning

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
BethP 123
Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a nice review. The staff were very happy that you enjoyed the stay with us and all arrangements were sorted out to your satisfaction. We do really appreciate the kind words in your review and do hope that you will visit us again

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well it was time for our annual visit to the Hotel Royale (Bournemouth). As usual we were greeted with the same warm reception from the staff on duty at the time.

I would like to think that we're more like "old friends" now rather than guests, as we have been visiting this hotel for a number of years now.

We dined at the hotel every night and the menu and food was excellent, as usual, as was the bar after the meal(s)

ALL the staff were very friendly, so no change there then (LOL) I've added some staff photo's, but I have purposely NOT added their names.

All in all I can not recommend the Hotel Royale (and its staff) highly enough, roll on to our next visit.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigalw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
BigalW35
Thanks so much for the superb review and the photos which really cheered up all the staff! We loved having you to stay and look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for taking so much trouble to sing our praises we all appreciate very much the time and effort it takes so thank you! We all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing