We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, my wife and i stay here at least once a year, usually winter time and with friends, and i can honestly say it cannot be beaten on price and quality.
Admittedly there may well be better hotels in Bournemouth but not at the value we have found at the Hotel Royale, staff cannot do enough for you (big thank you to Kay you are a star).
Food is absolutely wonderful and the rooms are very well appointed, the inclusion of an indoor pool just makes this great value for money.
A stones throw away from the town centre and can be walked in about 10 min or so,
so very accessible for shopping or exploring.
Will definitely be booking again in the near future.

Room Tip: We normally stay in the st Moritz suite or trhe family rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eevilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Eevilee
It is always so nice to start the day with such a positive and complimentary review for which I thank you. The staff were very touched by your comments and it is most refreshing when people write a review because they thought it was good rather than only ever commenting when they feel let down.
Please keep recommending us and come back and see us soon - we love customers like you!!
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    568
    178
    59
    29
See reviews for
358
581
85
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed only 1 night, but the hotel and staff was nothing more than excellent all round. As we were too tired to go down to the restaurant, we ordered a meal to the room, which again was really excellent. Breakfast was good with fried and scrambled eggs which you don't always get in self service, but the staff were on hand to help if needed. Will stayed there again on next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Pete0127
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review about the hotel. I cannot underestimate the benefit and encouragement it gives the staff and naturally helps other travelers in their selection process. Please come and stay with us when you revisit Bournemouth and you may be sure of a warm welcome and an equally enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group for our friends birthday. Travelled by train, very easy to get too from station. 15 minute walk. Friendly greeting at reception and generally by all staff.

We stayed in room 317, room was very poky - even more so when we saw another room which was much bigger. To be fair to the hotel, had we mentioned it no doubt we could have moved. It was 'OK for a short stay but not good for longer. My husband was shaving at the sink and had to move out of the bathroom to allow space for me to step out of the shower! We were glad we didn't take a cat as we certainly couldn't swing one!!

Breakfast was ample and included in the price. Also used the bar/lounge area which was clean and comfortable.

We specifically asked the night staff on Friday evening if our group would be able to have a drink the next evening once the bar was shut, and it was confirmed that the night porter had access to the fridge and could serve us. On returning to the hotel on Saturday night, one of our group (the birthday boy!) asked the night porter if drinks were available, to be told 'no' This was fed back to receptionist on departure, however it did bring the birthday evening to a rather abrupt end as guests went up to bed!

The housekeeping staff noticed the birthday cards in the room so left a card and chocolates for our friend. Very nice touch.

There is a pool in a separate building behind the hotel, but we didn't use it.

The hotel is in a great location, 10 minute walk to town, even less to the seafront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuFo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
SuFo63
Thank you very much for the review and I am so sorry about the night porter mix up with the availability of drinks - this matter has been dealt with and I am most grateful to you for bringing it to my attention. I am pleased that otherwise your stay was a success
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed for one night yesterday (18/01) firstly when we arrived i think it was the night porter that was on shift as we checked in a bit late, he wasn't friendly didn't make any effort on asking how we was. Secondly when we went to sit on the bed the head board suddenly dropped down, we did try to put it back up but just wouldn't latch on :-S lastly its was 3am myself and my partner felt peckish we went to reception to order a sandwich and the reply we got from the night porter was 'what!? at this time its a bit late now, breakfast will be served soon' i mean we were starving and till breakfast from 3am to 8am theres a big gap to wait!! was not happy at all! We stayed in the Royale in this beginning of the month and the night porter then was fantastic!! (older gentleman) I myself work for a Best Western in Bournemouth and i would never say its too late to order something! Such a shame really as most of the staff are attentive and rooms are really clean!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danii S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Portugese_girl-93
Really? An employee of a local Best Western Hotel writing disparaging reviews about a sister hotel? Not even the courtesy to mention this on checkout or to the management on duty…..So much for brand loyalty professional etiquette! Fortunately I live in the knowledge that none of my staff would ever behave in this manner and whilst I am a great believer in free speech and social media I think there is another agenda here and shall therefore say no more on the subject.
Michael Katzler
managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stopped here for coffee prior to going in to Bournemouth for a spot of shopping and some lunch.

Receptionist was very polite and helpful and advised us of the parking charges, which at £2 we didn't think was bad as we were probably only going to stay for about an hour whilst we decided what we were going to do for the afternoon. The receptionist said to pay on the way out and not to worry, just go and make ourselves comfortable...how lovely!

We ordered coffee at the bar/lounge area and was served by a very friendly lady who stopped for a chat. The area was so comfortable with a range of comfy chairs, sofas and coffee tables, as well as high backed chairs and tables. The area was decorated beautifully and had such a nice atmosphere we decided to look at the light options/lunch menu to see if anything would tempt us. There was a good range to choose from, especially for me as I'm vegetarian and don't always get catered for. My husband plumped for the fish and chips which was freshly cooked, well presented and he said ... tasted wonderful. I had the omelette and chips which was great too. The food was delivered quickly, piping hot and the portions were very generous. We didn't find the prices too expensive compared to some hotels who really do add a premium.

Toilets are situated just off main reception and were extremely clean and looked very modern as if they'd had a recent refurb.

We left after about 3 hours, expecting to have to pay more in parking charges, but no - still £2. Big thumbs up.

We're often in Bournemouth and will stop for coffee and lunch again. The Bistro looked lovely too, so we'll probably try out for dinner,

All in all, a lovely way to spend a relaxing couple of hours. No negatives from us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Elliedoc
It is not often that we receive a review from an esteemed Top Contributor for coffee and lunch so a huge thank you taking the trouble to write such a detailed and glowing review. I am delighted that the fish and chips and the omelette were excellent and we very much look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in the area.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and ended going In to town. The Hotel is lovely and quiet. The staff are lovely and helpful. Service first class and was well looked after by all staff we came in contact with. Would differently stay again and highly recommend

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Amy P
Thank you very much for your kind words. I cannot overstate how much it means to all the team at the hotel when they read such lovely reviews about the service they provide. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write in and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing