We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel Royale
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Queens Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orchid Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,611)
Filter reviews
1,611 results
Traveller rating
720
604
194
63
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
604
194
63
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roomsswimming pooltown centrefamily roomgood sizecar parkbunk bedsper daythe cliffthe main hotellounge areabuffet breakfastwater pressurethird floorduty managerrestaurant staffshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,009 - 1,014 of 1,611 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I have spent Christmas once again at the Hotel Royale. We were well looked after by all the staff the Christmas Programme was once again excellent the food superb and not forgetting the duty manager Alan and his team who worked so hard along with the chefs who did us proud. We were made to feel welcome from Kay on the reception when we arrived until the time we left and we have booked again for next year. Thank you for making our Christmas.
Ray and Yvonne Burgess

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

RayB
Thank you so much for the kind and most complimentary review following your stay with us over Christmas. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that all arrangements were to your satisfaction and the staff looked after you! I do hope we shall pleasure of your company again in the not too distant future
Wishing you all the best for 2014
kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Although I couldn't find fault with the hotel staff I did find it very tired and dated and did not have a peaceful night's sleep due to creaky floorboards and noise from other guests. The hotel could do with updating and the creaky floorboards replacing! The room temperature was way too high and all in all my night's stay was unfortunately met with a complete lack of sleep!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Rachamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Racamy
I am so very sorry that you appear to have not enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and I do apologise sincerely for your disturbed night's sleep. I am sure you will appreciate that it is difficult during these periods of milder temperatures to please everyone and I am sorry you found it too hot.
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and myself spent four nights on a B&b basis with dinner on 3 nights.We were made to feel most welcome. I would like to thank all the staff throughout the hotel for making our stay so enjoyable it was a lovely break.Thank you all Mr H J Mitchell

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12,345,678,161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Mr Mitchell
Thank you so much for your most complimentary review. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas and that the you found the staff so helpful and friendly. It is most appreciated by all of us to read your kind words.
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My family and I spent two lovely nights at the Royale Hotel. Our hotel room was spacious, clean and attractive. We had a super meal in the restaurant and two good quality breakfasts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My husband and daughter very much enjoyed the swimming pool and we enjoyed sitting in the well appointed bar and lounge area. Would certainly recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Fiona B
Thank you for your lovely review. I was delighted that you enjoyed Christmas with us and that you managed to enjoy the pool facility while you were here. It is always a busy time for the team and they all really appreciate your taking the trouble to write a review. Thank you!
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Just spent a betwixt Christmas /New Years break here. Excellent value, clean and well maintained hotel. Very nice breakfast each morning, lovely staff. Asked for a larger room and was offered an annex room which was really good- yes you had to walk across the car park to the main hotel but these rooms were gems, warm, comfortable and quiet. I would stay here again - excellent value for money. Pool was a good size for a hotel. £2 a day parking charge was given to the local hospice- excellent idea and a nice touch other Bournemouth hotels could learn from!

Room Tip: We liked the annex rooms and were offered the key to check them before committing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntravelsinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Annetravelsinstyle
Thank you for your most complimentary review. I was really delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us and it always cheers up the staff to read such kind words. Thank you!
Kind regards and wishing you a very happy and healthy 2014

Michael Katzler
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews