We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Royale
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great customer service, friendly staff”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We decided to visit Bournemouth this weekend and choose a best western as I always had a good experience from them in europe when traveling for business. When we arrived we were welcomed by friendly staff and noticed that the hotel is bit dated but very clean. After a day at the beach we jumped to the shower but it was broken. The issue was sorted quickly and we were plesently surprised by the level of customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buczek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Bukzek5
Many thanks for the complimentary review and especially for highlighting the great customer service - it means a great deal to all the staff. Please come and visit us again and indeed keep using Best Western hotels - they are the best in the sector!!
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    561
    175
    57
    28
See reviews for
354
571
84
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had two days at the Royale and it was very good. Good hotel, good and clean rooms, nice pool, very good food and the staff went the extra mile for us, especially Ricardo, the Portuguese manager. He welcomed us so well and in a very professional way. The hotel itself is and old building but has a charming atmosphere and the location is perfect, just a few minutes from town centre and beaches. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jabagbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Jabagbag
Thank you so much for the kind words! Ricardo was delighted with his mention and we all very much appreciate you taking the time to write in. Our greatest compliment is that you will return and we very much look forward to welcoming you back
Kind regards
Michael katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Mum and I stayed for two night during the May bank holiday and really enjoyed the hotel mainly because the staff were so helpful. When we got there we had lunch and the receptionist came out to find us to check we were happy with the rooms. First time that's ever happened! Mum wanted a heater and the receptionist had it in her room by the time we went up after lunch. Had an enjoyable evening meal in the restaurant, breakfast was good and all clean and tidy. No complaints, would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Fruitdoctor
It is always so nice to read reviews in the morning especially ones like yours! - thank you so much. I was delighted that you and your mother enjoyed the stay with us and that the greatest compliment if all ……that you will recommend us! Thank you so much and please do come visit us again.
Kind regards
Michael katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have stayed here before in Jan 2014 and it was OK so I returned. I experienced the same issue as last time: a discretionary £2 car park charge will be added to the bill as a donation to a local cause. I asked for this to be removed and then end up having a debate about it. Not impressed. I am on company business and do not expect to pay for car parking unless identified at point of booking. I am going to a hotel on business and not a charity event. As I was annoyed I didn't eat here in the restaurant so ultimately the hotel lost out on another £25 of income. Unfortunate. Apart form this the hotel is generally OK but do be aware some things are not up to scratch. The other observations I would make are as follows: - When I go into a hotel bar I do not want to see a TV screen with the volume on loud when a football match is on. If people want to watch football then go to a Sports bar. I go to a hotel bar to have a drink and relax. - The bathroom in room 122 does not have a thermostatic shower valve and I did experience some scorching hot water. It wasn't too bad because the water flow is fairly minimal which is another issue that makes a shower challenging. This is a health and safety risk. Beware. - Breakfast here is OK but as it is a hot buffet style help yourself the fried eggs were cooked hard and cold. The baked beans were also cold. I was here at 7am when they opened up. I did mention the cold baked beans to reception when checking out and received a none caring response. Again not impressed. If you are to offer a hot buffet breakfast then make sure it is hot ie have the correct equipment to keep it hot. I would also note that most other BW hotels offer a fish choice on the breakfast menu: not this one. This maybe a bit picky but it is on the coast. - The desk was "sticky" and I had to clean it and the coffee table was dusty.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Craig F
I am so sorry you were disappointed with your stay and that the £2.00 donation we request for the local children's hospice (Julia's House) for kids with life limiting conditions appears to have really upset you. I am delighted to say that we very very rarely get asked for the £2.00 to be removed and last year we managed to raise about £7,000 for the hospice which we are all very proud of and the the hospice, the children and their parents appreciate this enormously, This obviously spoiled your stay and I apologise.
Sincerely
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the hotel Royale as a late Easter break!! myself my wife & 2 kids plus the grandparents...........you can't fault the hotel in all aspects...........the staff on reception were welcoming and helpful & the staff on breakfast couldnt do enough for you!! the bedrooms were clean & functional...........

We have been to this hotel on a number of occassions now & is always our first choice when we make our yearly visit.....

Overall the hotel is excellent!! well done Hotel Royale......

Comments made by the Taylor family, Bromsgrove, Worcs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Russel T
A huge thank you for that wonderful review....I was delighted to read that the whole family enjoy their Easter stay with us and that all aspects of the stay were to your satisfaction. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future
With most sincere thanks and kind regards
michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Royale two weeks ago with a group, including my 13 month old baby. Everything was great. We had a lovely three course meal on the Friday evening and the service staff were incredibly attentive. The food was varied and all delicious. On both evenings my baby ate for free, with there being no fuss to bring a high chair into the lounge area for her to eat. The room was pleasant, with a huge double bed and cot already set up prior to our arrival. It was also handily positioned for a walk to the seafront or into Bournemouth town centre. All in all, an excellent weekend's accommodation

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weething1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelroyale, Owner at Best Western Hotel Royale, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Weething1975
Thank you very much for the most complimentary review. I was delighted that enjoyed your stay with us and that your baby was happy too!! Please come and visit us again soon
Kind regards
Michael Katzler
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,924 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.8 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Royale

Property: Best Western Hotel Royale
Address: 16 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Royale 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned Best Western Hotel Royale is situated on Bournemouth's exclusive and tranquil picturesque East Cliff. All 64 bedrooms - including eight spacious Studio family rooms - have been designed with comfort and relaxation in mind. The modern leisure club boasts a large and airy indoor swimming pool. Adjoining the leisure club are the hotel's beautiful sheltered gardens, ideal for soaking up the Bournemouth sun. At The BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale we are very conscious that the actions of each and every one of us may have an impact on the environment. This is the belief that everyone at the hotel works with each and every day to ensure we're doing our bit to help build a sustainable future. To this end we currently hold a Prestigious Gold Award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme of which we are extremely proud. The hotel has a Green Committee who meet regularly to ensure that the Green Policy and Green Aims are not only followed, but are constantly updated to ensure that our commitment to the environment and the principles and standards we set are at the forefront of our decision making. All staff at the hotel are required to comply with our policies and are trained accordingly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royale
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing