We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Christmas 2013”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have spent Christmas once again at the Hotel Royale. We were well looked after by all the staff the Christmas Programme was once again excellent the food superb and not forgetting the duty manager Alan and his team who worked so hard along with the chefs who did us proud. We were made to feel welcome from Kay on the reception when we arrived until the time we left and we have booked again for next year. Thank you for making our Christmas.
Ray and Yvonne Burgess

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
RayB
Thank you so much for the kind and most complimentary review following your stay with us over Christmas. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that all arrangements were to your satisfaction and the staff looked after you! I do hope we shall pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future
Wishing you all the best for 2014
kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    558
    173
    56
    28
See reviews for
352
567
83
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Although I couldn't find fault with the hotel staff I did find it very tired and dated and did not have a peaceful night's sleep due to creaky floorboards and noise from other guests. The hotel could do with updating and the creaky floorboards replacing! The room temperature was way too high and all in all my night's stay was unfortunately met with a complete lack of sleep!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Rachamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Racamy
I am so very sorry that you appear to have not enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and I do apologise sincerely for your disturbed night's sleep. I am sure you will appreciate that it is difficult during these periods of milder temperatures to please everyone and I am sorry you found it too hot.
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and myself spent four nights on a B&b basis with dinner on 3 nights.We were made to feel most welcome. I would like to thank all the staff throughout the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable it was a lovely break.Thank you all Mr H J Mitchell

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345678161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Mr Mitchell
Thank you so much for your most complimentary review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas and that the you found the staff so helpful and friendly. It is most appreciated by all of us to read your kind words.
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family and I spent two lovely nights at the Royale Hotel. Our hotel room was spacious, clean and attractive. We had a super meal in the restaurant and two good quality breakfasts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My husband and daughter very much enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed sitting in the well appointed bar and lounge area. Would certainly recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Fiona B
Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted that you enjoyed Christmas with us and that you managed to enjoy the pool facility while you were here. It is always a busy time for the team and they all really appreciate your taking the trouble to write a review. Thank you!
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just spent a betwixt Christmas /New Years break here. Excellent value, clean and well maintained hotel. Very nice breakfast each morning, lovely staff. Asked for a larger room and was offered an annex room which was really good- yes you had to walk across the car park to the main hotel but these rooms were gems, warm, comfortable and quiet. I would stay here again - excellent value for money. Pool was a good size for a hotel. £2 a day parking charge was given to the local hospice- excellent idea and a nice touch other Bournemouth hotels could learn from!

Room Tip: We liked the annex rooms and were offered the key to check them before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anntravelsinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Annetravelsinstyle
Thank you for your most complimentary review. I was really delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us and it always cheers up the staff to read such kind words. Thank you!
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel - after being so impressed the first time I returned with my boyfriend. We stayed in one of the annex/family rooms at the rear of the hotel and it was very spacious. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and Alan Gilmour reserved a table for us and ensured our glass was full all night! We had a lovely meal - very well presented, delicious food and lots of choice at breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel and happily stay there again =]

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Beth C
I was so happy to read that you enjoyed bringing your boyfriend to stay with us after a previous happy visit. Thank you so much for taking the trouble and effort to write such a lovely review. It is always very much appreciated by all the staff at the hotel. Please come and see us again!
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Got to agree with reviewers this is a excellent hotel for value for money . However would have liked to stay at the main hotel and not the rooms at the annex at the rear of the hotel . A great breakfast I must say

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Peterb73
Thank you for your kind review. I was delighted that you found us to be good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.

Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing