We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Hi what a great hotel, walking distance to all the lovely shops and walking distance to the beach, very nice lovely walks all so near by. The rooms were spotless the food top notch would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Crazy87
Thank you for lovely short and sweet review. Your compliments mean a great deal to all of us and we appreciate you writing however brief to say how much you enjoyed your visit. Thank you!

Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    575
    180
    59
    29
See reviews for
366
585
86
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 days at this hotel as a birthday surprise.
We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff.
There was an excellent choice of menu in the restaurant. Breakfast was buffet style and included a hot menu. All areas were spotlessly clean, well decorated and furnished. Our room was very comfortable and included tea making facilities.
The lovely warm swimming pool was a bonus open until late at night and towels are provided.
This hotel is a pleasant 15 minute scenic coastal walk ( or inland) into town.
Be aware there are steep slopes along the way.
This was an excellent break where we were able to enjoy all the Christmas lights/ decorations and activities in the town.
Hotel car parking is charged at £2 per day. This is donated to a local Children's Hospice which the hotel supports.
Give this hotel a visit . You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a good sized room with a balcony at the front of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susankinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Susankinsella
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I was delighted to read that enjoyed your birthday treat and that all aspects of the hotel met with your unreserved approval. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I return to this hotel because it is so nice atmosphere with the staff who all are friendly and happy. I find it helps me relax away from home. The menu in restaurant has been changed since I last visited and it was really excellent. The egg Royale and the sea bass I can highly recommend and they gave me a free half bottle wine ! you can't fault their efforts. The room was smaller than before but in a way nicer and warm and perfectly clean. I will keep going there because it is perfect place and really excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shlomomayer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Schlomomeyer66
Thank you very much for the most complimentary review. It is especially rewarding when it comes from a repeat visitor. The staff were all so pleased to be appreciated. Please keep visiting us when you are in Bournemouth.
Wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this Hotel, I was staying over on business. I spend Monday to Thursday living out of hotels every week all over the country so I consider myself to have a good understanding of hotel qualities. I found the hotel food to be exceptionally good even though the portions were small it was extremely high standard and very well presented. Unfortunately what let it down was the service I received from the restaurant manager, he was not welcoming at all even though it wasn't busy I was never asked how my food was, or was I asked for a desert! There was no atmosphere and did not feel like a friendly restaurant. When I paid for my bill thee was nothing said. Normally at this point you are asked if everything was ok But nothing! Change this and it would be very pleasant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Mark B
Thank you so much for your kind words about the food at the hotel - the chef was delighted that you enjoyed it. I am sorry that the Restaurant Manager appeared disinterested - I very much appreciate your bringing this to my attention and the matter has now been dealt with.
Wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here three times and we've never been disappointed. Excellent staff-very friendly without familiarity. The food and restaurant are also good and from what I recall the pool is first class. Room 200 we stayed in, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Bertthefish
Thank you so very much for the most complimentary review - it means a great deal to all of the staff here to be appreciated so much. It is especially rewarding when a Top Contributor with 128 reviews published says such nice things about us - thank you!
We hope you will visit us again soon

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

A family birthday celebration held at the Best Western Hotel Royale in Bournemouth went without a hitch. Excellent food in pleasant surroundings served by happy, helpful staff made for a memorable occasion. Even though a larger function was being held in another part of the hotel, we were made to feel welcome and important. We will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Maxwell P
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday celebration with us and that all the arrangements were excellent. Thank you for taking the trouble to write the review it means a tremendous ammount to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing