We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistantly good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    672
    567
    178
    58
    29
See reviews for
357
579
84
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Lovely bedroom, excellent meals. Main lounge a bit cool but the main doors open into it. Would recommend to anyone who wanted a not too expensive hotel for business or just a few days away. Easy walk to East Cliff with views over the bay or walk down to the beach.

Room Tip: Try the 3rd floor - quiet but the lift is very, very small, not suitable for those who travel with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Lin3434
Thank you for your generous comments about the hotel. It is particularly satisfying to read that our repeat customers are still singing our praises. Thank you from all the team at the hotel and please do come visit us again

Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've stayed at numerous hotels in Bournemouth and this hotel was one of the best. Buffet breakfast was superb rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were very good from start to finish.
The hotel is less than 5 mins from the seafront and about the same into the town, and for a few quid your cars securely parked as well all day. Great hotel would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Theash87
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we hook forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough, my wife and i stay here at least once a year, usually winter time and with friends, and i can honestly say it cannot be beaten on price and quality.
Admittedly there may well be better hotels in Bournemouth but not at the value we have found at the Hotel Royale, staff cannot do enough for you (big thank you to Kay you are a star).
Food is absolutely wonderful and the rooms are very well appointed, the inclusion of an indoor pool just makes this great value for money.
A stones throw away from the town centre and can be walked in about 10 min or so,
so very accessible for shopping or exploring.
Will definitely be booking again in the near future.

Room Tip: We normally stay in the st Moritz suite or trhe family rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eevilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Eevilee
It is always so nice to start the day with such a positive and complimentary review for which I thank you. The staff were very touched by your comments and it is most refreshing when people write a review because they thought it was good rather than only ever commenting when they feel let down.
Please keep recommending us and come back and see us soon - we love customers like you!!
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed only 1 night, but the hotel and staff was nothing more than excellent all round. As we were too tired to go down to the restaurant, we ordered a meal to the room, which again was really excellent. Breakfast was good with fried and scrambled eggs which you don't always get in self service, but the staff were on hand to help if needed. Will stayed there again on next visit to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Pete0127
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a complimentary review about the hotel. I cannot underestimate the benefit and encouragement it gives the staff and naturally helps other travelers in their selection process. Please come and stay with us when you revisit Bournemouth and you may be sure of a warm welcome and an equally enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group for our friends birthday. Travelled by train, very easy to get too from station. 15 minute walk. Friendly greeting at reception and generally by all staff.

We stayed in room 317, room was very poky - even more so when we saw another room which was much bigger. To be fair to the hotel, had we mentioned it no doubt we could have moved. It was 'OK for a short stay but not good for longer. My husband was shaving at the sink and had to move out of the bathroom to allow space for me to step out of the shower! We were glad we didn't take a cat as we certainly couldn't swing one!!

Breakfast was ample and included in the price. Also used the bar/lounge area which was clean and comfortable.

We specifically asked the night staff on Friday evening if our group would be able to have a drink the next evening once the bar was shut, and it was confirmed that the night porter had access to the fridge and could serve us. On returning to the hotel on Saturday night, one of our group (the birthday boy!) asked the night porter if drinks were available, to be told 'no' This was fed back to receptionist on departure, however it did bring the birthday evening to a rather abrupt end as guests went up to bed!

The housekeeping staff noticed the birthday cards in the room so left a card and chocolates for our friend. Very nice touch.

There is a pool in a separate building behind the hotel, but we didn't use it.

The hotel is in a great location, 10 minute walk to town, even less to the seafront.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuFo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
SuFo63
Thank you very much for the review and I am so sorry about the night porter mix up with the availability of drinks - this matter has been dealt with and I am most grateful to you for bringing it to my attention. I am pleased that otherwise your stay was a success
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing