We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refuse Room 316!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Refuse Room 316!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've stayed in many hotels and this one is not one of the best. My partner and I decided on an impromptu visit to Bournemouth when the good weather made an appearance and after reading several reviews and looking at many Bournemouth hotels I finally decided on the Hotel Royale, as the reviews appeared to be positive. Nothing wrong with the hotel itself. The reception staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. We arrived at the hotel an hour before check in time and were able to check in to our room immediately. We stowed our bags and went down to the lounge to get some lunch as we were very hungry after travelling from London. The lounge was empty which was surprising for a Saturday. The food itself was fairly priced, well presented and not the worst food I have tasted. We ordered sandwiches, which were served with kettle chips and mixed salad. The french fries which we ordered on the side were probably some of the best I've ever tasted though! After a walk along the beach we returned to our room before dinner. I found the room to be really gloomy and depressing as there is one window at the far end of the room and dark curtains, so there was hardly any light coming into the room at all. The decor was not great either as it was all dark. The bed was comfy enough though. The worst part of the stay was that during the night, we realised that not only did our room back onto the housekeeping cupboard, where we could hear housekeeping staff plugging and unplugging electric plugs at all hours, but they insisted on having loud conversations and banging around in there. On the other side of our room was the customer lift. So at around 2am when some of the hotel residents decided to stumble back to their rooms on our floor we could hear every word they were saying, as they woke us up! If you are offered room 316 refuse it at all costs, unless you enjoy being woken several times in the night! On a positive note though, the hotel is a 5-10 minute walk away from the beach!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Bronzed1
Harsh title! for an otherwise really complimentary review - thank you and at the same time my sincere apologies for the noise you encountered during the night. I know it is no consolation but had you alerted the night porter to this he would I am sure have dealt with the issue. I do appreciate your comments and your kind review.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    543
    165
    56
    29
See reviews for
351
551
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I recently stayed at The Royal hotel and was disappointed by the standard of the accomodation. Community areas are OK but our bedroom (family room) was small for 2 adults and 2 children. The decor was dower and looked tired and was in needed refreshing. The floors all creaked so bad that in the evening when guests above us returned to their rooms the noise woke the children on both nights. We were going to take the children in the pool but decided not to when we saw the colour of the water. The restaurant was very good and the breakfast was excellent. All the staff that we met were helpful and very professional. Its a shame the accomodation and some of the facilities are not as good as the food and staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank elleboo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Ellieboo12
I'm sorry you didn't find find the decor at the hotel to your liking but very much appreciated your complimentary comments regarding both the food and the staff - it is very much appreciated. The hotel has been totally refurbished over the past seven years and it is never easy to please all tastes with decor. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Staff super friendly and helpful, good food, stayed in family room with plenty of space (double bed, single bed & travel cot all in the room). Swimming pool good size. Only couple of minutes walk to beach. Thank you to every member of staff that made us feel so welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Shelley H
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review - it is most appreciated by all the team at the hotel. I do hope that you will come and visit us again soon and recommend us to all your friends!
With sincere thanks and kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

we were looking for a easy on the pocket, hotel and chose the Royale at £46 per room
nice size room, smashing, friendly staff and a breakfast to really enjoy.Within a short walk to both the town and to one of the best beaches in the area.

Room Tip: Third floor back .nice and quiet but,the lift will only carry two and there are 65 stairs to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dougo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dougo77
Thank you for the most complimentary review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff and the food all lived upto expectation. Please do come visit us again when you are next in Bournemouth
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We got a very good rate for a three night stay at this hotel. Our room was clean but basic, and was fine. Unfortunately the shower was nothing more than a pathetic dribble, the water pressure on the top floor was really weak. Location wise, the hotel is five minutes walk from the top of Old Christchurch Rd, where the pubs and restaurant area starts, and about a ten minute walk from the pier. We drove there and the parking was fine, there was a small fee, but nothing to get upset about. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk if you arrive by bus or train. If I had paid £120 a night for here I would have been disappointed, however we paid that for three nights, and all things considered,it was a bargain.

Room Tip: Perhaps get a room on the lower floors if you like a powerful shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
rolaaand
Thank you so much for the complimentary review and I am so sorry about the shower. I really wish you had mentioned it when you were here - the maintenance man fixed it in 2 minutes after I saw your review! That said I do apologise sincerely for it not being right when you checked in. I do hope you will forgive us and return to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing