We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, we will return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, we will return!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked 3 nights B&B here last minute (18-21 April - Easter weekend) through the Best Western website and were quite happy with the price, very reasonable for a high demand weekend and was actually the cheapest we found in Bournemouth.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. We were given a room with a balcony (Room 105), which we were quite happy with and although quite small the main thing is it was very clean. The whole hotel has very creaky floorboards and quite thin walls, and this combined with the bed being quite bouncy and smaller than we are used to, we didn't have the best night's sleep.

Location wise it was perfect for us, lovely and quiet and away from all the noise of the town, 5 mins walk to the beach and 10 mins walk to the town centre where you are spoilt for choice with places to eat and drink.

I could not fault the breakfast, they had everything you could possibly want (cereal, cooked breakfast, pastries, toast and more) and on Easter Sunday we got a chocolate egg with breakfast which we thought was a nice touch.

My fiance went for a swim in the pool while I relaxed at the poolside with a magazine, it was very warm in the club house (and clean!). He said the water was a nice temperature.

We decided to leave a day early (on Easter Sunday) as it was rainy, everything was shut and we were just ready to go home. The receptionist could not have been more helpful, she offered us a room upgrade (a superior room, much bigger with huge bed - we will book this next time!!) although we declined this and were offered a refund for the final night.

We will definitely be returning in the summer, although we will be booking the larger room. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable :-)

Room Tip: Receptionist suggested Room 111 when we return - larger room and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jioorjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
jioorjy
Thank you for the most complimentary review and above all your promise to return! You will really enjoy our newly refurbished superior rooms in the summer and we look forward to welcoming you back. Sorry about the rain on your last day…. I am sure it will be better weather on your return.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    568
    178
    59
    29
See reviews for
358
581
85
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Not written a review on here for ages however this hotel is lovely so decided to post.

My fiancée booked it as a quick stopover in Bournemouth, before heading back to work after the Easter bank holiday weekend.

When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised as for the price the hotel offers great value for money (something almost non-existent in the UK these days).

In a nutshell, lovely staff, spotless room, fantastic old building with character and good karma. Also lovely leisure club.

Negatives, bit noisy from upstairs, creaking floor boards (however for an old building adds to the character) mattress in the room has obviously entrained many an over enthusiastic couple (OK us as well, guilty as charged!!!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinandKati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
FinandKati
Great title to your review - thank you! We really do appreciate your kind review and I am so pleased you will be returning hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a coach driver, through my work I stay in a lot of hotels across the country, from small independent guesthouses to large city hotels. The Best Western Royale manages to give the homely welcoming feel of a family run guesthouse whilst retaining the corporate professionalism associated with a large chain. Gary, Alan, Ricardo, Zsuzsi and Jemma, to name a few, all went out of their way to ensure my passengers and I had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel itself is situated a few minutes walk from the lively town centre or from the beach. The carpark happily accommodated my coach and the swimming pool or the TV in the bar was great to keep me occupied during my down time. The food is truly fantastic. So much so that the next time I am in Bournemouth, should it be a different hotel, I will still pop in for dinner. I would definitely recommend this hotel to coach operators for a hassle-free visit.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smada36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Smada36
Thank you so much for the complimentary review and it was especially appreciated by the staff whose names you remembered and mentioned. It is not often we get a review from a group organiser so many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Booked this through late rooms. £61 + £2 for parking.
Room was nice and spacious- 201. Nice speaker for connecting MP3 player. Good touch.

The food in the aqua brasserie was perfect. Good service.

Swimming pool was a nice little surprise. Very warm and clean. All n all a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank billerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Billerf
Great value is so rewarding to read - thank you! and thank you for your kind words about both the food and the swimming pool. I am sure your comments will be helpful to others reading these reviews.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and was not dissapointed. Hotel situated in a quiet residential location approx 10 minutes walk to the beach and approx 15 minutes to Bournemouth Centre. Friendly staff, extremley helpful and were more than happy to help. The single rooms could do with a bit of tlc but very clean. Great selection at breakfast and lovely evening meal, all food homemade which is a bonus. Compliments to the chef. There are a few small improvements that could be done but overall a very nice stay was had. Will definately be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Karen f
Thank you so much for the review and I was delighted to read that you will be returning. The chef was so pleased you enjoyed his cuisine and the staff were flattered that you thought so highly of their service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for two nights, very clean hotel and pool, staff very pleasant and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. Exceptional value. Food was lovely, especially the sticky toffee pudding. Family rooms had decent size bunk beds and a double bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Julie W
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so encouraging for the team at the hotel when customers appreciate their efforts and then take the trouble to write a review. Thank you from all the staff! please come and see us again and keep recommending us to your colleagues.

Kind regards


Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business. My room, on the third floor of the main building, was clean and comfortable. Although the heating was off, there was an electric radiator in the room that I was able to use when the evening got chilly.
The bathroom was clean and everything worked, although the bath was too short to be comfortable.
The bedroom was clean and the bed was comfortable and I had an excellent night's sleep.
I aate lunch, dinner and breakfast at this hotel. I would say that the prices are not cheap, but are average for this type of hotel. The lunch (an omelette) and breakfast (standard English buffet) were fine. At dinner I found the starter (scallops) and the dessert (sticky toffee pudding) were delicious but the pork belly in my main course was very salty and the mashed potato was wet. However, I did enjoy the meal including the free half bottle of wine that came with it!
The staff on reception, and elsewhere, were all very polite, friendly and helpful and were a pleasure to interact with.
I try to stay at Best Westerns as I find that they usually come up to standard and the Hotel Royale didn't disappoint.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
SteveC2
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write such a positive and complimentary review about your stay. We all appreciate it tremendously when our customers take the trouble to write in. Your details will I am sure help others to select us when contemplating a visit to Bournemouth. From the whole team a huge thanks you and we hook forward to welcoming you back next time

Kind regards

Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,968 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing